The Broadband Guide
search advanced
 forgot password?

Wi-Fi Alliance dumps 802.11 naming in favour of version numbers

2018-10-04 17:50 by


The Wi-Fi Alliance, the trade group that develops and promotes wireless networking standards, is attempting to make Wi-Fi naming a bit simpler with the introduction of 802.11ax next year. The group has some new names for those technologies: Wi-Fi 4, Wi-Fi 5 and Wi-Fi 6.

The new approach is designed to help manufacturers, operators and users more easily market and understand the presence of advanced WiFi capabilities in their devices, so companies have a more straightforward way to tout their products, and consumers know when their stuff is as up-to-date as possible.

The version-based branding is only being used for 802.11n, 802.11ac, and 802.11ax. The latest generation Wi-Fi standard, 802.11ax, becomes Wi-Fi 6, while older (but still more widely used) specifications 802.11ac and 802.11n become Wi-Fi 5 and Wi-Fi 4, respectively.

There won't be any versions 1, 2, or 3 (though there are three precursors to 802.11n: 802.11a, 802.11b, and 802.11g, so the version numbers do make sense). The Wi-Fi Alliance has also produced logos that it hopes will be used in operating systems (though not product packaging) to indicate which level of connectivity is being used.

Read more -here-


  Post your review/comments
News Glossary of Terms FAQs Polls Cool Links SpeedGuide Teams SG Premium Services SG Gear Store
Registry Tweaks Broadband Tools Downloads/Patches Broadband Hardware SG Ports Database Security Default Passwords User Stories
Broadband Routers Wireless Firewalls / VPNs Software Hardware User Reviews
Broadband Security Editorials General User Articles Quick Reference
Broadband Forums General Discussions
Advertising Awards Link to us Server Statistics Helping SG About