The Broadband Guide
search advanced
 forgot password?

List of netowrking, wireless, broadband, satellite, telephony, general computing and other technical terms used throughout the site.
| All  | # | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z |
Term Description
3DES 3DES (Triple DES) is a popular private key encryption method, based on DES, an ANSI Data Encryption Standard designed by IBM in the 1970s. Triple DES, or simply 3DES is a more secure version of the DES standard that encodes text three times, as opposed to just one. Exporting DES out of the U.S. or Canada is prohibited for those who don't meet the requirements of the Bureau of Export Administration (BXA).
802.11 802.11 is a set of specifications for implementing WLANs (wireless local area networks) developed by the IEEE. The standard and amendments provide the basis for wireless network products using the Wi-Fi brand.

802.11 WLANs operate in the 900MHz, 2.4GHz, 3.6GHz, 5GHz, and 60GHz frequency bands.

The most widely used current revisions of the specs are 802.11n and 802.11ac, operating in the 2.4GHz and 5GHz frequency ranges.
802.11a 802.11a is a 802.11 WLAN (wireless LAN) extension that provides up to 54 Mbps in the 5GHz band. 802.11a uses an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing encoding scheme rather than FHSS or DSSS.
802.11ac 802.11ac (Wi-Fi 5) is a wireless networking standard that provides high throughput Wireless Local Area Networks (WLAN) in the 5GHz band.

Theoretically, 802.11ac has expected throughput of at least 1 Gigabit per second to all clients, and a single link throughput of at least 500 Mbps(megabits per second). This is accomplished by extending the air interface concepts embraced by 802.11n: wider RF bandwidth (up to 160 MHz), more MIMO spatial streams (up to 8), multi-user MIMO, and high-density modulation (up to 256 QAM).

802.11ac range may, or may not be as far as 802.11n Wi-Fi. 802.11ac operates exclusively in 5GHz frequencies while 802.11n can also transmit and receive in the crowded, but longer range with better wall penetration 2.4Ghz frequencies.

802.11ac Wave 2 is an update to the original 802.11ac spec that uses MU-MIMO technology and other advancements to help increase theoretical maximum wireless speeds to 6.93 Gbps.
802.11ad 802.11ag (WiGig) is a draft wireless standard that operates on the unlicensed 60GHz spectrum, with theoretical multi-gigabit speeds over a distance of up to 10 meters.

The advantages of WiGig are obviously bandwidth, and that the small wavelength allows for tiny 0.5cm antennas for high gain, beam forming, TDMA, and low power consumption, making it a good match for mobile devices.

The WiGig MAC specification was published in June 2011, and the standard is currently in draft stage with the IEEE as 802.11ad. WiGig isn't necessarily meant as a replacement for 2.4GHz or 5GHz WiFi with its range of 10 meters and no propagation through walls. However, operating at 60GHz offers advantages in terms of power consumption and data rates, particularly for mobile devices.
802.11ax 802.11ax (Wi-Fi 6) is a newer wireless networking standard that provides high throughput Wireless Local Area Networks (WLAN) in the 5GHz band.

802.11ax utilizes MU-MIMO, introduces OFDMA (improves spectral efficiency), and supports higher 1024 QAM modulation (increased throughput).

It is predicted to have a top speed of around 10 Gb/s and to achieve 4x increase to user throughput over 802.11ac due to better spectral efficiency, especially in dense deployment scenarios.
802.11b 802.11b is a 802.11 WLAN (wireless LAN) extension that allows up to 11 Mbps transmission, with a fallback to 5.5, 2 and 1 Mbps. Wi-Fi works in the 2.4 GHz band, uses DSSS, and is comparable to Ethernet in functionality by allowing for (somewhat) high-speed, encrypted communication.
802.11e 802.11e is a standard that defines QoS (Quality of Service) for wireless networks, to support Voice over IP, for example.
802.11g 802.11g - 802.11 WLAN (wireless LAN) extension that provides for up to 54 MBps raw data rate (24 Mbps useful throughput) in the 2.4 GHz band. It is expected to become the next mainstream WLAN technology.

802.11g defines the use of the 802.11a OFDM modulation technique and applies it in the 2.4 GHz 802.11b frequency band. The 802.11g draft standard requires backward compatibility with 802.11b.
802.11h 802.11h is a supplement to 802.11a to make it meet European regulations on 5 GHz WLANs.
802.11i 802.11i (a.k.a. WPA2) is a standard for wireless networks (ratified by IEEE 06.2004) that was specifically designed to provide better security than 802.11a/b/g.

The 802.11i standard introduces new encryption key protocols: TKIP (Temporal Key Integrity Protocol) and AES (Advanced Encryption Standard). AES uses longer keys with a new algorigthm, and is much more processor-intensive than WEP.

802.11i is also being branded as WPA2.
802.11j 802.11j is the Japanese equivalent of 802.11h. It is a supplement to 802.11a to make it meet Japanese requlations on 5 GHz WLANs.
802.11k 802.11k - standard that addresses radio resource management to make more efficient use of WLAN resources.
802.11n 802.11n (Wi-Fi 4) is a current generation of Wi-Fi technology. 802.11n products can operate in either 2.4 or 5 GHz frequency bands, and are backward compatible with 802.11 a/b/g networks. 802.11n technology can deliver data rates up to 600 Mbps.
802.11r 802.11r - this standard will address fast roaming among access points.
802.11s 802.11s - standard for Mesh Wireless Networks. It aims to define a MAC and PHY for meshed networks that improve coverage with no single point of failure.
802.15 802.15 is a standard for personal area netwroks, based on Bluetooth.
802.16 802.16 is a family of IEEE wireless broadband standards with the trade name WiMAX.

802.16a was originally designed for fixed (non-mobile) applications only.
802.16e added mobility support potentially making WiMAX a competitor for certain 3G/4G HSPA cell-phone technologies.
802.16-2009 is the current rollup standard for both fixed and mobile wireless broadband (merges older versions of 802.16, 802.16e, 802.16f, 802.16g and P802.16i)
802.16a 802.16a (a.k.a WiMax) is WLAN specification allowing for transfer of up to 70 Mbps over as far as 30 miles.
802.16e 802.16e (Mobile WiMAX) - Mobile Broadband Wireless Access System, part of the IEEE 802.16 family of WiMAX standards.

Compared to earlier versions of WiMAX, 802.16e allows users to be on the move (such as in a car or on a train) while maintaining an active connection. As such, it can be viewed as a competitor of 3G/4G cell-phone technologies.
802.1x 802.1x is an authentication scheme based on EAP (Extensible Authentication Protocol).
802.20 802.20 - proposal for 1 Mbps wireless metropolitan area networks.
Term Description
| All  | # | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z |
News Glossary of Terms FAQs Polls Cool Links SpeedGuide Teams SG Premium Services SG Gear Store
Registry Tweaks Broadband Tools Downloads/Patches Broadband Hardware SG Ports Database Security Default Passwords User Stories
Broadband Routers Wireless Firewalls / VPNs Software Hardware User Reviews
Broadband Security Editorials General User Articles Quick Reference
Broadband Forums General Discussions
Advertising Awards Link to us Server Statistics Helping SG About