Google Drive now let you ban spammers2021-07-23 18:34 by Daniela
Tags: Google Drive
Google Drive is adding the ability for users to block other accounts from sharing files with them, in a move that's designed to prevent potential harassment and spam on the platform. The feature, which is rolling out over the next two weeks, also stops accounts from accessing any files you've shared with them in the past, and removes any of their past files from your drive.
Drive sharing works just like email spam. Anyone can share a drive file with you if they know your address. Documents that have been shared with you still automatically show up in your Drive collection without your consent. There's no way to turn off sharing, to limit sharing to approved users, or to limit it to existing contacts. It's a free-for-all.
With the new feature once blocked, a user will be unable to share any Drive items with you and items owned by that user will not be able to be shared with you or even shown when you're browsing Google Drive.
Google started rolling out the new blocking feature on July 22, but it could be up to 15 days before it's visible to all users. All Google Workspace customers, as well as anyone using G Suite Basic or Business, and all personal Google account holders will have access to user blocking once the roll out is complete.
Read more -here-