TCP Optimzer Settings

General discussion related to Cable Modems, DSL, Wireless, Fiber, Mobile Networks, Wireless ISPs, Satellite, or any other type of high-speed Internet connection, general issues and questions here. Review and discuss ISPs as well (AT&T / SBC, BellSouth, Bright House, CableOne, Charter, Comcast, Covad, Cox, Cablevision / Optimum Online, TMobile, Verizon FIOS, Shaw, Telus, Starlink, etc.)
Post Reply
Ferrit1981
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2023 5:31 am

TCP Optimzer Settings

Post by Ferrit1981 »

Hi all,

I have used TCP Optimizer for testing a few things out, upon reverting to windows default settings I still only get 100Mpbs speed.
I have at Least 200Mbps from my ISP.
The speed slider only goes up to 100Mbps, is this the max or default for 100+Mbps.
Ive even used the back up file but sill only capping me at 100Mbps.
Any ideas?
User avatar
Philip
SG VIP
Posts: 11478
Joined: Sat May 08, 1999 5:00 am
Location: Jacksonville, Florida

Re: TCP Optimzer Settings

Post by Philip »

What OS ?
What type of internet connection (fiber, cable modem, dsl, etc.)
Wired or wireless client? (do wired clients get better speeds)
What was the speed before you started changing settings, how did you measure? (speedtest.net or something else?)

If you want to completely reset the network settings, navigate to TCP Optimizer > File menu > Reset TCP/IP and Winsock
williamshane
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2024 12:29 am

Re: TCP Optimzer Settings

Post by williamshane »

Ferrit1981 wrote:
Fri Nov 24, 2023 5:41 am
Hi all,

I have used TCP Optimizer for testing a few things out, upon reverting to windows default settings I still only get 100Mpbs speed.
I have at Least 200Mbps from my ISP.
The speed slider only goes up to 100Mbps, is this the max or default for 100+Mbps.
Ive even used the back up file but sill only capping me at 100Mbps.
Any ideas?
There are a few possible causes for speed caps if they persist even after you use the TCP Optimizer backup file and return to Windows' original settings. To troubleshoot and possibly fix the issue, follow these steps:

1. **Check Network Adapter Settings**: Verify that your computer's network adapter is set up to handle speeds greater than 100Mbps. You may verify the speed settings by going to the network adapter properties in your computer's settings and checking them.

2. **Inspect Ethernet Cable**: Make that the Ethernet cable you're using, if it's wired, is a Cat5e or Cat6 type that can handle rates higher than 100Mbps. Higher rates might not be supported by older lines, like Cat5.

3. **Check Router Settings**: Make sure your router can handle 200 Mbps of bandwidth by checking its settings. Verify whether any QoS (Quality of Service) settings are restricting the speed of your network.

You might be able to locate the cause of the speed cap problem and possibly fix it to get the faster speeds offered by your ISP by looking at these various aspects.
Post Reply