Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Hey LT

  1. #1
    SG Enthusiast Cameron203's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Dirty South
    Posts
    2,306

    Hey LT

    Question I have a case just like yours but mine is black and I have an Abit IT7 Max mobo. Do you think I would be ok just laying the tower on its side and installing the Heatsink. Since the tower is spacious. Or do you think I should take the mobo out?

  2. #2
    Senior Member onetrueday's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Floating down a river of Dingleberry Juice
    Posts
    4,796
    as long as you have good support under your mobo, you installed it correctly, it shouldnt be a problem leaving it in. Just be careful.

    You'd probably be better off leaving it in, less chance of screwing sometimes too tight etc.
    MSI 845 Ultra-ARU
    p4 1.8a @ 47 BILLION
    radeon8500 (4 HS's)
    2 80gig WD se's raid0/120gig WD
    30gigWD/15gigMaxtor/1.2gig WD
    512megs corsair pc3000xms

  3. #3
    SG Enthusiast Cameron203's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Dirty South
    Posts
    2,306
    Thanks alot man. Yea the mobo is secured by studs.

  4. #4
    Folding Thunder
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    New York The Empire State
    Posts
    10,543
    As long as you have enough space to werk, sure.

    OTD has it right!

  5. #5
    SG Enthusiast Cameron203's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Dirty South
    Posts
    2,306
    Why do some people use shims???

  6. #6
    Folding Thunder
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    New York The Empire State
    Posts
    10,543
    I dunno. I think it's to protect the core from snapping under a heavy hsf. I personally don't use them.

  7. #7
    SG Enthusiast Cameron203's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Dirty South
    Posts
    2,306
    I see alot for sale for amd chips but not alot for intel. That is why I thought it had something to do with the chip. Anyone I have a P4 chip that I am mounting a TT 7+ to can anybody think of a reason I would need one. I also have another P4 I am mounting a TT Orb to.

  8. #8
    Senior Member onetrueday's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Floating down a river of Dingleberry Juice
    Posts
    4,796
    people use shims because the amd cpu in pretty small.

    ***********
    ***********
    ****xx*****
    ****xx*****
    ***********
    ***********

    there's an amd cpu. If you just put a hsf on it, it might not end up perfectly flush on the actual cpu. a shim will ensure it ends up flat against the cpu.

    a p4 is like this:

    XXXXXXXXXX
    XXXXXXXXXX
    XXXXXXXXXX
    XXXXXXXXXX
    XXXXXXXXXX
    XXXXXXXXXX

    it's all cpu, which means the hsf has no place to go but flush with the cpu. See, with an amd it might titter a little and not be flush without a shim.
    MSI 845 Ultra-ARU
    p4 1.8a @ 47 BILLION
    radeon8500 (4 HS's)
    2 80gig WD se's raid0/120gig WD
    30gigWD/15gigMaxtor/1.2gig WD
    512megs corsair pc3000xms

  9. #9
    SG Enthusiast Cameron203's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Dirty South
    Posts
    2,306
    So I will be ok. Thanks OTD

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •