Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Loud whirl sound

  1. #1
    Between Light & Shadows Unholy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Somewhere Over There
    Posts
    2,819

    Unhappy Loud whirl sound

    I have a stange sound LOUD whirl/humming comming either from my PSU or harddrive can pin down which one it is. I unplug the harddrive and all fans and the strange sound it not there. But when I plug back in my harddrive I hear the sound that I *think* is comming from the PSU. Should I get a new PSU or hardrive?
    "I was once banned from a bookstore for moving all the bibles to fiction"

  2. #2
    Folding Thunder
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    New York The Empire State
    Posts
    10,543
    Could be the Hard drive

  3. #3
    Cyber Techie cy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    3,060
    Yup...you have an extra drive? try to power up your comp with that HD to see if the sound still there

  4. #4
    Between Light & Shadows Unholy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Somewhere Over There
    Posts
    2,819
    No, it's been on off off for about a month now, should I back-up?

  5. #5
    Folding Thunder
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    New York The Empire State
    Posts
    10,543
    Yeah you should back up. Looks to me that hard drive is gonna take a dive soon.

    Get a Western Digital or a maxtor. Highly recommended.

  6. #6
    SG Elite
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    29,517
    Originally posted by LT-73
    Get a Western Digital or a maxtor. Highly recommended.
    I'd avoid Maxtors, especially since they're going to a 1-year warranty soon. Get a Western Digital Special Edition.

  7. #7
    Cyber Techie cy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    3,060
    WD

  8. #8
    Between Light & Shadows Unholy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Somewhere Over There
    Posts
    2,819
    Think I go WD I still have a working 1.2gb one form 8 years ago. Some bad sectors though. Any suggestions? 60~80 gigs should be fine.

  9. #9
    Folding Thunder
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    New York The Empire State
    Posts
    10,543
    An 80Gig will do nicely

    Make several partitions and you'll have tons of space for all your files and apps.

    Hey Recondite, i have a few maxtor dives that are well over 3 years old and they still work like a charm. I also have my 2 new maxtor quiets and i luv em.

    I'll only work with Maxtor or WD. Maybe Quantum also, but my luvs are maxtor and WD

  10. #10
    SG Enthusiast Duzmor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Pennsylvania U.S.A
    Posts
    3,876
    My Maxtor 40 gb ata/100/133 7200 rpm makes that sound when I power down the computer - it sound's like a Turbo-

    Duzmor

    Duz !!
    (The Protection of all with the Wadget Eye)
    (Never Trust Intel To Do AMD'S Job)

  11. #11
    Advanced Member kieofwoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    506
    just a thought but are you sure it's not the fan in your psu?
    you should be able to tell by sticking your ear next to the air outlet on your psu...

    sorry if you done this already...

  12. #12
    SG Enthusiast The Dude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    CYQY
    Posts
    3,126
    Put a straw to your ear and then put the other end on your PS and then hard drive to figure out which one is making the noise. If it turns out to be the power supply my guess is the fan is slowing down. If you have software to monitor your system like mother board monitor, check the voltage readings to see if they are dipping during hard drive access.
    I don't know the same things you don't know.

  13. #13
    Between Light & Shadows Unholy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Somewhere Over There
    Posts
    2,819
    Ok, I try to find out next time it makes that kind of noise it comes on and off and never stays

  14. #14
    Between Light & Shadows Unholy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Somewhere Over There
    Posts
    2,819
    Ok, it's my PSU for sure. Is this a good one? Thx for the input.

    http://store.yahoo.com/svcompucycle/raid350watp4.html

  15. #15
    Advanced Member kieofwoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    506
    Heheh - well we gone and saved you the cost of a new hard drive! That's what we're here for

    Can't tell if the psu is good or not, can't seem to find any specs.
    350W should be alright for your sig setup but you should check out the combined output of the 3V and 5V lines - at least 200W for those and higher the better.

    If you wanna splash out, you can try getting a brand name psu e.g. enermax, antech etc etc

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •