Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 86

Thread: System won't startup

  1. #1
    SG Enthusiast Cameron203's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Dirty South
    Posts
    2,307

    System won't startup

    Hey my neighbor gave me her computer after she got a new one. She said that someone told her lighting had hit the computer. I don't think so though. When I hook it up though it will not boot even to the bios, could the video card be bad, the monitor says no signal. Sounds like the HD is not turning though but even if a HD is bad on a computer won't it still boot into the bios?

  2. #2
    Cyber Techie cy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    3,060

    Re: System won't startup

    Originally posted by Cameron203
    Hey my neighbor gave me her computer after she got a new one. She said that someone told her lighting had hit the computer. I don't think so though. When I hook it up though it will not boot even to the bios, could the video card be bad, the monitor says no signal. Sounds like the HD is not turning though but even if a HD is bad on a computer won't it still boot into the bios?
    check MB/CPU, but i think it's the MB gone

  3. #3
    SG Enthusiast Cameron203's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Dirty South
    Posts
    2,307
    how can i check it

  4. #4
    Registered User UnitedWeStand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    1,198
    Its prolly the PSU.

  5. #5
    SG Enthusiast Cameron203's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Dirty South
    Posts
    2,307
    No the power supply works fine. I am looking at it now and the fan isn't working could this prevent it from booting up???



    Nevermind i got the fan working???? The one plug was bad i guess. Still doesn't boot though>

    I hear the HD cutting on and off now its quiet but working.

  6. #6
    SG Enthusiast Cameron203's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Dirty South
    Posts
    2,307
    Hey how can i see if it is the mobo and not the video card??

  7. #7
    Folding Thunder
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    New York The Empire State
    Posts
    10,543
    Try a different vid card? i know you've got a crappy PCI vid card somewhere in that closet. Just switch em and see.

  8. #8
    Idolized Industry Killer §I€MFKR™'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Asphalt Wasteland
    Posts
    3,567
    Originally posted by Cameron203
    No the power supply works fine. I am looking at it now and the fan isn't working could this prevent it from booting up???



    Nevermind i got the fan working???? The one plug was bad i guess. Still doesn't boot though>

    I hear the HD cutting on and off now its quiet but working.
    How do you know the PSU is fine?
    Bone, Brain, And Co*k
    Silence For My Revelry

  9. #9
    SG Enthusiast Cameron203's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Dirty South
    Posts
    2,307
    Tried a different vid card and yes i did have a pci card laying around LOL still doesn't work

    Hybird reason I thought the power supply was good was because fan was on it powered up hd turned on cd rom opened and closed.

    I tested it too with volt meter

    Could it still be bad?

  10. #10
    Idolized Industry Killer §I€MFKR™'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Asphalt Wasteland
    Posts
    3,567
    Originally posted by Cameron203
    Tried a different vid card and yes i did have a pci card laying around LOL still doesn't work

    Hybird reason I thought the power supply was good was because fan was on it powered up hd turned on cd rom opened and closed.

    I tested it too with volt meter

    Could it still be bad?
    Most likely if you tested all points with a V-Meter then its fine. Is that the puter with that tek** mobo?, can't remember the name. The one you were talking about a while back. The Baby AT mobo?
    Bone, Brain, And Co*k
    Silence For My Revelry

  11. #11
    Folding Thunder
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    New York The Empire State
    Posts
    10,543
    Yeah, sounds like that mobo's a keychain now. Sorry bud, you lost the patient.

  12. #12
    SG Enthusiast Cameron203's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Dirty South
    Posts
    2,307
    No its not hybird this is a new one or should i not talk about the deceased like that. No I work at UPS and got my neighbor a dell pretty cheap well I don't know if you guys would think so but for that she gave me her computer that she thinks lightning hit i just wanted it for scrap parts anyways instead of her throwing it away but i found out the mobo is the MS-6191 ATX IR2 mainboard is one of our system board to implement the AMD-750 chipset (AMD-751 and AMD-756), which supports a single Slot A for AMD Athlon ® processor.

    So if it is ATX does this mean i could get a cheap ATX mobo and throw it in there?

  13. #13
    Folding Thunder
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    New York The Empire State
    Posts
    10,543
    Yup ! but if you wanna use the same cpu, it's gotta be a slot A mobo.

  14. #14
    SG Enthusiast Cameron203's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Dirty South
    Posts
    2,307
    ok hey here is the dell computer i got her you think this was a good price?

    Dimension 8200 P4 2.26 GHz 533fsb
    512 MB RDRAM PC800
    Multimedia Keyboard
    64MB Geforce MX Graphics Card w/tv-out
    80 GB 7200 rpm Ultra ATA HD
    3.5 inch floppy
    Microsoft Windows XP Home
    Ethernet Card 10/100
    56K modem
    SB! Live 1024 Digital Sound Card
    Harmon Kardon Speakers w/Woofer
    Norton AV 2002
    MS Works Suite 2002 w/ Office XP for teachers and Students
    3 Year Warrenty
    USB 2.0 Adapter
    Dell 2 button scroll mouse
    And some speed up tech support on top

    all for 1223.46 that is with shipping and tax

    No monitor though She already had a 19"

    Dell has a pretty good name for oem

  15. #15
    Idolized Industry Killer §I€MFKR™'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Asphalt Wasteland
    Posts
    3,567
    Hey, Chances are its dead, This is a long shot but, if you have a xtra cmos battery around toss it in there and light that firecracker, ya never no.
    Bone, Brain, And Co*k
    Silence For My Revelry

  16. #16
    SG Enthusiast Cameron203's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Dirty South
    Posts
    2,307
    too late now shes in pieces already looking for another ATX slot A mobo to throw in there

  17. #17
    Idolized Industry Killer §I€MFKR™'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Asphalt Wasteland
    Posts
    3,567
    Oh, Make sure you double check all connections.wiggle them, pull em off, put them back in, and do a little dance for support of the puter gods.
    Bone, Brain, And Co*k
    Silence For My Revelry

  18. #18
    Folding Thunder
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    New York The Empire State
    Posts
    10,543
    Originally posted by Hybridmonolith
    Oh, Make sure you double check all connections.wiggle them, pull em off, put them back in, and do a little dance for support of the puter gods.
    I agree ! Something might be loose or the cmos battery is dead. In which case you might still be lucky. If not, give that mobo the hammer and get another atx slot a mobo and toss it in there !

  19. #19
    SG Enthusiast Cameron203's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Dirty South
    Posts
    2,307
    tested that too the battery is pulling 3.073 Volts so its good

    hey what do you think about the dell too much or what?

  20. #20
    Idolized Industry Killer §I€MFKR™'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Asphalt Wasteland
    Posts
    3,567
    Originally posted by Cameron203
    tested that too the battery is pulling 3.073 Volts so its good

    hey what do you think about the dell too much or what?
    Yeah, I like Dell, for a manufactureed PC. In the Pre-Manufactured world of PC's thats a nice one for a good price.
    Bone, Brain, And Co*k
    Silence For My Revelry

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •