Thread: Router Disconnect

jacksnbox

Router Disconnect

Specs: Cox cable, network consisting of XP, 2000 Pro, 2000 Server. Recently got hit by lightening and had to replace an old Samsung modem and a Lynksis router. The new modem is a surfboard (provided by Cox) and the router is a Hawking (because of the packet inspection). THe problem is that it needs to be reset everyday! Originally I had purchased an SMC router and it did the same thing. I spent hours on the phone with tech support. Has anyone had the reset problem with cable? I'm now suspicious of the surboard causing this.

Jacks, I am a Field Technician for AT&T Broadband (soon to be Comcast) and I have worked with the surfboard modems extensively for the last few years. And I must say that the Surfboard is an excellent modem, I have not had any such issues of which you speak of.

When your service stops working have you tried connecting a computer directly to the modem to see if the connection is still there?

The modem does not know what is connected to it, I do not know how exactly your system works exactly. When the modem establishes a connection it downloads a configuration file which tell the modem the up and down bandwidth restrictions, number of cpes that can be connected. For AT&T I have to register a computer or router through a web site, which tells the system and modem the mac address and allows the device to have a valid IP lease of 4 days. Unregistered devices only have a 1 hour lease.

I don't know if Cox uses a similar system but I would make sure that the mac for your router is registered if it needs to be, and try connecting a computer directly to the modem to test connection.

Just trying to help

jacksnbox