Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Port Forwarding Help!!!

  1. #1
    Regular Member vvarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    257

    Port Forwarding Help!!!

    Ok I have a static ip setup on my router I need help port forwarding for some reason when i go on msn gaming zone and try to host a game (rogue spear) people can't join my game i tried a lot of different ports including with both rogue spear and msn gaming zone and its not possible for someone connect can someone help me plz or give me the right port to use I have a RP614 4-port netgear router any other info you need just ask...

  2. #2
    Got Alizee? ScottE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    16,861
    Do the comps on ur network have static or dynamic IP addresses? Cause I had a problem with port forwarding and using dmz, I fixed it by disabling DHCP and just using all static IP's
    Respect it.

  3. #3
    Regular Member vvarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    257
    i used static for one computer didn't work

  4. #4
    Regular Member vvarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    257
    ya i have dhcp up and runin i need the right ports

  5. #5
    Regular Member vvarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    257
    so u think i should disable it???

  6. #6
    Auto Tech joecool169's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    805
    You have to use static lan adresses or the next time you restart the port may get forwarded to the wrong machine

    For those that want to try to help vvarrior here is the original thread
    Joe

  7. #7
    Regular Member vvarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    257
    lol seems like no 1 will help geez i tried like 3 forums lol

  8. #8
    u'll wanna setup static IPs for the LAN computers
    i'm not too familiar w/ the netgear routers but, if they are like the linksys ones, all i had to do i setup static ips, the forward the ports to the desired ip

    also here is a link of various ports for various progs/games
    http://www.chebucto.ns.ca/~rakerman/port-table.html

    near the bottom of the table is the ports for msn gamin zone
    so i dunno how that'll affect your port forwarding
    (i've never played on msn gamin zone)

    if its similar to kali and such
    it may get a bit more complicated
    u might have to forward the game zone ports to your ip aswell the game itself's ports which it uses

    - Bugatti

  9. #9
    strikeforce
    Guest
    Hi,

    Are you setting the parameters for the static ip address in your network settings on the pc? You need to set the ip thats not in your routers dhcp range. Thats a netgear router right?. If so,
    the range is like 192.168.0.2-192.168.0.32, pick an address not in that range, like for an example 192.168.0.246, then for subnet mask 255.255.255.0(u have to set it as that, as the routers mask is the same) now that u have the router in your system it becomes your gateway, so u have to add the routers ip address to your network parameters on the pc(netgear routers ip is 192.168.0.1) U also need to add the primary dns server address to your network settings also. Im only going by what i did to make it work, and that was with a Netgear RP114 router.
    If this makes no sense to you email me at rkd6981@hotmail.com

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    9,055
    You simply need to forward port 2346 to host a rogue spear game behind your router

    you do know how to forward ports right?

    oh ya.. and dont even bother with the static ip's or dhcps... that has nothing to do with the problem
    Originally posted by UnitedWeStand Don't go walking up to her and say "I just had a vasectomy wanna celebrate?
    Originally posted by EvilAngel Actually Kitten just got the sonagram done and the doc thought it was twins at first, but soon realized that it was the boys pen1s laying next to him....lol
    Said by XSeanX on AIM I wish girls were a lot easier
    Originally posted by Needlefreak May the fleas of a thousand taliban camels feast happily on your lower region..
    Originally posted by Jim Heart attack on a bun?

  11. #11
    Auto Tech joecool169's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    805
    oh ya.. and dont even bother with the static ip's or dhcps... that has nothing to do with the problem
    ok let's say he has 3 pc's and they get assigned these ip's

    PC1-192.168.0.1
    PC2-192.168.0.2
    PC3-192.168.0.3

    now the next time the power goes out he starts them up and gets this

    PC1-192.168.0.3
    PC2-192.168.0.1
    PC3-192.168.0.2

    Now PC1 is hosting his game but his port is now being forwarded to PC2

    Do you see the need for static ip's here???
    Joe

  12. #12
    Regular Member vvarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    257
    i got them working thank you anyway i appreciate your help i didn't need to static them

  13. #13
    Regular Member vvarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    257
    ty though for trying to help ^^

  14. #14
    Auto Tech joecool169's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    805
    If you think about what I posted you will see that they do need to be static or you will have to change your port forwarding setup because the PC hosting the game may get assigned a different ip the next time you reboot and then it will no longer work

    Just trying to help you, I've been down this road
    Joe

  15. #15
    Got Alizee? ScottE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    16,861
    Originally posted by joecool169
    If you think about what I posted you will see that they do need to be static or you will have to change your port forwarding setup because the PC hosting the game may get assigned a different ip the next time you reboot and then it will no longer work

    Just trying to help you, I've been down this road

    Actually if you set the leases to never expire the comps should always recieve the same IP address unless you change NIC cards.
    Respect it.

  16. #16
    Auto Tech joecool169's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    805
    Originally posted by agentbeast



    Actually if you set the leases to never expire the comps should always recieve the same IP address unless you change NIC cards.
    I stand corrected

    Sorry for the bad advise
    Joe

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    9,055
    Originally posted by joecool169


    ok let's say he has 3 pc's and they get assigned these ip's

    PC1-192.168.0.1
    PC2-192.168.0.2
    PC3-192.168.0.3

    now the next time the power goes out he starts them up and gets this

    PC1-192.168.0.3
    PC2-192.168.0.1
    PC3-192.168.0.2

    Now PC1 is hosting his game but his port is now being forwarded to PC2

    Do you see the need for static ip's here???
    so set every computer staticly now... taking about 15 minutes of work, or just change one ip address in the router settings once in a blue moon, which takes about 15 seconds?
    Originally posted by UnitedWeStand Don't go walking up to her and say "I just had a vasectomy wanna celebrate?
    Originally posted by EvilAngel Actually Kitten just got the sonagram done and the doc thought it was twins at first, but soon realized that it was the boys pen1s laying next to him....lol
    Said by XSeanX on AIM I wish girls were a lot easier
    Originally posted by Needlefreak May the fleas of a thousand taliban camels feast happily on your lower region..
    Originally posted by Jim Heart attack on a bun?

  18. #18
    Regular Member vvarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    257
    thank you for the advice i appreciate it

  19. #19
    Regular Member vvarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    257
    heh no problem i dont mine ppl trying to help

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •