Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Partitioning question

  1. #1
    mikemean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    406
    Posts
    8,705

    Partitioning question

    I'm not sure where this goes so I'll ask here. I have a 20 gig drive. I partitioned it to have a 6 gig backup drive (d) and the rest OS and programs (c). In windows it shows my c: drive as my main os drive (c) and my d: drive as my backup drive (d)---the way I want it to be. When I use a boot disk and go to c: it comes up as my backup partition. Why does it show my d:BACKUP as c: when using a boot disk? Last time when re-installing I almost wiped out my backup partition because the disk showed my d: partition as the c: partition.

    In fdisk it says that my extended DOS partition (my D:Backup drive) contains logical dos drives. So I go to view the logical DOS drives and all it is is my backup partition. I'm confused.

  2. #2
    ACEmeaniSPANKER EvilAngel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Garden Grove
    Posts
    18,950
    D: is your Logical drive and C: is your Primary.

    Not sure what's going on with your fdisk, did you partition with PM7? Or any third party software?
    Quote Originally Posted by The Devil
    Tolerance is a virtue, not a requirement.
    SG Theme Song

  3. #3
    Advanced Member jumpingrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Los Angeles, Calif
    Posts
    894
    The boot disk creates a ramdisk of 2mb and this will cause your drive letters to be shifted.

  4. #4
    mikemean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    406
    Posts
    8,705
    Originally posted by EvilAngel
    D: is your Logical drive and C: is your Primary.

    Not sure what's going on with your fdisk, did you partition with PM7? Or any third party software?
    Yes I used Partition Magic 7. I am going to buy a second HD to use as a backup and then merge the partiotins.

    Give me a few so I can reinstall PM and get a screenshot.

  5. #5
    mikemean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    406
    Posts
    8,705
    Originally posted by jumpingrat
    The boot disk creates a ramdisk of 2mb and this will cause your drive letters to be shifted.
    It did the same thing when installing the OS from the Windows cd.

  6. #6
    mikemean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    406
    Posts
    8,705

  7. #7
    Advanced Member jumpingrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Los Angeles, Calif
    Posts
    894
    I've used PM7 in the past, and I vaugely recall that there may be an issue with how some versions of PM report drive letters as opposed to how windows does. I may be off base here though. Do you have the newest updates for PM7?

  8. #8
    mikemean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    406
    Posts
    8,705
    Originally posted by jumpingrat
    Do you have the newest updates for PM7?
    Probably not. I haven't used it in a while.

  9. #9
    Advanced Member jumpingrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Los Angeles, Calif
    Posts
    894
    Yah that might be it then. I finally used XP's built in partitioning utility just to avoid the conflicts.

  10. #10
    mikemean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    406
    Posts
    8,705
    Originally posted by jumpingrat
    Yah that might be it then. I finally used XP's built in partitioning utility just to avoid the conflicts.
    XP has built in partitioning?

  11. #11
    Advanced Member jumpingrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Los Angeles, Calif
    Posts
    894
    Well xp-pro, but since it's part of the OS setup I imagine that all versions do. I did my install on a HD formated with PM7 and one of the options during setup was to create partitions and file structures (because xp did'nt like PM's setup???). It's been a few months but I remember it doing it as part of the install.

  12. #12
    Advanced Member jumpingrat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Los Angeles, Calif
    Posts
    894
    Found it. Under local computer management go to disk management. From there you can Format, adjust free space, reasign drive leters ect..ect.

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    124
    Originally posted by mikemean

    Another problem may be that your primary partition is formatted NTFS and your backup is FAT32. When you boot to your boot disk DOS 'ignores' the NTFS partition because DOS cannot read NTFS and doesn't see it.

    Sav

  14. #14
    mikemean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    406
    Posts
    8,705
    Originally posted by SavageHrt



    Another problem may be that your primary partition is formatted NTFS and your backup is FAT32. When you boot to your boot disk DOS 'ignores' the NTFS partition because DOS cannot read NTFS and doesn't see it.

    Sav
    AH HA! I never thought of that. Thanks!

  15. #15
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    124
    Originally posted by mikemean


    AH HA! I never thought of that. Thanks!
    No problem, glad to help where I can.

  16. #16
    Regular Member GatoNanashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Where I woke up this morning..
    Posts
    177
    That weird, I used PM7 and I partitioned my 40 into two 20's and then changed my mind and merged them, it went off without a hitch....one of the few things to ever do so granted...

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •