Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Need New MOBO For Friend

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    El Paso, TX USA
    Posts
    105

    Need New MOBO For Friend

    I have a friend on a limited budget who is currently using an old M-Tech R558 MOBO with a Cyrix 200Mhz processor. I'm looking for something for her that is relatively low end but reliable. Here is what I'm looking for in the basics.

    - Built in video
    - Built in audio
    - PC133 SDRAM (not DDR) - At least two slots, three better (she has the memory).
    - ATA100 on IDE.
    - 800 Mhz Athlon processor.

    Nothing too fancy. Most applications are word processing, some browsing, definitely not a hard core gamer.

    I've noticed that BIOSTAR has some low end MOBO's in this range and I've heard they aren't too bad if you don't overclock them.

    Any comments are welcome, thanks.

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    51,002
    Any nForce chipset related motherboard....many out there.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,014
    Originally posted by YeOldeStonecat
    Any nForce chipset related motherboard....many out there.

    nforce isnt sdram

  4. #4
    Fallen Angel Thor Walez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    NRW, Germany
    Posts
    1,166
    Originally posted by YARDofSTUF



    nforce isnt sdram
    i do not know any sdram gpu-integrated amd-tb/duron mobo!

    I woukd advice you to take this:

    -Abit KT7-A rev 1.3 !
    -AMD Socket A CPU
    -SDRAM
    -GeForce² MX or GTS
    -...

    But beware that this system is not best you get for cash! I little more and you have by comparison / in a ratio of 1:1 MORE and BETTER Hardware (e.g. 256MB DDR, XP1600 and GF³ ti200!!!)

    -Thor
    1st rig:
    Abit NF7-S v2.0(!) nforce2 | AMD XP2500+ Barton @2.4Ghz 12*200mhz | TYAN Tachyon Radeon9500pro oc´ed | 2*256MB DDR400 cl2.5 TwinMos -winbond- @ DC DDR400 3-2-2-2.0 | 2*120 GB Seagate Barracuda V *8MB Cache* S-ATA in RAID0 *woooo*| Pioneer DVD-RW A-05 | LG 48x24x48x16 CD-RW-DVD Combo | win2k pro SP4 |

    2nd Rig:
    Abit KD7 KT400 | XP2400+ @XP2700+ (333) | Geforce4 128MB TI4200 oc´ed | 512MB PC3000 Corsair XMS CL2 | 60 GB Seagate Barracuda IV | Seagate ST340823A 40GB 5.4krpm | Pioneer DVD-106S | det.52.16 | win2kpro SP4 |
    3rd Rig
    *** SOLD *** --> preparing to go AMD 64bit in far future after paying off my RX8

    http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=340755603 NEW!!!!
    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7717862
    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=2262168 NEW!!!!


    Be evil and fold some unholy proteins... crunch a unit!
    How you can help us to fold!

    Folding buddy with SeedOfChaos, as The Fallen Angels. 100% unholy AMD Power.

  5. #5
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    51,002
    Originally posted by YARDofSTUF



    nforce isnt sdram
    True it isn't, I didn't even read that...wouldn't have assumed anyone wanted anything even remotely new with old SDRAM on board.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  6. #6
    Canadian, eh... you hoser lewis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    480
    Gigabyte, Soltek and MSI (Mictrostar) all make a board that fit those needs. Well in Canada anyway....

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •