Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: "A device attached to this system is not functioning."

  1. #1

    Exclamation "A device attached to this system is not functioning."

    I am having major problems staying online. Every hour and a half I get disconnected and I believe it's because of the patch I had. I have Windows 98SE and recently installed the

    sguide_default_9x.zip. When I extract it I get the error that is in the topic: "A device attached to this system is not functioning."

    Does it matter which directory I extract to? Am I downloading the wrong patch? I JUST WANT MY DEFAULT WINDOWS SETTINGS!! WAHH!!

  2. #2
    bump, please help!

  3. #3
    Please, I need an answer, any answer will help.

  4. #4
    Dr Tweak mnosteele52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    11,912
    Please read My Tips in my sig and answer the questions and we can get your settings right. How is your modem connected NIC or USB?

  5. #5
    I connect via NIC and I have Cable Modem. My ISP is Charter Communications. The speed is "as fast as 1.5 MBPS downstream. Sorry couldn't find the upstream anywhere.

    Analyzer test:

    TCP properties for IP = XX.XXX.XX.XXX (XX-XXX-XX-XXX.jvl.wi.charter.com)
    Browser/OS = Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 5.5; Windows 98)
    Note: Read the FAQ if the above is not your IP address.

    TCP options string = 020405b401010402

    MTU = 1500
    MTU is fully optimized for broadband.

    MSS = 1460
    Maximum useful data in each packet = 1460, which equals MSS.

    Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 65535
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 0 bits
    Unscaled Receive Window = 65535
    Note: Under Windows 9x, if you have RWIN set to any other value, and the Analyzer reports 65535 you might need to install the MS Vtcp386 fix.
    For optimum performance, consider changing RWIN to a multiple of MSS.
    Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    513920 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
    256960 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    128480 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    64240 (MSS x 44)

    bandwidth * delay product:
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 2621.4 kbps (327.675 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 1048.56 kbps (131.07 KBytes/s) @ 500ms

    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON

    Time to live left = 50 hops
    TTL value is ok.

    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF

    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON

    IP type of service field (RFC1349)= 00000000

    My average download speed was about 380 kbps which is like 46 KB/s and my average upload was about 65 kbps.

    Note: I also recieve horrible pings in online gaming, 100+ pings for cable connection is not very good on a Chicago Server from my location: Rockford, IL.


    Your help is greatly appreciated.

  6. #6
    Dr Tweak mnosteele52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    11,912
    OK try the following, set your NIC duplex mode to 10mb half duplex according to my instructions and try the NIC buffer tweak, download the TCPOptimizer and try the followin settings:

    Settings tab:

    select - cable modem
    check - custom settings
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    check modify all adapters
    maxmtu - 1500
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 51100 or 64240
    MTU Discovery - yes
    Black Hole Detect - no
    Selective Acks - yes
    Max Dup ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options - uncheck both boxes

    Other Settings tab:

    Max Connections per Server - 20
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 40
    Lan Browsing Speedup - optimized

    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect.



  7. #7
    hmmm, I did everything except when Im supposed to choose my NIC, all that's listed is Dial-up adapter. I do have a 10/100 NIC card. I dont know why its not listed there. Any suggestions?

  8. #8
    Dr Tweak mnosteele52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    11,912
    That's odd, post a TCP Analyzer test and let's see what your settings are.

  9. #9
    I fixed the NIC card thing but I am still getting disconnected every hour and half or so. And when I try to use the patch I still get the "A device attached to this system is not functioning" error. Rawr!!

  10. #10
    MTU = 1500
    MTU is fully optimized for broadband.

    MSS = 1460
    Maximum useful data in each packet = 1460, which equals MSS.

    Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 51110
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 0 bits
    Unscaled Receive Window = 51110
    For optimum performance, consider changing RWIN to a multiple of MSS.
    Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    513920 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
    256960 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    128480 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    64240 (MSS x 44)

    bandwidth * delay product:
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 2044.4 kbps (255.55 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 817.76 kbps (102.22 KBytes/s) @ 500ms

    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON

    Time to live left = 50 hops
    TTL value is ok.

    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF

    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON

    IP type of service field (RFC1349)= 00000000

  11. #11
    Dr Tweak mnosteele52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    11,912
    Ok try 2 things, power cycle your modem (disconnect power for atleast 15 seconds) and see if there is an updated driver for your NIC.

  12. #12
    have the latest driver

  13. #13
    the disconnects keep coming

  14. #14
    Senior Member earthmofo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Providence, RI USA
    Posts
    1,128
    It could be a hardware related problem. What are your system specs?
    "A never ending quest for knowledge as with knowledge comes wisdom"

    Main System running Windows XP Pro: Intel Celeron 2.4 Ghz, 1 Gig Ram, 2 80 gig WD 7200 rpm HD's, Radeon 9200 Pro, Envision EN9110 19" LCD Display, HP 9500 CD-RW, D-Link DFE-530TX+ PCI Adapter, D-Link DI-704P Router, Motorola SB5100 Cable Modem with Cox HSI

  15. #15
    Pentium 3 700 mghz, 128 mb ram, 26 gig HD, 10/100 Ethernet card, nVidia TNT2 gfx card, Surfboard 4100 Cable Modem, dont know what else to list.

  16. #16
    Dr Tweak mnosteele52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    11,912
    What I think earthmofo is saying is that something could have gone bad such as your NIC or cable modem.

  17. #17
    Senior Member earthmofo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Providence, RI USA
    Posts
    1,128
    It could be your network adaptor is causing the problem which is why only your dialup adaptor was listed. Try installing a new card to see if it solves the problem.
    "A never ending quest for knowledge as with knowledge comes wisdom"

    Main System running Windows XP Pro: Intel Celeron 2.4 Ghz, 1 Gig Ram, 2 80 gig WD 7200 rpm HD's, Radeon 9200 Pro, Envision EN9110 19" LCD Display, HP 9500 CD-RW, D-Link DFE-530TX+ PCI Adapter, D-Link DI-704P Router, Motorola SB5100 Cable Modem with Cox HSI

  18. #18
    I got the network adapter to work, I just deleted my dialup adapter and the nic shows now. But I am still getting the disconnects =(

  19. #19
    Well the problem's not with my modem or isp, thats almost sure. It's something on my computer, most likely the patch I got from this site, because the disconnects only started happening after I got that patch. I can't revert to the default then I get this error. So anyway I can revert manually?

  20. #20
    Senior Member earthmofo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Providence, RI USA
    Posts
    1,128
    I doubt it was the patch since it only changes registry values for TCP/IP. Because of the error
    A device attached to this system is not functioning.
    it is most likely a hardware issue.

    Check to see if all devices listed in your System Properties are functioning correctly. Also, check to see if your winsocks file is corrupt.
    "A never ending quest for knowledge as with knowledge comes wisdom"

    Main System running Windows XP Pro: Intel Celeron 2.4 Ghz, 1 Gig Ram, 2 80 gig WD 7200 rpm HD's, Radeon 9200 Pro, Envision EN9110 19" LCD Display, HP 9500 CD-RW, D-Link DFE-530TX+ PCI Adapter, D-Link DI-704P Router, Motorola SB5100 Cable Modem with Cox HSI

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •