Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Digital Cameras

  1. #1
    SG Enthusiast HongKongPolice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    I...... AM.......... CANADIAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Posts
    2,147

    Exclamation Digital Cameras

    Ok I need something at least 2 Megapixels, and at least 2x optical zoom, which is the best bang for the buck? Also, is the "movie mode" option worth it? or is it really crappy quality?

    Thx
    Abit KR7A-Raid
    Palomino 1.4Ghz @ 1.57Ghz @ default voltage /w DTek Spir@l block 512MB Crucial DDR @ 300Mhz CAS222 ATi OEM Radeon8500 @ 295/275 vmem=3.5v, would of gotten GF3 if they had better filters..... 3Com 905 TX SoundBlaster Live OEM 120gig Western Digital Special Edition (8MB Cache) 20gig Fujitsu 5400rpm (gonna get another WD1200JB for Raid0 soon) LiteOn 24x burner Enermax 350watt PSU (voltage modded) Dell P1110 21" Sony FD Trinitron tube @ 1792x1344 85Hz

  2. #2
    Regular Member MikeyMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    336
    http://www.imaging-resource.com/DIGCAM01.HTM

    Take your pic (pun intended)... I like the Canon G2, 4 megapixel... also costs around $700 *cough*
    Linux. n: Appears on your hard drive when you realize how much Microsoft sucks.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    413
    Cannon is the best overall for general purpose use but can be a bit pricey. Check out the kodak line on 2 meg cameras. They will not bust the budget and their photo quality is pretty good.
    Rig 1: Abit NF7-S 2500+ 2530@230
    Water Cooled System
    "Cather" LR White Water #87/Eheim 1250
    2x 256 corsair pc3500c2
    Softmodded 9500NP
    Rig 2:ASUS A7N8X XP2400+ 2387@217
    Gforce 3 250/560 12950 3dmarks

  4. #4
    Advanced Member caveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Liverpool, UK
    Posts
    751
    I use this...

    the spec is 6x OPTICAL zoom it does have the video option (not bad IMO (AVI format)) with sound, will take upto 128Mb smartmedia, 2.11 Megapixels, comes with 16Mb smartmedia, 1.8" TFT display on rear (62,000 pixels) normal and macro function and shaed loads of other stuff, Oh and it can also be used as a webcam, should one want to

  5. #5
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    51,109
    Canon Digital Elph's.....great camera. Love mine, and peeps I recommend them to are happy they got them. Very small, tough metal case, great pics, easy to use software the comes with them.

    http://www.powershot.com/powershot2/s200/index.html
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  6. #6
    SG Enthusiast HongKongPolice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    I...... AM.......... CANADIAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Posts
    2,147
    Hmm, that Fuji Finepix 2800 looks nice, I kinda want the movie mode option and webcam, but my friend has the same 1 and i know he paid around $600 CAD for it, which is over my budget

    I think its the 6x optical zoom that makes it so expensive, is there a similar model with less zoom?

    Omg I just went to fuji's site and the 2800 is the ONLY cam with webcam ability... theres very few models too: http://www.fujifilm.com/JSP/fuji/epa...vBarId=C234644

    kinda sux

    I heard that 3megapix = photo quality, so maybe I should get at least 3MP instead?
    Abit KR7A-Raid
    Palomino 1.4Ghz @ 1.57Ghz @ default voltage /w DTek Spir@l block 512MB Crucial DDR @ 300Mhz CAS222 ATi OEM Radeon8500 @ 295/275 vmem=3.5v, would of gotten GF3 if they had better filters..... 3Com 905 TX SoundBlaster Live OEM 120gig Western Digital Special Edition (8MB Cache) 20gig Fujitsu 5400rpm (gonna get another WD1200JB for Raid0 soon) LiteOn 24x burner Enermax 350watt PSU (voltage modded) Dell P1110 21" Sony FD Trinitron tube @ 1792x1344 85Hz

  7. #7
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    51,109
    Originally posted by TigerUpperCut

    I heard that 3megapix = photo quality, so maybe I should get at least 3MP instead?
    Depends on the resolutions you'll be shooting at, and how much you want to spend.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  8. #8
    Advanced Member caveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Liverpool, UK
    Posts
    751
    And another thing you need to take into consideration is is your printer up to the job of printing `Photo quality` pics??

    If it`s not I personally think you`d be wasting your $$$$`s on a 3Mp camera

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •