Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24

Thread: random restarts

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Mount Prospect,IL USA
    Posts
    117

    random restarts

    Hi,

    I am currently experiencing problems with my computer. It will randomly flash a blue screen very quickly and restart at any given time. I am running windows xp on the following system:

    Abit kt7a 300W PS
    512 ram pc133
    Ati Radeon 8500
    Sb live value
    30gb quantem fireball
    80gb western digital
    Linksys NIC

    If anyone can help me, it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

    Joe

  2. #2
    Folding Thunder
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    New York The Empire State
    Posts
    10,543
    Hey Joe,
    this just starting happening or was this doing it on a regular basis?

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Mount Prospect,IL USA
    Posts
    117
    It just started recently... like within 2 or 3 weeks ago.

    Joe

  4. #4
    Advanced Member EthanHunt16's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    598
    could be your system trying to get too much power from your 300w power supply and it reboots

    also on win xp theres a option that the computer will reboot on any error, i forget were to go to switch this off, but your comp may be getting any number of small errors and win xp decides to reboot
    athlon 1.333ghz(266fsb), 1024mb pc-133, ATI Radeon 8500le 128MB, 60gig western digital 7200 rpm hd, 60gig maxtor 7200 rpm hd, LG 24x10x40 CR-RW, Pioneer 16x DVD-Rom, sound blaster live x-gamer!,viewsonic 17" E771,win XP PRO

  5. #5
    Folding Thunder
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    New York The Empire State
    Posts
    10,543
    Check your bios settings and make sure evrything's on default
    and did u just install xp or was it an upgrade?

  6. #6
    Army Officer monkeyhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Killeen, TX
    Posts
    2,760
    http://www.tweakxp.com/tweakxp/display.asp?id=30

    go here, do what it says.

    this will stop the computer from restarting when you get a blue screen.

    Then the next time you get a blue screen, you will be able to read what it says, it will most likely tell you what piece of hardware or possibly software is giving you the problem


    good luck.

  7. #7
    Regular Member MAmuT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    467
    could be your system trying to get too much power from your 300w power supply and it reboots
    agree. i while ago i changed my processors and i didnt setup the voltages correctly so i was getting random boots and blue screens


    so check your voltages on the BIOS for your processors that is where the problem may be
    When everything Fails, FORMAT C: solves it all....

  8. #8
    Venge This!
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    2,394

    Re: random restarts

    Originally posted by Joebeme2
    Hi,

    I am currently experiencing problems with my computer. It will randomly flash a blue screen very quickly and restart at any given time. I am running windows xp on the following system:

    Abit kt7a 300W PS
    512 ram pc133
    Ati Radeon 8500
    Sb live value
    30gb quantem fireball
    80gb western digital
    Linksys NIC

    If anyone can help me, it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

    Joe
    Thats normal-lol

    Id say there was a corrupted system file in ur OS, format and reinstall should do the trick
    Rob

  9. #9
    Army Officer monkeyhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Killeen, TX
    Posts
    2,760

    Re: Re: random restarts

    Originally posted by SlicKsTufF2355


    Thats normal-lol

    Id say there was a corrupted system file in ur OS, format and reinstall should do the trick
    format and reinstall would probably fix the problem. But you cant always do that, it can solve your problems, if you have a place to back your stuff up, if you know what your doing.

    But you also must consider, if you dont know where the problem came from, that it could very possibly come back up again. where the approach to fixing the problem, without formatting, is what you need to do.


    and suggesting that the power supply is the problem, is highly unlikely to be the problem.

    Windows XP's new design prevents blue screens from keeping the system at a halt, thats why its rebooting.

    Most likely it is a piece of hardware like the sound or video card. Thats why i suggested the tweak XP site...... so that the computer doesnt reboot, then he can see what driver is causing the malfunction.

    Anyway if it was the power supply, it would be because the power supply wasnt giving enough power. but a 300 should be enough in his situation. There would also be a reboot without the blue screen.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Mount Prospect,IL USA
    Posts
    117
    Well, I did that thing with the registry and it seemed to work for awhile. Now my computer randomly restarts and there is no blue screen. It's like someone is pushing my reset button. I have 4 fans and a pci slot fan as well as all the specs in my first post under this topic. Is it possible that it could be the power supply? If so, is it possible to buy a new p.s. and just replace my current one? Thanks.

    Joe

  11. #11
    Regular Member MAmuT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    467
    oh also check the temps of the CPUs. Last week my cooler master CPU fan which is no more than 3 months stoped working and i didnt know , i could see that the temps on my CPU2 was 10 to 12 degrees hotter than CPU1.

    And that conduced the PC to restart by itselft ad it was caused by the HIGH TEMPS so check that 2

    you said that you have 4 fans ( i am assuming they are on the case ) that woulndt be enough for the CPU CHECK if it spinning
    When everything Fails, FORMAT C: solves it all....

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Mount Prospect,IL USA
    Posts
    117
    If it is the power suppy, does anyone know is it possible to buy a new power supply and just replace my current one?

  13. #13
    Mad Overclocker m4a2t0t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Phoenix AZ
    Posts
    3,962
    who makes the PSU?
    is ur puter OC'ed?
    what CPU u got?
    Will Work For FSB

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Mount Prospect,IL USA
    Posts
    117
    I believe its a Deer 300W UL / CSA ATX Power Supply. I have an amd athlon 1.4 ghz cpu. My temps are usually around 47C. http://www.markonecomputers.com/case...10236757993698 - thats my case.

    Joe

  15. #15
    Forum Techie A_old's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    10,663
    deer *shudders*... try updating your via 4in1s too altho i do think it's the psu

    www.viaarena.com

  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Mount Prospect,IL USA
    Posts
    117
    Can i just buy a new power supply then with more watts to replace my current one? Thanks.

    Joe

  17. #17
    SG Enthusiast Juggernaut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Parts Unknown
    Posts
    1,645
    Yes it is possible to buy another power supply and switch it with the one you have, but you may not have to do that. Like they mentioned, make sure your BIOS is set correctly.

    I had a VERY similar problem that I just fixed myself. I was using Kerio Personal Firewall v.2.1.4 and it was that that was causing my problems...are you perhaps using that as well? I've heard of people using Kerio and not having a single problem, but not me

    Make sure all your drivers are up to date as well....VIA, video card, sound card, NIC, etc.

  18. #18
    SG Enthusiast Juggernaut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Parts Unknown
    Posts
    1,645
    Also, you may want to check out This thread. There was a lot of good suggestions in there to my problem that was very similar to yours. One of them may fix it for you.

  19. #19
    Mad Overclocker m4a2t0t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Phoenix AZ
    Posts
    3,962
    Originally posted by Joebeme2
    I believe its a Deer 300W UL / CSA ATX Power Supply. I have an amd athlon 1.4 ghz cpu. My temps are usually around 47C. http://www.markonecomputers.com/case...10236757993698 - thats my case.

    Joe
    ur cuttin it close with a 300W with everything u got

    what are the PSU voltages?
    Will Work For FSB

  20. #20
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Mount Prospect,IL USA
    Posts
    117
    Hello,

    I am not running that firewall and I do believe that I am running all the updated drivers. I am at work right now, so i will check it when i get home. Should i try taking out some of those fans out to see if the problem persists? Thanks,

    Joe

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •