Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Should i reformat when ..................??

  1. #1
    Regular Member MAmuT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    467

    Should i reformat when ..................??

    Should i reformat the HDD when i change motherboard ???

    or its ok if i just switch the mobo andthats it ???

    let me know
    When everything Fails, FORMAT C: solves it all....

  2. #2
    Mad Overclocker m4a2t0t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Phoenix AZ
    Posts
    3,962
    yes
    Will Work For FSB

  3. #3
    ♫♪ ♫♪ ♫♪ ♫♪ downhill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    My Own Private Idaho
    Posts
    34,796
    If the motherboard is the same as your changing out, then you can probalby get away with it.

    It may work if it's a different mobo but don't count on it. I'd reformat.

  4. #4
    SCSI Dude Faust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Posts
    8,708
    it's not 100% necessary, but i would highly suggest it. to completely wipe all system devices from your system, you would have to remove everything from the device manager, as well as remove some ENUM paths from your registry (would have to look them up, don't know them right offhand).

    it's a lot easier and productive to just reformat and do a fresh install.

  5. #5
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,942
    Technically you don't have to reformat, because plug 'n play will detect TONS of new hardware, load drivers, prompt you for drivers, you may even run a driver disk for the mobo...or download the latest.

    But you end up with an OS chock full of junk.....and although it's gotten better with 98 and 2000...it still tends to run flakey, and sure doesn't perform anything close to a system that you ran setup on fresh from scratch.

    Worse comes to worse, in some cases, you cannot lose something on a hard drive which you change motherboards on. In that case, boot into safe mode...and remove EVERYTHING you can from device manager...then shut down. Change mobo's...boot up...load the freshest drivers you can, reboot, check for unknown devices, etc.

    Changing motherboards that are identicle or similar chipsets isn't too too bad...changing chipsets totally, like from Intel to Via, etc....is pretty unstable.

    If you can...start fresh from a blank slate.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  6. #6
    Army Officer monkeyhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Killeen, TX
    Posts
    2,760
    ive done such a thing... worked quite nice with XP havin all drivers and stuff. But i did format anyway.... dont know if i would of had to though

  7. #7
    Regular Member MAmuT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    467
    well i actually tried before and i noticed that when i play a dvd movie it can of goes slow sometimes so that may be one of the problems, because when i use the old mobo no problem .

    thanks guys and girls (<<<< just in case ) i ll reformat tomorrow morning after i pick up my check OH YEAH CHECK
    When everything Fails, FORMAT C: solves it all....

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •