Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 38

Thread: Need more Gnomers

  1. #1
    Genome Jammin' emobley3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    1,096

    Need more Gnomers

    Hey all, we still need more people to join G@H if we are to hold off the horde. On 4-17, they put out 4674.59 units to our 2344.46 units, and they seem to be adding more members. Gnome on.
    Too many computers can fry your brain.

  2. #2
    LOL!!!!11ONEEXCLAMATIONT! master7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    2,359
    I'll start caching at my moms work on her 1.8ghz P4. Then about once every two weeks, I'll copy the completed ones onto a CD-R, bring them home and uploading them.

    Then, once I get my new computer built, I'll stick that on F@H, and this 1.33ghz T-Bird on G@H.
    i'm going to become rich and famous after i invent a device that allows you to stab people in the face over the internet

  3. #3
    Genome Jammin' emobley3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    1,096
    Sounds good to me.
    Too many computers can fry your brain.

  4. #4
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,983
    be ordering case and mobo tomorrow, then add a 1800xp to teh noming,



    Woot we are in 23rd place now!

  5. #5
    Senior Member Sid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Hell's Kitchen
    Posts
    5,174
    I was going to put it on the 26 systems we have at the shop but I can't get by the proxy server. Anyone know a good way to get around one?

  6. #6
    LOL!!!!11ONEEXCLAMATIONT! master7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    2,359
    Originally posted by Sid
    I was going to put it on the 26 systems we have at the shop but I can't get by the proxy server. Anyone know a good way to get around one?
    From Hardfolding.com

    This is for F@H, but it'll work for G@H too.

    1) The F@H2 client runs with no proxy support but through Sockscap in a socksified state. The sockcap adds the proxy functionality.

    2) Sockscap gets through your local firewall on port 80 and then talks to the remote tunneling proxy which probes Stanford ( something some of you have expressed a desire to do in the past heh heh, but in a not too nice way ) on whatever port Stanford is using.

    3) The tunneling proxy then grabs the data and sends it back on port 80 through your local firewall where the socksified f@H2 child process is fed the data from sockcap.

    Anyhow that is how I think it happens. You might not actually need sockscap, but with my limited testing I could not get it to work without it. Maybe someone can spend more time on this.

    The Software I used and my Settings

    For the tunneling software I used http-tunnel.com's stuff. You can get it here

    http://www.http-tunnel.com/HT_downloads.asp

    there is some nice help on how to get it running here

    http://www.http-tunnel.com/Help/

    Note chapter 3. The sockscap settings shown there are the ones you will need to use when you download sockcap from there, no other settings need to be used. You simply have to add the F@H2console.exe program into sockscap by browsing for it ( use chapter 3 above for more details ).

    http://www.socks.nec.com/cgi-bin/download.pl

    To get it to run with F@H2

    a) Open the http-tunneling software. The log file should say that the socks4/5 server successfully started. You MUST do this before the step below

    b) Run sockscap by double clicking the F@H icon you made. The client screen should appear.

    c) When configuring the F@H2 client make sure you say there IS NO PROXY .. very important.

    Hopefully it should then run and download the work.

    Please note that there are two levels of transport provided by the tunneling proxy people, 1.5k a second for free or 50k per second for $ 5 dollars per month. I went for the free one ( of course ) but it does mean that your downloads are slow, so don't download the core too often. There are some adverts as well, but acceptable.

    PS Forgot to add,in case it's not clear, every time you run f@H2 it has to be via the sockscap program of course."

    Forgot to mention that in future you need only click on the original downloaded file to re-run f@h2 - you only need the config shortcut on 1st use.
    i'm going to become rich and famous after i invent a device that allows you to stab people in the face over the internet

  7. #7
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bell County, Tejas
    Posts
    14,351
    I'll soon add another comp to my 'farm'

    a Celeron 400 w/256 or 512mb RAM

    will help out a bit..

  8. #8
    Genome Jammin' emobley3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    1,096

    Thumbs up

    ALLRIGHT, if Sid can install G@H on his work comps, and YoS and Bala each add one that should really push up our numbers and keep the toads (oops Froggies, hehe) off our backs for a while. Looking great for the team and for the Genoming as a whole. It really is a good cause.
    Too many computers can fry your brain.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    9,055
    Ill have my athlon xp 2000+ setup by wednesday... so i'll be joining the teams!

    question is... which ones

  10. #10
    Best In Show Noevo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    SD
    Posts
    14,188
    I use my computer too damn much. It really kills those idle cycles lol

  11. #11
    RedChev
    Guest
    Will the Gh client run in Win XP?
    I have 4 machines at home I can contibute to the cause but one is running XP Pro

  12. #12
    Best In Show Noevo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    SD
    Posts
    14,188
    Originally posted by RedChev
    Will the Gh client run in Win XP?
    I have 4 machines at home I can contibute to the cause but one is running XP Pro
    yes it will. Start yer engines!!!

    Welcome to the team

    I run on XP Home, pretty sure many people here are running on XP Pro.

  13. #13
    RedChev
    Guest
    Cool, I will try to have all of em up & runnin by tomorrow morn

  14. #14
    RedChev
    Guest
    One more Question......do I use the same username on all machines?

  15. #15
    Best In Show Noevo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    SD
    Posts
    14,188
    Originally posted by RedChev
    One more Question......do I use the same username on all machines?
    Yes. and remember to put in the right team/account number for Speedguide which is 334848599

  16. #16
    RedChev
    Guest
    Thanks Noevo, I got 2 machines runnin now and I will do the other two after work today

  17. #17
    Best In Show Noevo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    SD
    Posts
    14,188
    sweet! thanks for joining!

    now, go sign up all your friends! lol

  18. #18
    Senior Member Sid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Hell's Kitchen
    Posts
    5,174
    Note chapter 3. The sockscap settings shown there are the ones you will need to use when you download sockcap from there, no other settings need to be used. You simply have to add the F@H2console.exe program into sockscap by browsing for it ( use chapter 3 above for more details ).
    OK I give up! Where is chapter 3? Tunneling is working but need socks settings.

  19. #19
    Advanced Member LukeMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    693
    Originally posted by RedChev
    Thanks Noevo, I got 2 machines runnin now and I will do the other two after work today
    Welcome! Crank 'em up!

    L.
    They told (us) to open up the Embassy, or "we'll blow you away." And then they looked up and saw the Marines on the roof with these really big guns, and they said in Somali, "Igaralli ahow," which means "Excuse me, I didn't mean it, my mistake".

    Karen Aquilar, in the U.S. Embassy; Mogadishu, Somalia, 1991

  20. #20
    LOL!!!!11ONEEXCLAMATIONT! master7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    2,359
    Originally posted by Sid


    OK I give up! Where is chapter 3? Tunneling is working but need socks settings.
    http://http-tunnel.com/ht_portmap.asp <-- Chapter 3
    Last edited by master7; 04-19-02 at 03:05 PM.
    i'm going to become rich and famous after i invent a device that allows you to stab people in the face over the internet

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •