Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Build New Computer

  1. #1
    Regular Member Paindriver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    405

    Build New Computer

    I am trying to build a gaming system at the maximum cost of $1000...hopefully less. So i put "Question marks" next to the things i need help with, any ideas would be cool...but i need specs on the hardware you decide to share. I plan on ordering online, where is the best place to order from?
    Thanks.

    Here is what i got so far: (remember under $1000 total with OS)

    -AMD Athlon XP 2100+ 266Mhz FSB (or should i go 2000?)
    -Motherboard???
    -Graphics Card???
    -Hard Drive 40gig???
    -Memory 512mb???
    -CD-ROM???
    -Floppy???
    -Sound Card??
    -OS win2k?

    What do you think of this MOBO:
    ASUS A7n266-c Nvidia nforce DDR

    ----Did i leave anything out???
    What am i going to need to cool it. I don't plan to overclock.

    I want the system to be silent but deadly

    Thanks again.
    Current Rig:
    AMD Athlon Barton 2500+ (Volcano 9);Asus A7N8X-E; Geforce 6800; Samsung 512mb PC-2700 DDR333; 80gig WD Special Edition HardDrive; DVD-ROM; Cendyne CDRW; Sound Blaster; WinXP

  2. #2
    Army Officer monkeyhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Killeen, TX
    Posts
    2,760
    check prices of stuff at newegg.....

  3. #3
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    51,000
    It's a good idea to also buy stuff from a place that will test and burn in your CPU/mobo.....so you know it's all set.

    I love the nForce chipst.

    Buy all my stuff from gamepc.com, and essencompu.com

    GamePC, while a bit more expensive, the extra price is well worth it since they pre-burn your equip to test it out before shipping. Some good combo deals also.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  4. #4
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,373
    1k
    OS is going to cost you about 100+ extra.. so that sux..

    for Proc I would go 1 or 2 speeds lower than the best..

    Hardrive - Maxtor 40 or 60 gig L series HDD (liquid bearing)

    just bought a 60 gig Maxtor L for $98
    Floppy...get whatever LOL
    AMD ATHLON XP 2000 $191
    Mobo EPOX EP-8KHA+ VIA $91 (as long as you don't want a GF4 EVAR)
    otherwise...
    MSI K7T266 PRO2-RU $109
    Graphics Card.. GF3 TI200..
    Memory 512mb Crucial/Kingmax Tiny BGA
    I figured $150 for Graphics Card and $10 for Floppy and $160 for Memory..
    CD-Rom $30
    missing case and sound as far as I can tell
    that came out to $732

    edit all prices = www.newegg.com
    Last edited by BaLa; 04-09-02 at 04:18 PM.

  5. #5
    Regular Member Paindriver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    405
    ok so far i have....

    -AMD XP 2000
    -MSI K7T266
    -GF3 TI 200
    -512mb Crucial (2 sticks of 256)
    -60gig Maxtor HD
    -FLoppy
    -Sound Card?
    -Case?

    So far total = $698 (without shipping) at Newegg.
    Current Rig:
    AMD Athlon Barton 2500+ (Volcano 9);Asus A7N8X-E; Geforce 6800; Samsung 512mb PC-2700 DDR333; 80gig WD Special Edition HardDrive; DVD-ROM; Cendyne CDRW; Sound Blaster; WinXP

  6. #6
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,373
    I wasn't telling you not to get the Asus, don''t know anything about the mobo though...

    this is a nice case...
    MAXTOP CSX-147K-GF-USB-GRAY
    $49+15

    hmm odd..link doesn't work right now..
    http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...ry=1524&DEPA=1

  7. #7
    Regular Member Paindriver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    405
    Mobo EPOX EP-8KHA+ VIA $91 (as long as you don't want a GF4 EVAR)
    otherwise...
    MSI K7T266 PRO2-RU $109
    Does that mean if i get a GF4 ...not to get the EPOX?
    I just want the better of the two.
    Current Rig:
    AMD Athlon Barton 2500+ (Volcano 9);Asus A7N8X-E; Geforce 6800; Samsung 512mb PC-2700 DDR333; 80gig WD Special Edition HardDrive; DVD-ROM; Cendyne CDRW; Sound Blaster; WinXP

  8. #8
    SG Enthusiast el bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    1,629
    Originally posted by Paindriver


    Does that mean if i get a GF4 ...not to get the EPOX?
    I just want the better of the two.
    He was referring to a compatibility problem between the EPoX 8KHA+ and the Visiontek GF4. (The 4600 if my memory serves me.)

    The Visiontek card came into contact with a capacitator on the motherboard but it was concluded that EPoX was out of spec rather than VisionTek.

    You hsould be fine going with the EPoX and a GF4. Just do a little research on the GF4 that you are looking at and make sure that it isn't the one that conflicts with the EPoX 8KHA+.

    Also, the GF4 4200 is coming out soon and that should be what you get a for a budgeted gaming system.

    $ ~ 140 US = Good stuff

    El Bob
    What's the most expensive purchase you've made on your miles/reward credit card? Starwood Preferred Guest Credit Card Application

  9. #9
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,012
    why are u looking at 266a chipsets the 333s are on shelves!



    i'd say go with Soltek 75DRV5 or teh epox 8k3a or whatever the 333 chipset mobo name is for epox, i believe the gf4 issue is fixed on it. (could post at teh hardforums for a quick answer.)

  10. #10
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,373
    I thought the Epox 8KHA+ + GF4 was pretty much
    all GF4s except for the MXs?...

    anyhow reason I didn't suggest the 333 chipset was b/c from the reviews I've seen/read so far the 333 chipset was not much faster than the KT266a additionaly the 333 chipset is new..

  11. #11
    Flip Chip Qwijib0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona Processor: GenuineIntel Member #4896
    Posts
    8,268
    Originally posted by YARDofSTUF
    why are u looking at 266a chipsets the 333s are on shelves!
    ALWAYS. ALWAYS. ALWAYS. wait for the "a" revision with via shi... err chipsets.
    If your browser can't read unicode, you should probably switch!

  12. #12
    Regular Member mvern2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    320
    Motherboard - Asus A7V 266-E (KT266a chipset)
    GF4 (leadtek or Gainward)
    Athlon XP 2000
    Sound Blaster Live 5.1 or if u really want it the Audiology
    case - ATC #0502 (room for alot of fans!!)http://www.colorcases.com
    Heatsink....Thermal Take Volcano 7 (nice and quiet and performs well)
    40 GB Western Digital or Maxtor (60 if u really really need that extra space)
    512 MB Samsung or Crucial DDR RAM
    DVD Drive ....I like my LG 16X drive
    CD-RW...?its up to you
    get a couple of case fans, some IDE and floppy cables....stick it all together (i'm sure i missed a few things but u get the picture)and there ya go bro!

  13. #13
    Senior Member XSeaNX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Someplace warm, cold and uninviting...
    Posts
    1,595
    Originally posted by Paindriver
    ok so far i have....

    -AMD XP 2000
    -MSI K7T266
    -GF3 TI 200
    -512mb Crucial (2 sticks of 256)
    -60gig Maxtor HD
    -FLoppy
    -Sound Card?
    -Case?

    So far total = $698 (without shipping) at Newegg.
    get ONE STICK of 512megs itll save you around 10 dollars which you can drop on a floppy drive......have you picked out a monitor....that tacked on a nice lil price to my total cost ont he computer Im setting up now...

    sound card...if you want cheap and good go for the the sound blaster live! 5.1

    or get the audigy gamer if you want the firewire port...as well as the little bit of extra sound you get..but youll be dropping about 75 dollars on it...

    case....go with something cheap and nice...look at the noblesse or if your really on a budget get an Antec 1030b

    I would also get the XP 1900+ because its only 70 mhz lower than the 2000+ and it overclocks that easy...esp. if you have the Tt volcano 7 cooling it down....also might be worth getting AS III.

    the OS is whats really going to throw you then try using the one you have? or get it from a friend...cause its 141 for a new Win2k prof. pack. and like 80-120 for win XP (not that Id get THAT)

    also......it might be worth upgrading to the GF3 Ti500 unless you plan on buying the GF4 pretty soon...then Id get something lower so you dont spend too much money.
    AMD Athlon 1900+ XP | ASUS A7V266E mobo |Visiontek Xtasy GeForce3 Ti500 | 40gb HD 7200 | 16X DVD | 256mb DDR | SBlaster Audigy XGamer | Windows 2000 | Cooler Master ATC-210 Azure
    Originally posted by YARDofSTUF
    this dude needs some pimpish SG title lol

  14. #14
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Lakewood CO
    Posts
    11
    Bah, forget the Audigy Gamer, if you're getting an Audigy, get the OEM. Do you really need the games that come with it? No, you already have games and you can put the money you save towards other components.

    I'd get the 8KHA+ but if you really want a KT333 chipset, the 8K3A+ (I believe that's Epox's KT333 board)

    Personally, I'd also get a 7500 or 8500 for the dual monitor support.

    As for the case, I'd buy the Enlight EN-7200AX.
    For more great conversation, visit JJR512.com and check out our Genome@home team!

  15. #15
    Chinese Vampire tHE_0ne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Williamsburg/Norfolk VA
    Posts
    5,870
    Get a Case that will be good for your needs

    If your going to overclock make sure you can easily mount fans in the case, and make sure the air-flow (intake/exhast) can be mounted without making hole/cuts etc...

    Sound Card, Sound Blaster Live!+ Is good

    also Get a Intelli Mouse, if you havent gotten a mouse yet

    My~Rig
    |Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Toledo 2.0GHz @ 2.5Ghz||ASROCK 939Dual-SATA2||OCZ Platinum 2GB (2 x 1GB) PC3200|ZALMAN 120MM CNPS7700-CU|
    |ATI XT 1600 PRO|CSB SB0570 Audigy SE 7.1||WD SE16 SATA 320GB HD|Hitachi SATA 160GB HD|Thermaltake TR2 W0070 ATX 430W Power Supply |WIN 7 Ultimate| (College Budget)

  16. #16
    Regular Member Paindriver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    405
    I just ordered these parts:

    -AMD 2000+/266 Athlon XP
    -40gig Maxtor 7200rpm ata133 mx6l040l2
    -MOBO KT333/6p3d 2-ch 8k3a EP RT
    -DDR-RAM 256 pc-2700 DDR333 Samsung (2 sticks)
    -CASE MXTP/MID 350W 2Fan csx147k Blue

    ******
    I plan to get these locally:

    -Geforce3 TI 200
    -CD-ROM (Don't know yet...what should i get???)
    -Floppy
    -SoundCard Soundblaster

    *******
    What do you think of this setup. It's basicly for a gaming machine.
    What OS should i go with WIN2K or XP-PRO???
    Current Rig:
    AMD Athlon Barton 2500+ (Volcano 9);Asus A7N8X-E; Geforce 6800; Samsung 512mb PC-2700 DDR333; 80gig WD Special Edition HardDrive; DVD-ROM; Cendyne CDRW; Sound Blaster; WinXP

  17. #17
    SG Enthusiast Jstyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    The Swamp
    Posts
    2,822
    why are you upgrading your entire system? Most of the stuff you have is still fine for high-end gaming...also your upgrades are very slight. you ought to just think about maybe upgrading the processor, or adding memory, or a new graphics or soundcard. Alot of the stuff you're buying isn't even an upgrade..like the RAM. Just take the Ram out of your old system and use it in your new one. Save money. Your new graphics card probably won't be much better than your old Radeon..both have the same amount of RAM...I'd suggest at least going with Ti500 and get 128 megs of ram on it..otherwise you won't see much performance increase. Just my 2 cents.
    spec-
    Rig #1- AMD XP 2400+, A-Bit KR7A/266, Gainward Geforce3 ti200 64mb Golden Sample, 1GB Crucial DDR, 40 gig WD HDD (7200), XP PRO, Vantec Stealth 420 PSU, Soundblaster Live 5.1
    Rig #2- P4 2.4c, Abit IC7 800 FSB /w onboard sound, Radeon 9700 Pro 128, 1 Gig Corsair 3200 XMS, Dual (SATA) 36GB WD Raptor's in RAID 0, XP Pro, Antec Truepower 400
    Rig #3-AMD Barton 2500+, Albatron KX600 (via), 1 gig Corsair 3200, Radeon 9600 Pro 128, Seagate 80 gig HD, Antec Truepower 400

  18. #18
    Regular Member Paindriver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    405
    the reason for the upgrade is because i am giving everything in my sig away except for the dvdrom and cdwriter in exchange i get to buy new stuff...but budgeted at $1000 or less
    Current Rig:
    AMD Athlon Barton 2500+ (Volcano 9);Asus A7N8X-E; Geforce 6800; Samsung 512mb PC-2700 DDR333; 80gig WD Special Edition HardDrive; DVD-ROM; Cendyne CDRW; Sound Blaster; WinXP

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •