Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: mobo or gfx card?

  1. #1
    Regular Member powerfulsquid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    114

    mobo or gfx card?

    ok here's the deal. i have a geforce 2 mx 400,as said in the subject and well, in half-life counter-strike, and team fortress classic i get like 40-50 frames per second on average and it drops to 20 sometimes and i lag. this is with an amd athlon 1.4 ghz, 512mb ddr ram, and soyo k7-ada motherboard with all the recent drivers and bios. i also freeze sometimes in the middle of a tony hawk 3 game and same goes for global ops.

    does anyone know what the deal is? whether it's my motherboard or my gfx card? i think that it might be my motherboard considering that my old computer was 733mhz 448mb sdram and it ran CS and TFC at 80-100 fps avg and it had a voodoo3 3000.

    i don't want to have to buy both a new motherboard and a new gfx card so im hoping to figure out whats wrong before hand so i just have to buy one or the either. any help would be great.

  2. #2
    Reigning Genious aagiants's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    5,941
    its the card i think. The voodoo's had glide bulit in and CS has the Voodoo drivers so they are better for that. Get a better GFX card
    .....

  3. #3
    Regular Member powerfulsquid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    114
    that's what i thought. do you suggest any good ones for $200 or less?

  4. #4
    LOL!!!!11ONEEXCLAMATIONT! master7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    2,359
    Originally posted by powerfulsquid
    that's what i thought. do you suggest any good ones for $200 or less?
    GeForce 3 TI200 or ATI 8500
    i'm going to become rich and famous after i invent a device that allows you to stab people in the face over the internet

  5. #5
    Flip Chip Qwijib0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona Processor: GenuineIntel Member #4896
    Posts
    8,268
    Originally posted by master7


    ATI 8500
    what he said
    If your browser can't read unicode, you should probably switch!

  6. #6
    Certified SG Addict Brent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    42,163
    GF4 Ti 4200

    it's priced below $200

    and will last you a long time

    or 8500LE 128MB, can oc to at least regular 8500 speeds

  7. #7
    Reigning Genious aagiants's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    5,941
    Get the Gf4ti4200. It will be less then 200, Im waiting for it to come out , cant wait
    .....

  8. #8
    Regular Member powerfulsquid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    114
    my friend had gotten an ati radeon 8500 128mb but he doesnt get above 50fps max in TFC so i don't really think i want to get what. maybe the gf3 ti 64mb which i think is like $180 at best buy.

    [edit]
    actually its not ti, it uses the ti chip. its official name is VisionTek Xtasy GeForce3 Titanium 200 AGP Graphics Accelerator. heres the link

    VisionTek Xtasy GeForce3 Titanium 200 AGP Graphics Accelerator

    [/edit]

  9. #9
    Certified SG Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    29,515
    Well if you happen to decide on a Radeon 8500 64 MB retail that doesn't have the DVI adapter or the Counter-Strike CD, you could take a look at this shameless link...for only $110.00

    http://forums.speedguide.net/showthr...threadid=74353

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •