Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Wide Open West WOW Internet

  1. #1
    Member Wallygator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    73

    Question Wide Open West WOW Internet

    Does anyone here use WOW internet??? What has anyone heard about it??? It just became avaliable in my area, I am currently a Comcast customer. Any opinions would be appreciated. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Best In Show Noevo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    SD
    Posts
    14,188
    Hi Wallygator, I will let you know tomorrow. I am currently a Comcast user as well and getting WOW Internet hooked up tomorrow.

  3. #3
    Regular Member DiskDoc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    447
    Service looks pretty descent to me. They will be slower once they provide service in more areas. Good start though. We need that here where I live!!

    RR sux (no offence to RR lovers)
    Share What You Know, Learn What You Don't.
    RapSource.Com

  4. #4
    Advanced Member C.M. Weaver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Littleton, CO
    Posts
    901
    Wide Open West has recently stopped ALL capital build projects in each state they operate in. They are currently short $50 million dollars to continue expansion of their all fiber network. Furthermore, they have no idea when they will start rebuilding, especially in light of the drastic downturn in the telecom industry.

    The CEO of WOW is an old AT&T guy and they are based out of Castle Rock, Colorado. They offer TV, internet and telephone service across a fiber network. The one nice thing about the build out is they have not had to license with the telco's to lay fiber....they have struck a deal with the energy companies to build out along the gas lines in your neighborhood.

    Unfortunately, I've heard only bad things about them I have a few friends here in Colorado that have the service and they say that it is ALWAYS down

  5. #5
    Best In Show Noevo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    SD
    Posts
    14,188
    C.M. Weaver, is that the DSDN they are talking about that is always down or regular cable modem service?

  6. #6
    Advanced Member C.M. Weaver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Littleton, CO
    Posts
    901
    WideOpenWest just picked up the DSDN service from SwitchPoint, so deployment of that technology on the WOW network is new. Unfortunately, it's their regular internet service that's always down

  7. #7
    Best In Show Noevo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    SD
    Posts
    14,188
    just tell them to make sure they keep those problems over there, lol.

    I'll still take my chances with someone other than Comcast. Thanks for the info though, I think.

  8. #8
    New Member UnderpantsGnome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    25
    I live in Illinois and i have had WOW cable service since the beginging of april, and it rocks. i am constintly hitting the cap at around 2000+ down and 500+ up. The service has not been down at all and i get very good pings. WOW service will never get as bad as comcast for 1 reason. They dont put more that 400 houses on each fiber node. And i know that in some areas there are about 1000 houses on the nodes for comcast, I would say if you have the oportunity to switch to WOW cable DO IT!!! I dont know too much about the stuff they have in denver other than that they will probably not put that kind of stuff in in the midwest for a while

  9. #9
    Best In Show Noevo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    SD
    Posts
    14,188
    okay I am now on the WOW system.

    first speed test; (from chi.speakeasy.net)
    2002-04-13 15:47:35 EST: 2042 / 433
    Your download speed : 2042079 bps, or 2042 kbps.
    Browsers would show : about a 249.2 KB/sec transfer rate.
    Your upload speed : 433902 bps, or 433 kbps.
    Seems like broadband .. above the 1mbit barrier!

    Instal went pretty well. They were here between the times they said they would be, he swore about comcast, I swore about comcast and then we did the first speedtest with WOW. 491down 63up, we then called to get me on the advanced plan like I should be (about 5mins), new speedtest see above

    friendly AND Inteligent installer. He knew of Speedguide, knows more now.

    WOW gives you 3 IP addresses for free btw. No extra charge, and they do not mind routers being hooked up. Guy was telling me to check out Direct Connect now nice to see when an installer knows about stuff like that.

    a tracert for those interested;
    Tracing route to speedguide.net [63.217.30.70]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 11 ms 11 ms 11 ms
    2 13 ms 12 ms 12 ms
    3 18 ms 20 ms 19 ms
    4 21 ms 15 ms 19 ms gbr2-p30.dtrmi.ip.att.net [12.123.139.34]
    5 23 ms 25 ms 25 ms tbr2-p012701.cgcil.ip.att.net [12.122.2.194]
    6 24 ms * * ggr1-p3100.cgcil.ip.att.net [12.122.11.210]
    7 26 ms 24 ms 24 ms att-gw.cgi.qwest.net [192.205.32.82]
    8 24 ms 22 ms 26 ms chi-core-03.inet.qwest.net [205.171.20.141]
    9 50 ms 49 ms 49 ms dca-core-03.inet.qwest.net [205.171.8.161]
    10 49 ms 48 ms 48 ms dca-edge-01.inet.qwest.net [205.171.9.86]
    11 48 ms 49 ms 49 ms pos2-0.core2.wdc.cais.net [63.216.1.54]
    12 48 ms 48 ms 48 ms pos5-0.colo1.mcl.cais.net [63.216.0.34]
    13 49 ms 47 ms 48 ms 63.217.30.70

    Trace complete.

    and a ping result;
    Pinging speedguide.net [63.217.30.70] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 63.217.30.70: bytes=32 time=50ms TTL=239
    Reply from 63.217.30.70: bytes=32 time=47ms TTL=239
    Reply from 63.217.30.70: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=239
    Reply from 63.217.30.70: bytes=32 time=48ms TTL=239

    Ping statistics for 63.217.30.70:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 46ms, Maximum = 50ms, Average = 47ms

    Posting all of this because I know someone will ask

  10. #10
    SG Enthusiast qball15j's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    3,619
    Where exactly does WOW offer service? By reading this thread I see that they base their serlves out of Colorado but I was wondering where else they offer service.

  11. #11
    Best In Show Noevo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    SD
    Posts
    14,188
    www.wideopenwest.com

    should be a link that says "availability". would post a link but now that I am on them I am getting their portal page that I don't think you would be able to see.


    EDIT: try here http://www.wideopenwest.com/00_frame_avail.html

  12. #12
    SG Enthusiast qball15j's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    3,619
    I just checked out that site, man I wish they would come farther east.

    I'm sick and tired of my modem and digital cable loosing signals. I hope some other company offers High Speed Internet at my address because i'm really about to call comcast and cancel Cable TV and get Dish Network satellite. I'm not sure about my Comcast high speed internet though. I might keep it, depending on if my modem keeps dropping off the network. The bad thing is when my modem does reconnect it won't find Comcast's DHCP server, so I can't get a IP address.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •