Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: I thought of an effective and cheap way to filter dust.

  1. #1
    Banned click_here's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    844

    Smile I thought of an effective and cheap way to filter dust.

    I have 3 80mm intake fans,and my box is on the floor>

    and in the front,there is no real good way to put the normal fan filters on>

    so for .59 cents,I went to home depot and bought a home ac/heating filter>

    and just cut a piece out,and now it filters the entire intake area!

    and it is working perfect,what do ya think?

  2. #2
    Advanced Member NuclearHeadache's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    902
    A very good idea man. Nice case too, very clean in there. You can also use dryer sheets. They smell good and most are static free.
    Those antecs are so versatile.
    AMD T-Bird 1.2 GHZ
    MSI K7T266 Pro2
    256MB PC2100 Crucial DDR
    60 GIG 7200 RPM Maxtor
    60 GIG 7200 RPM Western Digital
    32 MB Nvidia TV Out
    Creative SB Live Value
    431 watt Enermax power supply (whisper series, but with 2 fans on this power supply it's still loud as a mofo)
    Using WIndows XP Pro



    Isaiah 2:10

    Go into the rocks, hide in the ground from dread of the LORD and the splendor of his majesty!

  3. #3
    Banned click_here's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    844
    Originally posted by NuclearHeadache
    A very good idea man. Nice case too, very clean in there. You can also use dryer sheets. They smell good and most are static free.
    Those antecs are so versatile.
    thanks I really like my Antec,here are some more pics,I am a little proud of this box.




  4. #4
    Certified SG Addict Brent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    42,161
    very very sweet

    i have 2 antec sx1030b's very nice cases

    i was extremely cheap and just used a paper towel lol, it worked just fine, caught all the dust and let plenty of air through, i used a real thin one...
    "Would you mind not standing on my chest, my hats on fire." - The Doctor

  5. #5
    All Ur Base R Belong 2 Us Christopher561's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Pittsburgh,PA
    Posts
    1,766
    DAMN IT !!! i should of bought that antec at compusa for 59 bucks it was the black version of yours!
    Originally posted by Christopher561
    DoNT MESs wItH ME!!
    SG RocKS! :2cool:
    Dude thE DiScriPtion of this SmiLy is rolling on ThE FlooR.

  6. #6
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,014
    yepp antec owns!

  7. #7
    mikemean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    406
    Posts
    8,706
    I hear panty hose works good too.

  8. #8
    Banned click_here's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    844
    Originally posted by mikemean
    I hear panty hose works good too.

    thats not a bad idea either.

  9. #9
    Elite Member Jim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    13,231
    Originally posted by mikemean
    I hear panty hose works good too.
    Yeah, I'll deck my next PC out with pantyhose, and create "teh fetish" PC mod crazy...

  10. #10
    Advanced Member NuclearHeadache's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    902
    Originally posted by BIGJIMSLATE


    Yeah, I'll deck my next PC out with pantyhose, and create "teh fetish" PC mod crazy...
    AMD T-Bird 1.2 GHZ
    MSI K7T266 Pro2
    256MB PC2100 Crucial DDR
    60 GIG 7200 RPM Maxtor
    60 GIG 7200 RPM Western Digital
    32 MB Nvidia TV Out
    Creative SB Live Value
    431 watt Enermax power supply (whisper series, but with 2 fans on this power supply it's still loud as a mofo)
    Using WIndows XP Pro



    Isaiah 2:10

    Go into the rocks, hide in the ground from dread of the LORD and the splendor of his majesty!

  11. #11
    SG Enthusiast el bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    1,629
    Originally posted by exit1mile


    thanks I really like my Antec,here are some more pics,I am a little proud of this box.

    http://home.adelphia.net/~onegighz/MVC-009F.JPG

    http://home.adelphia.net/~onegighz/MVC-010F.JPG
    really nice wiring job you have there

    especially the motherboard header wires and the extra tiny card with ribbon cable above your vid card
    What's the most expensive purchase you've made on your miles/reward credit card? Starwood Preferred Guest Credit Card Application

  12. #12
    Banned click_here's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    844
    I found a material that I like even better,99 cents ,
    it's for an in-the-window ac unit,it's easier to work with

    and it is for sure thin enough>

  13. #13
    R.I.P. 02/07/1984 - 09/19/2018 Jesse23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Kenvil, NJ
    Posts
    3,750
    does it block air at all?
    i used dryer sheets and they blocked almost all
    The user formally known as jesse23

  14. #14
    Elite Member Jim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    13,231
    Filters do obstruct some of the air flowing in and out of the computer, but they also trap a crapload of dust in a very short time. I don't have any in my current computer, but I'm putting in an order for a few fan filters shortly.

  15. #15
    Banned click_here's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    844
    Originally posted by jesse23
    does it block air at all?
    i used dryer sheets and they blocked almost all
    it's minimal,it's worth it to me,the inside of my case stays alot cleaner.

  16. #16
    Uninsured for your health
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Stockton, CA
    Posts
    10,032
    Originally posted by exit1mile


    it's minimal,it's worth it to me,the inside of my case stays alot cleaner.
    I think I'll go with the AC/Heater filter...sounds like it would work better...
    Quote Originally Posted by Three Rivers Designs
    America! Love it or give it back!

  17. #17
    ****** HalfLifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Detroit, Michigan Internet: Comcast Narrowband
    Posts
    7,086
    Wheres your 3rd intake?
    Work: DQ
    Comp: AXP 1600+, MSI K7T266a Pro2 RU, 512MB PC2100, GF3 Ti200 128MB

  18. #18
    Banned click_here's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    844
    Originally posted by HalfLifer
    Wheres your 3rd intake?
    it's in the hdd rack,cooling the hdd.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •