Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Comcast Slow Downloads - Any Ideas?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    21

    Question Comcast Slow Downloads - Any Ideas?

    I'm living in Vineland, NJ (South Jersey) and am a new Comcast HSI subscriber. My download speeds aren't so hot, even though I have tweaked my registry settings (running Windows 98 SE, 500 Mhz, 192 M of RAM).

    Below is a summary of my registry settings:

    From the DSL Reports Tweak Report:

    http://monitor.dslreports.com/tweak/...8SE&via=normal

    From Speedtest.net Tweak Test:

    TCP options string = 020405b401010402

    MTU = 1500
    MTU is fully optimized for broadband.

    MSS = 1460
    Maximum useful data in each packet = 1460, which is equal to MSS.

    Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 17520
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 0 bits
    Unscaled Receive Window = 17520
    RWIN is a multiple of MSS
    Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    513920 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
    256960 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    128480 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    64240 (MSS x 44)

    bandwidth * delay product:
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 700.8 kbps (87.6 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 280.32 kbps (35.04 KBytes/s) @ 500ms
    Consider increasing your RWIN value to optimize TCP/IP for broadband.

    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON

    Time to live left = 113 hops
    TTL value is ok.

    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF

    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON

    IP type of service field (RFC1349)= 00000000

    My download/upload speeds have been reported as follows:

    From Speedtest.net:

    Test Number: 1
    Test Type: Download 1 Megabyte
    Bytes Downloaded: 1048576 bytes
    Download time: 9390 milliseconds.
    Throughput: 0.852 Mbps

    Test Number: 2
    Test Type: Upload 500 Kilobytes
    Bytes Uploaded: 512000 bytes
    Upload time: 33230 milliseconds.
    Throughput: 0.118 Mbps

    From DSL Reports (using Linkline server):

    Test running..........
    ** Speed 768(down)/234(up) kbps **
    (At least 15 times faster than a 56k modem)
    Finish.

    Any ideas from the gurus on how to tweak my settings further for better download? My upload seems to be OK, but my download is nowhere near the cap of 1500.

    Suggestions would be greatly appreciated, or am I just suffering from a slow network?

    - Wayne

  2. #2
    Senior Member earthmofo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Providence, RI USA
    Posts
    1,128
    Try downloading the SG Optimizer located here http://speedguide.net/files/TCPOptimizer.exe. Run it and select Cable Modem at the top then Optimal settings at the bottom. Apply changes and reboot then do a speed test.
    "A never ending quest for knowledge as with knowledge comes wisdom"

    Main System running Windows XP Pro: Intel Celeron 2.4 Ghz, 1 Gig Ram, 2 80 gig WD 7200 rpm HD's, Radeon 9200 Pro, Envision EN9110 19" LCD Display, HP 9500 CD-RW, D-Link DFE-530TX+ PCI Adapter, D-Link DI-704P Router, Motorola SB5100 Cable Modem with Cox HSI

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    21
    OK *blush* - now I feel stupid. I had run the TCPOptimizer before doing my previous tests... I guess I was using servers too far from my area. Using the phl.speakeasy.net server, this is my results:

    Test running..........
    ** Speed 1086(down)/123(up) kbps **
    (At least 21 times faster than a 56k modem)
    Finish.

    Guess I don't really have anything to complain about... I was using servers too far away from me...

    - Wayne

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    375
    try this one as well. www.nyc.speakeasy.net and www.bos.speakeasy.net

  5. #5
    Elite Member Lobo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Panama City, FL and a FAN of Dale Earnhardt Jr. Bud Chevy & NASCAR , and the Atlanta Braves
    Posts
    17,660
    The highest I ever got with CONcast Low speed Network was 27 times faster and I know how to make it go, so don't feel to bad, but with default RWIN of 17520 you are not going to be the best you can

  6. #6
    :SpeedDemon:
    Guest
    if Comcast transitioned you over to their new internet access service (From @home) then those are pretty much the speeds you'll get.

    Comcast has just shafted it's customers by setting major capping with this new service. I'm currently now at 400/127 down/up, far far far off from where I was just weeks ago. Sure, I might be a bitch for complaining about speeds that I'm sure many people dream of, but I'm still paying the same money for now far slower service.

    So much for the "new and improved" service they promised.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Funkytown
    Posts
    4,122
    Originally posted by :SpeedDemon:
    if Comcast transitioned you over to their new internet access service (From @home) then those are pretty much the speeds you'll get.

    Comcast has just shafted it's customers by setting major capping with this new service. I'm currently now at 400/127 down/up, far far far off from where I was just weeks ago. Sure, I might be a bitch for complaining about speeds that I'm sure many people dream of, but I'm still paying the same money for now far slower service.

    So much for the "new and improved" service they promised.
    Refer to this thread

    http://forums.speedguide.net/showthr...2&pagenumber=2

  8. #8
    Elite Member Lobo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Panama City, FL and a FAN of Dale Earnhardt Jr. Bud Chevy & NASCAR , and the Atlanta Braves
    Posts
    17,660
    Try test here, it seems to be the fastest: Right here

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •