Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Need advice with remote fan/baybus

  1. #1
    Advanced Member NuclearHeadache's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    902

    Need advice with remote fan/baybus

    I'm building a baybus with a remote fanbus. There will be no LedS attached to the baybus. Anyone have a good guide to building this. Any additional advice would be great




    AMD T-Bird 1.2 GHZ
    MSI K7T266 Pro2
    256MB PC2100 Crucial DDR
    60 GIG 7200 RPM Maxtor
    60 GIG 7200 RPM Western Digital
    32 MB Nvidia TV Out
    Creative SB Live Value
    431 watt Enermax power supply (whisper series, but with 2 fans on this power supply it's still loud as a mofo)
    Using WIndows XP Pro



    Isaiah 2:10

    Go into the rocks, hide in the ground from dread of the LORD and the splendor of his majesty!

  2. #2
    Mad Overclocker m4a2t0t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Phoenix AZ
    Posts
    3,962
    how many pins are on the backside of the switches?

    u dont want to use a capacitor with ur LED,i run mine at 12v with a 1k ohm resistor,u dont want to run the led straight off the 5v line.i'd wire the led to 12v and put in a 350ohm resistor,the resistor will drop 7v and the circuit will draw 20mA
    Will Work For FSB

  3. #3
    Advanced Member NuclearHeadache's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    902
    There's 2 pins on the switches. They're single pole switches. And the LED says 5v - 6v MAX. Is running it a 7v safe?
    AMD T-Bird 1.2 GHZ
    MSI K7T266 Pro2
    256MB PC2100 Crucial DDR
    60 GIG 7200 RPM Maxtor
    60 GIG 7200 RPM Western Digital
    32 MB Nvidia TV Out
    Creative SB Live Value
    431 watt Enermax power supply (whisper series, but with 2 fans on this power supply it's still loud as a mofo)
    Using WIndows XP Pro



    Isaiah 2:10

    Go into the rocks, hide in the ground from dread of the LORD and the splendor of his majesty!

  4. #4
    Regular Member Vesuvius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Southgate, MI
    Posts
    224
    You'll be at 5v, I think you misread his post he said "you will drop 7v" rather than BE at 7v Good luck.

  5. #5
    Mad Overclocker m4a2t0t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Phoenix AZ
    Posts
    3,962
    Originally posted by Vesuvius
    You'll be at 5v, I think you misread his post he said "you will drop 7v" rather than BE at 7v Good luck.

    the resistor will drop 7v and the led will have 5v all to itself

    u planning on running 1 fan for each switch?
    whats the speaker wire thingy for?
    Will Work For FSB

  6. #6
    Uninsured for your health
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Stockton, CA
    Posts
    10,032
    Where did you get your toggles? I'm thnking of using a toggle switch when I build my case...
    Quote Originally Posted by Three Rivers Designs
    America! Love it or give it back!

  7. #7
    Advanced Member NuclearHeadache's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    902
    Originally posted by m0a2t4t



    the resistor will drop 7v and the led will have 5v all to itself

    u planning on running 1 fan for each switch?
    whats the speaker wire thingy for?
    Thanks for the LED advice.
    Yes I plan on running one fan per switch. Actually one of the switches may control 3 small fans instead of 1 but I still have to decide.
    Oh and the speaker wire base is for the fanbus. Look here

    The fanbus at that website is just a fanbus connected to the power supply but I want mine to work with toggles as well.

    And to CiscoCert, I got the toggles at Home Depot for like 6 bucks Canadian.
    I guess nobody's ever seen a website for this type of mod.
    Oh well... Thanks anyway guys
    AMD T-Bird 1.2 GHZ
    MSI K7T266 Pro2
    256MB PC2100 Crucial DDR
    60 GIG 7200 RPM Maxtor
    60 GIG 7200 RPM Western Digital
    32 MB Nvidia TV Out
    Creative SB Live Value
    431 watt Enermax power supply (whisper series, but with 2 fans on this power supply it's still loud as a mofo)
    Using WIndows XP Pro



    Isaiah 2:10

    Go into the rocks, hide in the ground from dread of the LORD and the splendor of his majesty!

  8. #8
    Mad Overclocker m4a2t0t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Phoenix AZ
    Posts
    3,962
    how many fans do u have that u want controlled?

    so heres how i see it
    the speaker thingy connect to the 12v line on the psu,one wire goes to the switch(12V),make a wire out of the switch to the fan and then ground the fan through the speaker thingy
    Will Work For FSB

  9. #9
    Mad Overclocker m4a2t0t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Phoenix AZ
    Posts
    3,962
    Will Work For FSB

  10. #10
    Advanced Member NuclearHeadache's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    902
    Originally posted by m0a2t4t
    this may help
    Hehe Cliff's in in my favorites already but thanks.
    He sells what I want but doesn't show how to make it. Check it out here

    But I think I've figured it out. Thanks alot guys.

    BTW looks like he's using speaker wire in that pic, Do u think it is? And does it matter what guage I use of wire. I have some old speaker wire, not from my stereo but from a little computer speaker, you know the one's in the case. Do you think that's suitable to use?
    Last edited by NuclearHeadache; 02-03-02 at 03:50 PM.
    AMD T-Bird 1.2 GHZ
    MSI K7T266 Pro2
    256MB PC2100 Crucial DDR
    60 GIG 7200 RPM Maxtor
    60 GIG 7200 RPM Western Digital
    32 MB Nvidia TV Out
    Creative SB Live Value
    431 watt Enermax power supply (whisper series, but with 2 fans on this power supply it's still loud as a mofo)
    Using WIndows XP Pro



    Isaiah 2:10

    Go into the rocks, hide in the ground from dread of the LORD and the splendor of his majesty!

  11. #11
    Mad Overclocker m4a2t0t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Phoenix AZ
    Posts
    3,962
    it looks like speaker wire to me.

    i'd say wire in the 16-18 guage range should be fine,the speaker wire for the computer wire might be a little small,go to home depot and buy some,u can buy it buy the foot and u can get different colors,it's probably like 10 cents a foot.

    if i find any fanbus links ill post em
    Will Work For FSB

  12. #12
    Advanced Member NuclearHeadache's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    902
    thanks
    AMD T-Bird 1.2 GHZ
    MSI K7T266 Pro2
    256MB PC2100 Crucial DDR
    60 GIG 7200 RPM Maxtor
    60 GIG 7200 RPM Western Digital
    32 MB Nvidia TV Out
    Creative SB Live Value
    431 watt Enermax power supply (whisper series, but with 2 fans on this power supply it's still loud as a mofo)
    Using WIndows XP Pro



    Isaiah 2:10

    Go into the rocks, hide in the ground from dread of the LORD and the splendor of his majesty!

  13. #13
    Forum Techie terrancelam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada Computers Built and Fixed personally: 720
    Posts
    5,465

    Eh nuke

    just wondering, what kind of black keyboard do you have and where did you get it?(How much was it?)
    Intel Core 2 Duo Q8300 2.55Ghz (1333mhz)
    Asus P5N-D
    OCZ Platinum 8gb (2x2gb) PC8000 1000mhz 5-5-5-18
    EVGA 460GTX 1gb PCIE 2.0
    Western Digital Black 640gb x 2 Raid 0
    Coolermaster 1000W Modular PSU
    Antec NSK4480B
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

    ----------------------------------------------------------
    HP TC5700 (Thin Client) 1ghz, 512mb 80gb 1x1000mb NIC 1x100mb NIC running PFSense 1.22
    Linksys WRT-150 running DD-WRT V.24 (Access Point)

    "SG Techies rule!" - Sig Buddies with Amro

  14. #14
    Advanced Member NuclearHeadache's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    902
    It's an IBM Rapid Access keyboard with a built in volume and cd rom control. It has mute and a whole bunch of internet buttons I never use. I use the volume control a lot though.
    I got it with my old Nte Vista. Maybe you can but it through an IBM dealer. Try the BRICK haha

    AMD T-Bird 1.2 GHZ
    MSI K7T266 Pro2
    256MB PC2100 Crucial DDR
    60 GIG 7200 RPM Maxtor
    60 GIG 7200 RPM Western Digital
    32 MB Nvidia TV Out
    Creative SB Live Value
    431 watt Enermax power supply (whisper series, but with 2 fans on this power supply it's still loud as a mofo)
    Using WIndows XP Pro



    Isaiah 2:10

    Go into the rocks, hide in the ground from dread of the LORD and the splendor of his majesty!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •