Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: TCP optimiser

  1. #1
    Junior Member lowjk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    40

    Question TCP optimiser

    I am using WIN98SE and my Broadband ADSL coonection is via PPPoA protocol. I have tried to used the TCPoptimiser but is unsure of the follows:

    Under network adapter selection pull down bar, I have the followings:

    Dialup adapter, Efficient Network Virtual Miniport, Microsoft PPP over ATM adapter and Speedstream 4060 Miniport ATM/ADSL adapter.

    Which adapter should I choose when i am to tweak the connection

    My MSS = 1460 but when I ping, the largest values is 1472. Current settings for my connection is
    MTU = 1500
    MTU is fully optimized for broadband.

    MSS = 1460
    Maximum useful data in each packet = 1460, which is equal to MSS.

    Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 32120
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 0 bits
    Unscaled Receive Window = 32120
    RWIN is a multiple of MSS
    Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    513920 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
    256960 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    128480 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    64240 (MSS x 44)

    bandwidth * delay product:
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 1284.8 kbps (160.6 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 513.92 kbps (64.24 KBytes/s) @ 500ms

    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON

    Time to live left = 51 hops
    TTL value is ok.

    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF

    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON

    IP type of service field (RFC1349)= 00000000

    I hope you can advise me on how to tweak my connection speed. Thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Funkytown
    Posts
    4,122
    Pinging using what?

    I would suggest downloading SG Optimizer and use the optimal settings for dsl.
    Live to chase your dream...

  3. #3
    Elite Member Lobo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Panama City, FL and a FAN of Dale Earnhardt Jr. Bud Chevy & NASCAR , and the Atlanta Braves
    Posts
    17,660
    You are not PPPoE with MTU of 1500

    PPPoE you have to log on to the internet with username and password. (Not log on to Windows)
    PPPoE ( Point-to-Point Protocol over Ethernet ) is a method for building PPP sessions and encapsulating packets, as described in RFC2516. Although it is not a standard, PPPoE is already being used by a number of DSL providers. It requires either routers that have built-in PPPoE support, or PPPoE software to "dial up" and establish the session. You have to log on with name and password everytime you access net with PPPoE.


    Select optimal settings DSL, clicjk apply, try that then try extreme settings, DSL, Put in Tcp Recieve Window 64240

  4. #4
    Junior Member lowjk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    40
    Hi guys,

    I do need to type in my user ID and password before I can logged in into the internet. Initially I thought that my connection protocol is PPPoE, but upon confirmation from my ISP, which is located in Singapore, Singnet, they told me it is in fact PPPoA. As for what method of pinging, I use dos to ping to my ISP homepage as follows:

    ping -f -l 1472 www.singnet.com.sg

    As the highest value of mss= 1472, any values higher than that will return a "packet needs fragmented but DF set"

    By the way, I am also using TCPoptimiser. The Thing is I do not know which adapter to choose from. As you noticed from the earlier thread, there are so many adapter, so which one should I choose from. Please advice.

  5. #5
    Elite Member Lobo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Panama City, FL and a FAN of Dale Earnhardt Jr. Bud Chevy & NASCAR , and the Atlanta Braves
    Posts
    17,660
    Choose DSL

  6. #6
    Junior Member lowjk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    40
    Lobo,

    Dsl is what I have been trying, what I meant is which network adapter selection should i choose?

    1 Dialup adapter,
    2 Efficient Network Virtual Miniport,
    3 Microsoft PPP over ATM adapter
    4 Speedstream 4060 Miniport ATM/ADSL adapter.

    I have tried for the followings

    Dialup adapter - rwin = 256960 (works fine), values larger then that connection cannot be detected
    Efficient Network Virtual Miniport- not tested
    Microsoft PPP over ATM adapter - not tested
    Speedstream 4060 Miniport ATM/ADSL adapter. - values from 256960 to 513920 works fine, values 128480 and lesser, the connection is not detected by the modem

    Please advise, thanks , will be back tommorow to check your posting. Thanks

  7. #7
    Elite Member Lobo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Panama City, FL and a FAN of Dale Earnhardt Jr. Bud Chevy & NASCAR , and the Atlanta Braves
    Posts
    17,660
    Will let one of these DSL wizards answer this.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •