Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Safe Temps for Celeron 950

  1. #1
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,382

    Safe Temps for Celeron 950

    Playing with teh FSB on the Celry 950mhz
    MSI Pro 266 Master

    Boxed PRoc Retail HSF
    running @ btw 47-49C right now..
    this actually seems to be the same temp it was running originally 9.5x100




    Now
    9.5 x 106 = 1011mhz

  2. #2
    Forum Techie terrancelam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada Computers Built and Fixed personally: 720
    Posts
    5,465

    uggh

    Either you haven't correctly placed the HS/F onto the CPU correctly are they HSF is a piece of crap. The temp should be MUCH lower, at like mid to high 30's at most! You have like T-bird temperature!
    Intel Core 2 Duo Q8300 2.55Ghz (1333mhz)
    Asus P5N-D
    OCZ Platinum 8gb (2x2gb) PC8000 1000mhz 5-5-5-18
    EVGA 460GTX 1gb PCIE 2.0
    Western Digital Black 640gb x 2 Raid 0
    Coolermaster 1000W Modular PSU
    Antec NSK4480B
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

    ----------------------------------------------------------
    HP TC5700 (Thin Client) 1ghz, 512mb 80gb 1x1000mb NIC 1x100mb NIC running PFSense 1.22
    Linksys WRT-150 running DD-WRT V.24 (Access Point)

    "SG Techies rule!" - Sig Buddies with Amro

  3. #3
    Cyber Techie cy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    3,060

    Re: uggh

    Originally posted by terrancelam
    Either you haven't correctly placed the HS/F onto the CPU correctly are they HSF is a piece of crap. The temp should be MUCH lower, at like mid to high 30's at most! You have like T-bird temperature!
    agree, i have a Tbird 1.0 Ghz and it's at around 39C idle and high 40s loaded

  4. #4
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,382
    damn

    what's a good decently price heatsink for Celerons?

  5. #5
    Forum Techie terrancelam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada Computers Built and Fixed personally: 720
    Posts
    5,465

    Probably

    $30 USD should get you a decent Alpha PAL6035 with a 5400rpm fan
    Intel Core 2 Duo Q8300 2.55Ghz (1333mhz)
    Asus P5N-D
    OCZ Platinum 8gb (2x2gb) PC8000 1000mhz 5-5-5-18
    EVGA 460GTX 1gb PCIE 2.0
    Western Digital Black 640gb x 2 Raid 0
    Coolermaster 1000W Modular PSU
    Antec NSK4480B
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

    ----------------------------------------------------------
    HP TC5700 (Thin Client) 1ghz, 512mb 80gb 1x1000mb NIC 1x100mb NIC running PFSense 1.22
    Linksys WRT-150 running DD-WRT V.24 (Access Point)

    "SG Techies rule!" - Sig Buddies with Amro

  6. #6
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,382
    well before I rush off to get a new Heatsink....

    do you think it might have something to do with my PSU being only a 235 Watt..
    The PSU is running pretty hot already, and I don't have any extra case fans in there...

  7. #7
    ****** HalfLifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Detroit, Michigan Internet: Comcast Narrowband
    Posts
    7,086
    Yea, I'd get atleast a 300 Watt.
    Work: DQ
    Comp: AXP 1600+, MSI K7T266a Pro2 RU, 512MB PC2100, GF3 Ti200 128MB

  8. #8
    Forum Techie terrancelam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada Computers Built and Fixed personally: 720
    Posts
    5,465

    Unless

    the PSU is right on top of the CPU HS/F and the PSU is blocking the flow of air, along with causing a slow down in the fan on the cpu (you should check the bios or a hard ware monitor to see if it's working properly), then I might consider it.
    Intel Core 2 Duo Q8300 2.55Ghz (1333mhz)
    Asus P5N-D
    OCZ Platinum 8gb (2x2gb) PC8000 1000mhz 5-5-5-18
    EVGA 460GTX 1gb PCIE 2.0
    Western Digital Black 640gb x 2 Raid 0
    Coolermaster 1000W Modular PSU
    Antec NSK4480B
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

    ----------------------------------------------------------
    HP TC5700 (Thin Client) 1ghz, 512mb 80gb 1x1000mb NIC 1x100mb NIC running PFSense 1.22
    Linksys WRT-150 running DD-WRT V.24 (Access Point)

    "SG Techies rule!" - Sig Buddies with Amro

  9. #9
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,382
    hmm
    actually it's not..
    it's "top-mounted"

    what could else could be teh prob?


    unless
    the location of the case is

    http://forums.speedguide.net/showthr...040#post537040

    the 2nd pic

  10. #10
    Forum Techie terrancelam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada Computers Built and Fixed personally: 720
    Posts
    5,465

    Alright

    I need alittle clarity, I know that most cases with only 3 bay slots, has the PSU right over the hs/f of the CPU, which is a big no no, lots of back flow of hot air, Unless you have a slot 1 board, in which case, it's fine. (The HS/F would face and draw or push out air from an open space.

    But first I would check the HS/F and the CPU and make sure they are actually connecting and that it's not hoovering above, as at that temperature, it seems to be the case.

    Getting a new case might solve the problem of the basd air flow, but if you are using a stock HS/F, which is a utter pos, you might want to consider getting a nicer Alpha PAL 6035 (If you feel like spending cash) if not, maybe an old FOP-38 along with a lower rpm fan would do the trick just as well and less loudly.
    Intel Core 2 Duo Q8300 2.55Ghz (1333mhz)
    Asus P5N-D
    OCZ Platinum 8gb (2x2gb) PC8000 1000mhz 5-5-5-18
    EVGA 460GTX 1gb PCIE 2.0
    Western Digital Black 640gb x 2 Raid 0
    Coolermaster 1000W Modular PSU
    Antec NSK4480B
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

    ----------------------------------------------------------
    HP TC5700 (Thin Client) 1ghz, 512mb 80gb 1x1000mb NIC 1x100mb NIC running PFSense 1.22
    Linksys WRT-150 running DD-WRT V.24 (Access Point)

    "SG Techies rule!" - Sig Buddies with Amro

  11. #11
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,382
    well like I said before the PSU is not blocking the HSF

    inside of my case looks about like that..


    well I doubt the heatsink is not actually touching the proc..
    b/c it was a B!TCH to get on...the clip is VERY stiff on it..
    and the proc actually looks like a TBird..
    the core is above the rest of the proc..

  12. #12
    Forum Techie terrancelam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada Computers Built and Fixed personally: 720
    Posts
    5,465

    hmmm

    well then, different story.

    First, check to see how many RPMs your fan is running at and make sure it's not too low. If it is, it may attributed to your lower wattage PSU, in which case I would get a 300W just to be safe and a 350W to be even more safe, as there is like a $5 dollar difference in the two.

    Secondly, if the fan is running at its best, I would definately consider replacing it, as it's not working at all for your setup.
    Intel Core 2 Duo Q8300 2.55Ghz (1333mhz)
    Asus P5N-D
    OCZ Platinum 8gb (2x2gb) PC8000 1000mhz 5-5-5-18
    EVGA 460GTX 1gb PCIE 2.0
    Western Digital Black 640gb x 2 Raid 0
    Coolermaster 1000W Modular PSU
    Antec NSK4480B
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

    ----------------------------------------------------------
    HP TC5700 (Thin Client) 1ghz, 512mb 80gb 1x1000mb NIC 1x100mb NIC running PFSense 1.22
    Linksys WRT-150 running DD-WRT V.24 (Access Point)

    "SG Techies rule!" - Sig Buddies with Amro

  13. #13
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,382
    update....

    I updated/upgraded the bios; one of the fixes was
    for the Temp Monitor..

    upgraded from v1.0 to 1.4

    43C now Full Load...

    not much cooler but 6C does make a bit of a difference..

    terrance. CPU Fan is running @ 3800 RPMs

  14. #14
    Forum Techie terrancelam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada Computers Built and Fixed personally: 720
    Posts
    5,465

    Hmm

    that's not to hot, if you can, just replace the fan and get atleast a 5400 rpm fan. They aren't very loud and usually have a 27cfm base air flow, very good for cooling off celerons, but something tells me that you have a very crappy HS as well, so it might make sense to consider a better HS/F solution in all.
    Intel Core 2 Duo Q8300 2.55Ghz (1333mhz)
    Asus P5N-D
    OCZ Platinum 8gb (2x2gb) PC8000 1000mhz 5-5-5-18
    EVGA 460GTX 1gb PCIE 2.0
    Western Digital Black 640gb x 2 Raid 0
    Coolermaster 1000W Modular PSU
    Antec NSK4480B
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

    ----------------------------------------------------------
    HP TC5700 (Thin Client) 1ghz, 512mb 80gb 1x1000mb NIC 1x100mb NIC running PFSense 1.22
    Linksys WRT-150 running DD-WRT V.24 (Access Point)

    "SG Techies rule!" - Sig Buddies with Amro

  15. #15
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,382
    what's the standard size for a Heatsink Fan....

    bah better yet...

    what's a good, cheap heatsink for a Celeron..

    I wont be overclocking much at all, as I don't use this comp much and I'm quite happy with the 1gig right now..

  16. #16
    Forum Techie terrancelam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada Computers Built and Fixed personally: 720
    Posts
    5,465

    hmmm

    well personally, I wouldn't go for cheap as much as I would versatility, the Alpha PAL 6035 has gone down ALOT in price since the arrival of the vapochill four hole heat sinks, so this would be my number 1 recommendation. As for a good fan the Ys-tech 5400rpm should be nice. It's good and quiet, the total cost might be like $40usd at most.
    Intel Core 2 Duo Q8300 2.55Ghz (1333mhz)
    Asus P5N-D
    OCZ Platinum 8gb (2x2gb) PC8000 1000mhz 5-5-5-18
    EVGA 460GTX 1gb PCIE 2.0
    Western Digital Black 640gb x 2 Raid 0
    Coolermaster 1000W Modular PSU
    Antec NSK4480B
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

    ----------------------------------------------------------
    HP TC5700 (Thin Client) 1ghz, 512mb 80gb 1x1000mb NIC 1x100mb NIC running PFSense 1.22
    Linksys WRT-150 running DD-WRT V.24 (Access Point)

    "SG Techies rule!" - Sig Buddies with Amro

  17. #17
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,382
    initally I thought about just switching the fan and leaving the heatsink..

    but I don't think that's possible b/c of the way the fan is mounted on the heatsink...

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •