Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Celerons?

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Central Virginia
    Posts
    272

    Celerons?

    Hi, I recently recieved some Christmas cash, and figured my processor needed some upgrading. I have a Tyan Trinity 400 which only supports Slot 1 Pentiums, which sucks.. because I really wanted to get a cheaper AMD.

    So, now I'm faced with the decision to buy a Celeron, PIII, or IIII. I have no clue which to buy, except celerons are much cheaper. Computersupersale.com has a 1ghz celeron (http://www.computersupersale.com/sho...sp_Q_id_E_7206) for 66 bucks, and even if it is OEM, if it works I'd be happy.

    They also have a 1ghz III (http://www.computersupersale.com/sho...sp_Q_id_E_1236) which is $135, obviously I'd like to go for the cheaper of the two, but I'm not sure about which would be better for me.

    I run a dual boot of 2k and 98, and am pretty happy with my current preformance with my PIII 667, just wanted to be ontop of things though.

    Also, I hear celerons are easier to overclock, so i'd like to think about that.

    If anyone can help me decide or make any suggestions, evaluations, etc... please reply!

    Thanks,

    X

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    8,073
    all procs of the intel vain are multiplier locked now anyway so the obvious choice is the P3. The celeron runs at 66mhz fsb and the p3 runs at 133fsb.
    She's presenting like a mandrill!

  3. #3
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,382
    Originally posted by 64bit
    all procs of the intel vain are multiplier locked now anyway so the obvious choice is the P3. The celeron runs at 66mhz fsb and the p3 runs at 133fsb.
    not sure when they started it but the newer celerons run @100mhz
    they mighta started it around 800mhz Cely's

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    8,073
    yep your right. I guess I just looked at the link http://www.computersupersale.com/sh...asp_Q_id_E_7206 and that stuck in my mind. And I have a 850 celery in a box here doh!!
    She's presenting like a mandrill!

  5. #5
    Reigning Genious aagiants's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    5,941
    yes they run at 100 FBS after 800 MHZ.
    .....

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Central Virginia
    Posts
    272
    LOL, so this means...? Celeron or PIII? Any drawbacks to the Celeron, like will it be worse than my PIII 667?

    X

  7. #7
    Fallen Angel Thor Walez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    NRW, Germany
    Posts
    1,166
    Perhaps consider to build a cheap DUAL system...
    2* Celly 1ghz or higher
    Tyan or Abit Dual mobo
    1GB SDRAM CL2 (perhaps use your old SDRAM!) save $$$
    GF3 ti200 and oc it !!!
    40GB IBM GXP60 (or 2* with raid 0)
    cheap 5.1 CL soundcard
    17" CRT ...

    for low $$$

    Thatīs what I would try ...
    The dual system will be cheaper than an Athlon XP1900+ with 512MB DDR and a KT266A mobo!!! And you will have SMP


    -Thor

    PS: Today I am lead by the "Dual" force

    PPS: You will notice no more FPS in rtcw, q3 nore any other game while using a celly 1.1ghz or Athlon XP 1900+. Itīs the GPU which is todays bottleneck (in most [99.999%] Games).
    Just another thought, I would have bought me a SMP a year ago but all my friends have dissuaded from that because they diddnīt know it
    1st rig:
    Abit NF7-S v2.0(!) nforce2 | AMD XP2500+ Barton @2.4Ghz 12*200mhz | TYAN Tachyon Radeon9500pro ocīed | 2*256MB DDR400 cl2.5 TwinMos -winbond- @ DC DDR400 3-2-2-2.0 | 2*120 GB Seagate Barracuda V *8MB Cache* S-ATA in RAID0 *woooo*| Pioneer DVD-RW A-05 | LG 48x24x48x16 CD-RW-DVD Combo | win2k pro SP4 |

    2nd Rig:
    Abit KD7 KT400 | XP2400+ @XP2700+ (333) | Geforce4 128MB TI4200 ocīed | 512MB PC3000 Corsair XMS CL2 | 60 GB Seagate Barracuda IV | Seagate ST340823A 40GB 5.4krpm | Pioneer DVD-106S | det.52.16 | win2kpro SP4 |
    3rd Rig
    *** SOLD *** --> preparing to go AMD 64bit in far future after paying off my RX8

    http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=340755603 NEW!!!!
    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7717862
    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=2262168 NEW!!!!


    Be evil and fold some unholy proteins... crunch a unit!
    How you can help us to fold!

    Folding buddy with SeedOfChaos, as The Fallen Angels. 100% unholy AMD Power.

  8. #8
    Fallen Angel Thor Walez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    NRW, Germany
    Posts
    1,166
    Originally posted by exesion
    LOL, so this means...? Celeron or PIII? Any drawbacks to the Celeron, like will it be worse than my PIII 667?

    X
    A Dual 666 666 would be GREAT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    1st rig:
    Abit NF7-S v2.0(!) nforce2 | AMD XP2500+ Barton @2.4Ghz 12*200mhz | TYAN Tachyon Radeon9500pro ocīed | 2*256MB DDR400 cl2.5 TwinMos -winbond- @ DC DDR400 3-2-2-2.0 | 2*120 GB Seagate Barracuda V *8MB Cache* S-ATA in RAID0 *woooo*| Pioneer DVD-RW A-05 | LG 48x24x48x16 CD-RW-DVD Combo | win2k pro SP4 |

    2nd Rig:
    Abit KD7 KT400 | XP2400+ @XP2700+ (333) | Geforce4 128MB TI4200 ocīed | 512MB PC3000 Corsair XMS CL2 | 60 GB Seagate Barracuda IV | Seagate ST340823A 40GB 5.4krpm | Pioneer DVD-106S | det.52.16 | win2kpro SP4 |
    3rd Rig
    *** SOLD *** --> preparing to go AMD 64bit in far future after paying off my RX8

    http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=340755603 NEW!!!!
    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7717862
    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=2262168 NEW!!!!


    Be evil and fold some unholy proteins... crunch a unit!
    How you can help us to fold!

    Folding buddy with SeedOfChaos, as The Fallen Angels. 100% unholy AMD Power.

  9. #9
    Fallen Angel Thor Walez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    NRW, Germany
    Posts
    1,166
    Originally posted by exesion
    LOL, so this means...? Celeron or PIII? Any drawbacks to the Celeron, like will it be worse than my PIII 667?

    X
    A Dual 666 666 would be GREAT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    1st rig:
    Abit NF7-S v2.0(!) nforce2 | AMD XP2500+ Barton @2.4Ghz 12*200mhz | TYAN Tachyon Radeon9500pro ocīed | 2*256MB DDR400 cl2.5 TwinMos -winbond- @ DC DDR400 3-2-2-2.0 | 2*120 GB Seagate Barracuda V *8MB Cache* S-ATA in RAID0 *woooo*| Pioneer DVD-RW A-05 | LG 48x24x48x16 CD-RW-DVD Combo | win2k pro SP4 |

    2nd Rig:
    Abit KD7 KT400 | XP2400+ @XP2700+ (333) | Geforce4 128MB TI4200 ocīed | 512MB PC3000 Corsair XMS CL2 | 60 GB Seagate Barracuda IV | Seagate ST340823A 40GB 5.4krpm | Pioneer DVD-106S | det.52.16 | win2kpro SP4 |
    3rd Rig
    *** SOLD *** --> preparing to go AMD 64bit in far future after paying off my RX8

    http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=340755603 NEW!!!!
    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7717862
    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=2262168 NEW!!!!


    Be evil and fold some unholy proteins... crunch a unit!
    How you can help us to fold!

    Folding buddy with SeedOfChaos, as The Fallen Angels. 100% unholy AMD Power.

  10. #10
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,013
    the celeron 1ghz and up also offer much more cache, which the older celerons lack!

  11. #11
    Advanced Member the_mp3_refuge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Albertsons
    Posts
    967
    DON'T GET A CELERON YET! The current celerons have 128KB L2 cache which is the major downside of current cerlerons. After Jan. 3rd I think intel will release the "Celeron 2" which has more or less the PIII Tultian core. It will run at 1.1 to 1.3Ghz. Plus it will have 256 L2 cache. It's not PIV or AMD XP1600 killer but it should performe nicley. I'm probably get one to push my 8500 along nice. And the're intels buget cpu so it'll save ya some money. Hope that helps.

    Bob
    "To give anything less than your best is to sacrifice the Gift."--Steve Prefontaine

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •