Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Another "which mobo should I get" post...

  1. #1
    Advanced Member crazyjw1971's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Clinton MD, USA
    Posts
    759

    Another "which mobo should I get" post...

    Unfortunately, my Asus A7V133 died (maybe my fault?) and this Jetway 867AS is pissing me off a little. I want to get another Asus but I cant decide which one.

    A7V266E (via chipset): Im assuming it will be the one with the most stability.

    A7N266E (NVIDIA chipset): Not familiar with this chipset at all.

    A7M266D (AMD chipset): Is this chipset any good?

    Please help me out. I want the stability I had with the A7V133, but I love DDR. Help me get away from the Jetway POS!
    U.S. Department of Agriculture I.T. Specialist
    Ducks, chickens, pigs, and mad cows need computers too!
    A+, Net+, MCDST

  2. #2
    ****** HalfLifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Detroit, Michigan Internet: Comcast Narrowband
    Posts
    7,086
    Nvidia, then via, then AMD.
    Work: DQ
    Comp: AXP 1600+, MSI K7T266a Pro2 RU, 512MB PC2100, GF3 Ti200 128MB

  3. #3
    Advanced Member crazyjw1971's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Clinton MD, USA
    Posts
    759

    Ford! Yuk! Im a Chevy Boy!

    Are the Nvidia chipsets as stable or more stable than the VIA chipsets?

    Man I gotta get away from this Jetway!
    U.S. Department of Agriculture I.T. Specialist
    Ducks, chickens, pigs, and mad cows need computers too!
    A+, Net+, MCDST

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    12

    Re: Ford! Yuk! Im a Chevy Boy!

    Originally posted by crazyjw1971
    Are the Nvidia chipsets as stable or more stable than the VIA chipsets?
    VIA is more stable. have you consider an ESC k7vtar?
    that's what i'm using for my amd xp 1700 and it's working just fine.
    Windows XP Professional
    Athlon XP 1700+ (1.47GHz) on ECS K7VTA3 V2.x
    40 GB 7200RPM WD HDD
    512MB of PC2100 RAM
    NVIDIA TNT2 M64 32MB AGP
    52X CD-ROM
    10X CD-RW
    Cable modem

  5. #5
    Mad Overclocker m4a2t0t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Phoenix AZ
    Posts
    3,962
    the n-force board has onboard GF2 graphics,dolby 5.1 and LAN
    VIA makes a good chipset and i havent tried a mobo with the AMD chipset so i couldnt tell ya how stable it is

    i personally would try the n-force board
    Will Work For FSB

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •