Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: newer mobos..

  1. #1

    newer mobos..

    do newer mobos for amds have agp or pci slots?

  2. #2
    Game Freak Gaming-Module's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,987
    both
    agp for graphics boards
    pci for sound, nics, etc

  3. #3
    will they support my scsi controller that i use now?

  4. #4
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,382
    Originally posted by blue_mosquit0o
    will they support my scsi controller that i use now?

    what scsi controller do u use now?

  5. #5
    Game Freak Gaming-Module's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,987
    Yep. It should if the mobo has a PCI slot.

    That is sarcasm for yes, by the way.

  6. #6
    LSI Logic 53C810 Device is my scsi controller

  7. #7
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,382
    Originally posted by blue_mosquit0o
    LSI Logic 53C810 Device is my scsi controller
    MM basically answered your Q.
    if it's a PCI Card it will most likely work,,

  8. #8
    how can i tell if its PCI Card ???
    why might it not work if it is????

  9. #9
    ill ask my neighbour cuz be put this pc together and hes a computer tech....thx for ur help

  10. #10
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,382
    Originally posted by blue_mosquit0o
    ill ask my neighbour cuz be put this pc together and hes a computer tech....thx for ur help
    open teh case of your comp.

    if it's in a long black slot it's an ISA SCSI Card, most if not all newer motherboards don't have ISA Slots anymore..

  11. #11
    dont the newer asus mobos support isa too?

  12. #12
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,382
    depends on what mobo you're looking at..

    but looking @ this site
    http://www.asus.com/products/Motherboard/index.html

    it doesn't look like, any of the ones they have there have ISA Slots
    they're Slot 1 boards might have one or two ISA Slots built in, but they're all older mobobs

  13. #13
    Heathen AMPLIFRIER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    1,641
    ISA is all but totally gone

    last 3 mobo's ive bought dont have ISA slots.

    like Bala said....isa is long and black pci is shorter and white or beige

    agp is the uppermost slot and will be a different legnth the the pci slots

    AMP
    Gigabyte ga-7n400 pro nForce2 mobo, Athlon XP3200, thermalright slk900, 1 gig corsair pc3200 cas2, radeon 9800pro, SB Audigy 2 ZS
    case= yeong yang YY-B0221 server cube,550 watt Antec true power,1 wd raptor 74 gig,1 34gig raptor (page) 2 wd 120gig se's raid 1, 1 120gig se. WIN xp Pro, Dual display samsung syncmaster 1100df 21in(Primary) Samsung syncmaster 955df 19in (secondary)".

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •