Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: STILL in XP hell

  1. #1
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,865

    STILL in XP hell

    Many many days, still no CDROMs in XP setup.

    Any ideas?

    http://forums.speedguide.net/showthr...663#post497663

  2. #2
    Official Photographer Dakota's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Vancouver, Wa
    Posts
    5,694
    You hold the record for the computer least likely to be upgraded to XP. I'd go back to 98 if I was you. You have some bad stuff happening there.
    We Remember...
    9|11
    40 miles SW of Mt. St. Helens

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    8,073
    I might have read that all wrong but have you tried just installing without pressing F6 at startup. You should not need to as XP has drivers for the HPT controller.
    She's presenting like a mandrill!

  4. #4
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,865
    Originally posted by BlueJetta
    You hold the record for the computer least likely to be upgraded to XP. I'd go back to 98 if I was you. You have some bad stuff happening there.
    Trying to dual boot actually, so nothing to go back to.

    And when it was on there, it was running great (last week with a different hardware configuration).

  5. #5
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,865
    Originally posted by 64bit
    I might have read that all wrong but have you tried just installing without pressing F6 at startup. You should not need to as XP has drivers for the HPT controller.
    Oh yes. Still no CDROM. I've read that too, but am not sure if it covers the older boards (ABIT BE6, HPT366).

  6. #6
    SG Enthusiast Duzmor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Pennsylvania U.S.A
    Posts
    3,876
    There was a post about XP and CDROM problem - It was seen on Tech Tv- The fix is remove from devise mgr and re- boot

    Duzmor
    (The Protection of all with the Wadget Eye)
    (Never Trust Intel To Do AMD'S Job)

  7. #7
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,865
    Originally posted by Duzmor
    There was a post about XP and CDROM problem - It was seen on Tech Tv- The fix is remove from devise mgr and re- boot

    Duzmor
    Thanks for the response, but no. Both the CDROM and CDRW show up fine in 98SE, so there's no need to take them out of Device Manager.

    That tip might work to get them to show up in XP, but since they don't show up in the XP setup I can't try it. What I'm trying to do is get them to show up for the XP setup, so I can install XP.

  8. #8
    Banned CompGeek83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Galax, VA, USA Rival Websites Started: 1
    Posts
    1,513
    Originally posted by 64bit
    I might have read that all wrong but have you tried just installing without pressing F6 at startup. You should not need to as XP has drivers for the HPT controller.
    i tried that, but it never worked for me, neither did the win2k drivers that highpoint said would work fine with xp, i had to use regular ide only until they released the drivers

  9. #9
    Forum Techie terrancelam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada Computers Built and Fixed personally: 720
    Posts
    5,465

    In XP

    if you can get it to boot from the CD-rom, the XP installation disk should run generic drivers in the firstplace for your devices to run.

    But your right, you should get a system that you can work with and get it running. BTW Humbolt have you upgraded this board yet?
    Intel Core 2 Duo Q8300 2.55Ghz (1333mhz)
    Asus P5N-D
    OCZ Platinum 8gb (2x2gb) PC8000 1000mhz 5-5-5-18
    EVGA 460GTX 1gb PCIE 2.0
    Western Digital Black 640gb x 2 Raid 0
    Coolermaster 1000W Modular PSU
    Antec NSK4480B
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

    ----------------------------------------------------------
    HP TC5700 (Thin Client) 1ghz, 512mb 80gb 1x1000mb NIC 1x100mb NIC running PFSense 1.22
    Linksys WRT-150 running DD-WRT V.24 (Access Point)

    "SG Techies rule!" - Sig Buddies with Amro

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •