Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Radeon Question.

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    133

    Radeon Question.

    Hi all, I am considering a video card upgrade and I have a rather specific question about the radeon cards. My expert 2000 has an option for "composite sync" output in the advanced driver options under the displays tab. I need this function for my monitor to work correctly. If you have this card and can check this, or know if the gforce series supports this feature please let me know. -matt

  2. #2
    Advanced Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    vancouver, wa
    Posts
    797
    The Radeon 64MB DDR VIVO has it I think and am pretty sure that the all the other cards, even VE and LE have that. You'll love the IQ on the card.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    133

    Smile

    Thank you very much. Anyone else? How about the other card series or the newer radeons (7500, 8500)? -matt

  4. #4
    Advanced Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    vancouver, wa
    Posts
    797
    If any of those cards don't have it, it's probably the 7500. The 7500 but I'm pretty srue it has it.

  5. #5
    Game Freak Gaming-Module's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,987
    THE 8500 IS THE PERSONAL VIDEO CARD OF JESUS, SOLDIER.

    YOU WOULD MAKE YOUR C.O. PROUD BY MARCHING YOURSELF TO YOUR NEAREST RETAILER AND PURCHASING THIS CARD.

    REMEMBER, TINKER BELL. REAL MEN USE RADEONS!!!

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    8,585
    I dont see how any card of today wouldnt have that.. and if it doesnt use powerstrip to force it.

    ииии



    ииии

  7. #7
    Game Freak Gaming-Module's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,987
    whump

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    133

    Smile

    Thanks to all who responded. Just to be clear, I am looking for cards which supply a composite sync signal to the monitor (like h or v sync), not composite video in/out. I know ati used to have this in their drivers (expert 2000), but need to make sure they still do for the newer radeon cards before i plonk down $200. -matt

  9. #9
    Forum Techie terrancelam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada Computers Built and Fixed personally: 720
    Posts
    5,465

    Well

    not sure how much this helps you, but their new composite out is a bit different. From my understanding, it limits the mhz rating to 80 I believe and the screen size to 800x600 if you use it.
    Intel Core 2 Duo Q8300 2.55Ghz (1333mhz)
    Asus P5N-D
    OCZ Platinum 8gb (2x2gb) PC8000 1000mhz 5-5-5-18
    EVGA 460GTX 1gb PCIE 2.0
    Western Digital Black 640gb x 2 Raid 0
    Coolermaster 1000W Modular PSU
    Antec NSK4480B
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

    ----------------------------------------------------------
    HP TC5700 (Thin Client) 1ghz, 512mb 80gb 1x1000mb NIC 1x100mb NIC running PFSense 1.22
    Linksys WRT-150 running DD-WRT V.24 (Access Point)

    "SG Techies rule!" - Sig Buddies with Amro

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    133
    That sounds like composite video out. If you have a composite sync option in the driver and activate it for a monitor that can't use it (most pc monitors), it should blank your screen (like powersave mode). For my expert 2000, the option is in the advanced display properties -> displays -> monitor -> hsync, vsync, composite (check or uncheck) -matt

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    133
    Anyone with an 8500, 7500 or just plain Radeon want to take a quick look? -matt

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    133
    bump

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •