Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: Give me some ideas , about the best board for one PIII 1G

  1. #1
    Pro Tech syncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Greece - Europe - Planet Earth..
    Posts
    2,389

    Give me some ideas , about the best board for one PIII 1G

    I have really start thinking to swap motherboard , i have a FCPGA chip , so it will not be hard to find one .

    But all this 815 and VIA solutions looks too averige in skors .

    My needs is not the high skors , at list more high than what i have with the ABIT BE6-II .

    I am looking for AGPx4 support , PCI 2.2 support , and also i like to keep my curent SDRAM that is fine quality Micron cas 2 .
    The stability in 133 bus , is a waranty with all this new boards , thats why i do not say anything about that .

    I do not need Raid, so i do not mind about it .

    So give me some ideas .

    The cost is not an object ...

  2. #2
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,382

    Re: Give me some ideas , about the best board for one PIII 1G

    Originally posted by syncmaster
    The cost is not an object ...



    I wish I could say that..

  3. #3
    Forum Techie terrancelam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada Computers Built and Fixed personally: 720
    Posts
    5,465

    Sync

    What is your current board and is it that bad?
    Intel Core 2 Duo Q8300 2.55Ghz (1333mhz)
    Asus P5N-D
    OCZ Platinum 8gb (2x2gb) PC8000 1000mhz 5-5-5-18
    EVGA 460GTX 1gb PCIE 2.0
    Western Digital Black 640gb x 2 Raid 0
    Coolermaster 1000W Modular PSU
    Antec NSK4480B
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

    ----------------------------------------------------------
    HP TC5700 (Thin Client) 1ghz, 512mb 80gb 1x1000mb NIC 1x100mb NIC running PFSense 1.22
    Linksys WRT-150 running DD-WRT V.24 (Access Point)

    "SG Techies rule!" - Sig Buddies with Amro

  4. #4
    Pro Tech syncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Greece - Europe - Planet Earth..
    Posts
    2,389
    Well my curent board is not bad at all , but because i wan to stick with the PIII 1G , for the next 3 years , i am trying to find out the most modern motherboard for it .

    Intel haves averige chips for it , the 840 looks fine but it works with Rambus ..
    I liked the idea of getting a 840 based board with dual prosesors.
    But this Rambus , is what keeps me away from it .

    I need one board almost fast , with one that i have , and more stable , over the 133 MHz .

    Slot 1 or FCPGA is not a broblem , i have a fine MSI slotket , and the CPU is FCPGA2 .
    About the FCPGA2 most boards will support and the FCPGA , and vise versa .

  5. #5
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    51,112
    ASUS CUSL2-C is held as one of the most stable rock solid socket 370 boards...
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  6. #6
    Pro Tech syncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Greece - Europe - Planet Earth..
    Posts
    2,389
    I will check it

  7. #7
    Pro Tech syncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Greece - Europe - Planet Earth..
    Posts
    2,389
    With reviews like that , i fill paine in my hart

    http://www.trainwrecker.com/Reviews/CUSL2C/CUSL2C_1.htm


    I know that there is not many roads to follow ...
    Any way i am still thinking of it .

  8. #8
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,013
    i like the abit bx133 raid from what i heard

  9. #9
    R.I.P. 2018-07-16 RoundEye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    In a dry but moldy New Orleans, Louisiana
    Posts
    18,219
    Originally posted by syncmaster
    With reviews like that , i fill paine in my hart

    http://www.trainwrecker.com/Reviews/CUSL2C/CUSL2C_1.htm


    I know that there is not many roads to follow ...
    Any way i am still thinking of it .
    I've built about ten computers with that board. All of them had Win2K and two had Win2K Server. I had no problems at all loading Win2K and the servers have been on now for about three months with out a reboot, except for when the power went off. For some reason the UPS didn't work right.

    I only had one bad board so far, it would lose the IDE channels sometimes on a reboot, during the install of Win2K.

    I think they are great boards. If I was building an Intel system that's the board I'd use.
    Sliding down the banister of life ..........................

  10. #10
    Advanced Member MagicMikey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    617
    CUSL2? Agreed...

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    133
    If you're going to build with an 815 chipset, why not use an abit-st6 or asus-tusl2-c? That way you'll have some sort of an upgrade path. -matt

  12. #12
    Pro Tech syncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Greece - Europe - Planet Earth..
    Posts
    2,389
    Anand gives some extra points to the similar Soyo SY-TISU .

    Voltages and tweaks , that ASUS do not have .

    I will check this Soyo SY-TISU in detail .

  13. #13
    Pro Tech syncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Greece - Europe - Planet Earth..
    Posts
    2,389
    FSB frequency to between 66MHz and 255MHz in 1MHz increments
    What the hell !!!
    http://active-hardware.com/english/r...rd/sy-tisu.htm

  14. #14
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    51,112
    It's a top rated board, you'll see it under the hood of machines built by people who really get into using top notch hardware and know how to build rock stable and fast system. I dunno what was up with that trainwrecker writeup, never used that site for reviews. For speed and stability....the Asus boards rock! You'll never see me posting why I get blue screens. And for speed, my buddy has his running on a 156 or 158 FSB...a PIII 700 something running in the upper 900's. Going on two years of rock stable.

    I'm on my second one...sold my first one when I got a good deal on my limited edition Black Pearl model. Rock stable, and a PIII 1.0 pulling 5800 - 5900 in 3DMark 2001...heh.

    The one thing I'll say....doesn't like the FSB up too high if you have a GF3 card....and it's tight around the CPU socket for some larger diameter heat sinks....gotta be carefull putting them on.


    Like Bunson said...the tusl2 is the newer version...I'd go with that.

    http://www.anandtech.com/showdoc.html?i=1274

    http://www.ocworkbench.com/hardware/...c/cusl2cp7.htm

    http://www.active-hardware.com/engli...rd/cusl2-c.htm

    http://www.rojakpot.com/Reviews/ASUS...CUSL2-C_01.htm
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    8,073
    I like the Abit VH6II. I have already built a system around a celeron with it and jsut today finally got my case so I can use this PIII600E I have layin around to go at it again. Im not in to OC'in all that much but it has the SoftIII menu for all your needs. No raid, but these aren't Server Boxes either. Only draw back is you have to do the 4in1 shuffle for win2k with an AGP card (who cares). On board sound is included but also easily disabled (AC97). Nice board.
    She's presenting like a mandrill!

  16. #16
    Pro Tech syncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Greece - Europe - Planet Earth..
    Posts
    2,389
    YeOldeStonecat

    I trust your words ,and all this reviews , i am close to one solution like yours , i just looking for the most modern solution ,and with the less problems .

    I am reading lots of reviews , but most i am looking this fresh boards , like 1 month form the production line, hopping that i will find something that it will last more in time .
    I know that the clock of the technology runs with grazy timming , but i must try to stay tuned with it as long is possible.

    Now , one last question , about this new SOYO VS the ASUS .

    I think that SOYO looks like a very promising board , but because, i had add SOYO in my black list , because of the previews not that great boards , i do not know if they have good BIOS updates rates .
    ABIT was good to that , about ASUS i do not know , i have read that theyr BIOS updates ,comes from theyr FTP in Germany or so .

    In the next 24 hours i will check for the prices ,and availiability in the Greek market, of both .

    There is one similar new board from ABIT too ,i do not know the model .

    I will look more deeper in all of them .
    The good part is that my final desition ,will not be made by blind passion in computers hardware , i will take the board that really haves something spesial on it .

  17. #17
    Pro Tech syncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Greece - Europe - Planet Earth..
    Posts
    2,389
    By INTEL ..
    The 815 chipset may contain design defects or errors known as errata which may cause the product to deviate from published specifications. Current characterized errata are available on request.
    Does any one known , what is the last production version of the INTEL 815 ??


    As about the motherboard selection issue , why no one said that only the ASUS CUSL2 supports AGP Pro !!!!
    hahahaaaaaa , that is by it self ,the best reason to get this ASUS board , as the performance in the top 3 boards of the 815 list is in the same level ..

  18. #18
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    133
    Again, if you're going with an 815 solution, get the tusl2-c. It's the same as the cusl2, but adds support for the new p3/celeron. I believe the lasest is the 815ep b step. -matt

  19. #19
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    133
    Should be 'latest is the 815ep b step'. -matt

  20. #20
    Banned Phantom-Vortex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Where im at
    Posts
    552
    Originally posted by syncmaster
    Well my curent board is not bad at all , but because i wan to stick with the PIII 1G , for the next 3 years , i am trying to find out the most modern motherboard for it .

    Intel haves averige chips for it , the 840 looks fine but it works with Rambus ..
    I liked the idea of getting a 840 based board with dual prosesors.
    But this Rambus , is what keeps me away from it .

    I need one board almost fast , with one that i have , and more stable , over the 133 MHz .

    Slot 1 or FCPGA is not a broblem , i have a fine MSI slotket , and the CPU is FCPGA2 .
    About the FCPGA2 most boards will support and the FCPGA , and vise versa .

    I will sell ya my Iwill dvd 266 ,dual 1 ghz mobo with a gig of ddr!!!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •