Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: Problem with my CD-ROM and CD-Burner(WinXP)

  1. #1
    Advanced Member ARS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Panhandle, FL
    Posts
    916

    Problem with my CD-ROM and CD-Burner(WinXP)

    Ok, I have WindowsXP Professional, ATAPI CDROM, and a HP CD-writer 9500 Series.

    They were showing up just fine, until I loaded my software to burn CD with (came with the cd burner), and now they do not show up in My Computer. I go into the Device Manager and they both have exclamation marks beside them. When I try to update them, it say's it cannot. I unistalled them and reinstalled them, they just do not work.

    The ATAPI CDROM does not read music cd's, nor regular cd's. Any help is appreciated.

    Thanks and have a nice night,

    Anthony

  2. #2
    Advanced Member MagicMikey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    617
    Perhaps you should try some firmware updates...

  3. #3
    ♫♪ ♫♪ ♫♪ ♫♪ downhill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    My Own Private Idaho
    Posts
    34,805
    More info...what software was it? Have you tried uninstalling the software and seeing what happens. Just a shot in the dark. You may need to also uninstall the cdrom and burner and reinstall.
    The tools of conquest do not necessarily come with bombs and explosions and fallout. There are weapons that are simply thoughts, attitudes, and prejudices to be found only in the minds of men. For the record, prejudices can kill and suspicion can destroy and a thoughtless, frightened search for a scapegoat has a fallout all of its own for the children and the children yet unborn and the pity of it is that these things cannot be confined to the Twilight Zone.

  4. #4
    Advanced Member MagicMikey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    617
    Do they show up in My Computer? I don't know exactly what that's called in XP but I'm sure you all know what I mean?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    6,471
    are you using Nero version 5 or higher? it's a known problem, happened to me, and others.

    Read here, hopefully that will help.
    http://www.dblclan.net/BetaNet/cgi-b...c&f=3&t=000691

  6. #6
    Advanced Member ARS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Panhandle, FL
    Posts
    916
    Thanks for ALL the replies ya'll. I tried to reply with some answers in the morning, but my cable kept going off and I had to head out to a few classes.

    Anyways,"are you using Nero version 5 or higher?"
    -No, I am using (came with my cd-burner) MyHP 3.0, I think that is what it is called. Not sure. I had 2.5 ay first, but that also didn't work, so I ended up upgrading to 3.0, which also doesn't work.


    "what software was it? Have you tried uninstalling the software and seeing what happens. Just a shot in the dark. You may need to also uninstall the cdrom and burner and reinstall."
    -MyHP 3.0 and 2.5 were both tried. I have uninstalled and reinstalled countless of times. I also uninstalled both and reinstalled them. Nothing happened, not even an error, suprisingly.


    "Perhaps you should try some firmware updates..."
    -Give me some info on firmware pls.. I don't know much about it.


    Thanks for all the replies and help,

    Anthony

  7. #7
    Advanced Member MagicMikey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    617
    I found this:

    http://www.hp.com/cposupport/informa.../lpg40447.html

    Windows XP-compatible CD recording software is needed to allow the drive to write to CD-R and CD-RW media.
    Of course when you go to download the software, it isn't available since the Web site isn't up to date yet and still claims that Windows XP isn't out yet...

  8. #8
    Advanced Member ARS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Panhandle, FL
    Posts
    916
    Originally posted by MagicMikey
    I found this:

    http://www.hp.com/cposupport/informa.../lpg40447.html



    Of course when you go to download the software, it isn't available since the Web site isn't up to date yet and still claims that Windows XP isn't out yet...

    Thanks for the info, but I've tore that site up looking for something that will help me. Thanks for the reply though.

    Any help is appreciated


    Anthony

  9. #9
    Advanced Member ARS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Panhandle, FL
    Posts
    916
    Originally posted by MagicMikey
    I found this:

    http://www.hp.com/cposupport/informa.../lpg40447.html



    Of course when you go to download the software, it isn't available since the Web site isn't up to date yet and still claims that Windows XP isn't out yet...

    Thanks for the info, but I've tore that site up looking for something that will help me. Thanks for the reply though.

    Any help is appreciated,


    Anthony

  10. #10
    Advanced Member MagicMikey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    617
    Heh, you might want to try the Software forum as all the XP users hang out there and most of them know about all the little bugs and fixes XP comes with...

    Good luck!

  11. #11
    ♫♪ ♫♪ ♫♪ ♫♪ downhill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    My Own Private Idaho
    Posts
    34,805
    Ok let me ask you, when you uninstall the software, do they show back up? Or no matter what you do, have they disappeared forever?
    The tools of conquest do not necessarily come with bombs and explosions and fallout. There are weapons that are simply thoughts, attitudes, and prejudices to be found only in the minds of men. For the record, prejudices can kill and suspicion can destroy and a thoughtless, frightened search for a scapegoat has a fallout all of its own for the children and the children yet unborn and the pity of it is that these things cannot be confined to the Twilight Zone.

  12. #12
    Advanced Member ARS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Panhandle, FL
    Posts
    916
    Originally posted by downhill
    Ok let me ask you, when you uninstall the software, do they show back up? Or no matter what you do, have they disappeared forever?
    I am not sure what you are asking, but I'll try to answer before I hit the hay

    Ok, I went into the Device Manager and uninstalled both that way, and then reinstalled them. Nothing Happened.
    I did it again and when I tried to install the CDROM, it said it needed some files from the WinXP CD, but I cannot used my cdrom to read the files that it needs because it isn't loaded yet.
    If anyone can send me "imapi.sys" off of there WinXP Professional CD would be much appreciated. (that is the file it asks for from WinXP CD)

    But, I also checked inside the case and unplugged them and plugged them back in and yadda yadda yadda, nothing happened.

    Ok, I am also getting that I need imapi.sys for my HP Burner also. Don't know why it is saying it now, but it is, maybe that's a good sign.

    If someone could send me imapi.sys, I'd be happy! PM me if ya can.


    Ah, hope this works
    Thanks for all the help,

    Anthony

    (Will be up for anonther 30 minutes now)

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    6,471
    I sent you that file ARS, from my Juno mail account, hopefully that helps you out.

  14. #14
    Advanced Member ARS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Panhandle, FL
    Posts
    916
    Much Appreciated there Doug. It all loaded up fine, but I get this after I loaded up the CDROM:
    Windows successfully loaded the device driver for this hardware but cannot find the hardware device. (Code 41)
    Any idea what this means? I am taking it that the hardware(my cdrom) is not plugged in. I am looking at it now, and it is fine-and-dandy down there. Don't know what else to do, other than pull my hair out

    Thanks for the file though, all thought it loaded up fine, still get that ol' error

  15. #15
    NYC Newbie Slayer Prey521's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Humble, Tx
    Posts
    34,932
    Do you have the latest ASPI drivers? I had the same problem and after I installed the latest one, it fixed them. Let me know if you need it, I have ForceASPI
    Have your feelings been hurt by a random act of E-Thuggery? If so, call 1-800-Waaaaahmbulance, we're here 24 hrs a day, 7 days a week, to take your call, you could be due a large monetary settlement, don't delay, call now.

    "Please be careful prior to entering the world wide web, the internet is serious business"


  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    6,471
    Originally posted by ARS
    Much Appreciated there Doug. It all loaded up fine, but I get this after I loaded up the CDROM:


    Any idea what this means? I am taking it that the hardware(my cdrom) is not plugged in. I am looking at it now, and it is fine-and-dandy down there. Don't know what else to do, other than pull my hair out

    Thanks for the file though, all thought it loaded up fine, still get that ol' error
    grr....i got that same code 41 error....it's something to do with your registry...try restoring your registry to a older working version.....at least I think so...I can't find any info from the MS KB, or Google, about what Code 41 means.

  17. #17
    Advanced Member ARS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Panhandle, FL
    Posts
    916
    I tried restoring the registry, no luck

    Thanks for the idea thought Doug. I am off to go look for SOME kind of solution for this problem, and then I gotta go study for two BIG test's I got tomoraw


    Thanks for all the help so far guys,

    Anthony

  18. #18
    Advanced Member ARS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Panhandle, FL
    Posts
    916
    Originally posted by Prey521
    Do you have the latest ASPI drivers? I had the same problem and after I installed the latest one, it fixed them. Let me know if you need it, I have ForceASPI

    Yes Prey! I am willing to try anything right now. If you could send me the site to get them, or the drivers themselves, it would be greatly appreciated.


    Anthony

  19. #19
    ♫♪ ♫♪ ♫♪ ♫♪ downhill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    My Own Private Idaho
    Posts
    34,805
    Well I'm not Prey, but I can point a link to where to find forceaspi.

    http://radified.com/ASPI/aspi.htm
    The tools of conquest do not necessarily come with bombs and explosions and fallout. There are weapons that are simply thoughts, attitudes, and prejudices to be found only in the minds of men. For the record, prejudices can kill and suspicion can destroy and a thoughtless, frightened search for a scapegoat has a fallout all of its own for the children and the children yet unborn and the pity of it is that these things cannot be confined to the Twilight Zone.

  20. #20
    Advanced Member ARS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Panhandle, FL
    Posts
    916
    Originally posted by downhill
    Well I'm not Prey, but I can point a link to where to find forceaspi.

    http://radified.com/ASPI/aspi.htm

    Thanks DH. Off to go try this, hopefully it will work; give me sometime to study for my tests

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •