Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Socket A Mobos

  1. #1
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,382

    Socket A Mobos

    I will build a comp for a friend of my dad soon.
    I have not talked to him yet, but most likely I will put a 1ghz + athlon in it..

    I'm looking for cheaper boards, I don't want a POS mobo.
    I just don't want to spend a lot of money on his mobo..

    SDRAM or DDR doesn't matter really, as from what I've heard the diff is marginal (bench)..
    the mobo doesn't really need any extra features such as RAID and those type of things...

    I was thinking about Abit KT7a which is $90 @ Newegg.com
    Last edited by BaLa; 11-04-01 at 06:54 PM.

  2. #2
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Anaheim, CA USA
    Posts
    2,191
    whats you ideal price range?

    the KT7A has been out for long enough to get a lot of the bugs worked out. or maybe a A7V133 or someting. the KT7A can probably be had for $100 if you look around. maybe less.

    BTW, where's ft. leonard wood? i grew up in columbia, mo.
    "I think this day will go down as a black day in the history of mankind"

    -Leo Szilard - December 2, 1942, following the first successful nuclear fission test.

  3. #3
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,382
    http://www.mapquest.com/cgi-bin/ia_f...grfe%7cs&pcat=
    FLW, is betwen Springfield and ST. Louis (I44) about 1/2 way

    like I said I haven't talked to the guy yet, but my guess is $1000 for everything..dunno if that would include the monitor or not..
    Last edited by BaLa; 11-04-01 at 06:57 PM.

  4. #4
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,013
    its in missouri (sp)


    get a gigabyte GA-7VTX-H its ddr and has lan, sound, and the dual bios thing built in, good board and only 120 bucks at newegg or the EPOX EP-8KHA+ both about the sme price but teh epox has no lan built in.

  5. #5
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,382
    Yard I removed MO cause it was screwing up my Genes Designed

    anywho, for $120 I'd get the KG7
    I was thinking more along the lines of $0-$100

  6. #6
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Anaheim, CA USA
    Posts
    2,191
    hmm.... well, a cheapo new/warranteed monitor can be had for $100 to $120 cut into your "labor fee fund", or make a real difference in what mainboards you have as an option. without a monitor in the equasion, you could easily make a slick system for $1000. maybe no 60+GB HDD or GF3 or Mushkin Rev 3, but a nice fast system with good quality hardware. and without making too many compoimises. with a monitor as an expense, something would have to be squashed.

    at any rate, its definitely doable for that amount.
    "I think this day will go down as a black day in the history of mankind"

    -Leo Szilard - December 2, 1942, following the first successful nuclear fission test.

  7. #7
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,013
    Originally posted by BaLa
    Yard I removed MO cause it was screwing up my Genes Designed

    anywho, for $120 I'd get the KG7
    I was thinking more along the lines of $0-$100
    well teh 266a ddr chipset performs very well!!!

    the epox is 107 on newegg.

  8. #8
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,382
    like I said I haven't even talked to him
    hehe
    so he might even want to spend $3000 I doubt it though lol...

    so really I don't know
    I was just going to look at some mobos and stuff now, so that I'm ready for when I do talk to him..

    I was planning on making up a sheet of paper with all the prices and stuff...

  9. #9
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,013
    the gigabyte GA-7VTX-E is 100 bucks the the gigabyte GA-7VTX-H without 10/100 lan

  10. #10
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,382
    this is what I've come up with so far..

    Giga Byte GA-7VTXE $99
    Maxtor 30gig 7200RPM $86
    Crucial 1x256mb DDR PC2100 $31.49
    SONY 52X MAX $28
    ??????????????????
    Mitsumi 3_1/2 FD $9
    GUILLEMOT HERCULES 3D
    PROPHET KYRO II 4500 64MB $86
    Creative Modem Blaster
    V.90 PCI 56k Modem $18
    Keytronic $8
    Logitech S48a $6
    O/S (?) MS Windows ME $91
    Proccessor
    AMD 1500+ Athlon XP 1500+ $130
    1.33ghz Boxed



    $592.49


    Monitor/Speakers/Case missing.
    shipping is not included in any of the items..

    Win ME SUX, I think so too...but lots of ppls like it..
    unless he wants XP
    most prices are from NewEgg..


    what kind of case should I get for something like this?
    Last edited by BaLa; 11-04-01 at 08:33 PM.

  11. #11
    Forum Techie terrancelam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada Computers Built and Fixed personally: 720
    Posts
    5,465

    ZHmmmm

    I would go with the KT7A over the Gigabyte board and if you can get your hands on it, Win98SE.
    As for the soundcard, SB PCI 128.
    Any midtower ATX that doesn't position the PSU over the HS/F of the CPU is fine.
    Intel Core 2 Duo Q8300 2.55Ghz (1333mhz)
    Asus P5N-D
    OCZ Platinum 8gb (2x2gb) PC8000 1000mhz 5-5-5-18
    EVGA 460GTX 1gb PCIE 2.0
    Western Digital Black 640gb x 2 Raid 0
    Coolermaster 1000W Modular PSU
    Antec NSK4480B
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

    ----------------------------------------------------------
    HP TC5700 (Thin Client) 1ghz, 512mb 80gb 1x1000mb NIC 1x100mb NIC running PFSense 1.22
    Linksys WRT-150 running DD-WRT V.24 (Access Point)

    "SG Techies rule!" - Sig Buddies with Amro

  12. #12
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,382

    Re: ZHmmmm

    Originally posted by terrancelam
    I would go with the KT7A over the
    why?

  13. #13
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,382
    ^^bump^^

  14. #14
    Forum Techie terrancelam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada Computers Built and Fixed personally: 720
    Posts
    5,465

    Mostly

    because of Abit's Softmenu 3 and the fact that SD-ram is cheaper. BUt the KT266a is a performance chipset. On a gigabyte board..err, haven't heard too many good things about that company. it's a shoot off. It's only $99 for the board retail? or oem?
    Intel Core 2 Duo Q8300 2.55Ghz (1333mhz)
    Asus P5N-D
    OCZ Platinum 8gb (2x2gb) PC8000 1000mhz 5-5-5-18
    EVGA 460GTX 1gb PCIE 2.0
    Western Digital Black 640gb x 2 Raid 0
    Coolermaster 1000W Modular PSU
    Antec NSK4480B
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

    ----------------------------------------------------------
    HP TC5700 (Thin Client) 1ghz, 512mb 80gb 1x1000mb NIC 1x100mb NIC running PFSense 1.22
    Linksys WRT-150 running DD-WRT V.24 (Access Point)

    "SG Techies rule!" - Sig Buddies with Amro

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •