Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 30

Thread: chipset heatsinks?

  1. #1
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,013

    chipset heatsinks?

    like no fans, just eh heatsink for a GPU or north bridge. looking for the biggest and best!

    thanks

  2. #2
    Mad Overclocker m4a2t0t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Phoenix AZ
    Posts
    3,962
    me wants to know too
    im using a orb on my northgate right now.

    how bout a waterblock?
    Will Work For FSB

  3. #3
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,013
    i was thikning of using a cpu heatsink and using a thermal adhesive to keep it on.

  4. #4
    Mad Overclocker m4a2t0t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Phoenix AZ
    Posts
    3,962
    what board is this going on,ur new sys?
    i used thermal adhesive to attach mine,just barely fit on my kt7a had to remove 1 fin on the orb.
    member to dilute ur adhesive if u want the heatsink back
    Will Work For FSB

  5. #5
    Mad Overclocker m4a2t0t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Phoenix AZ
    Posts
    3,962
    Will Work For FSB

  6. #6
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,013
    ya my kt7a has a blue orb on it, didnt need to remove a fin though, thats nice but i'm looking more for copper though i may use a pentium pro cpu cooler.

    this will be for my new system with unknown mobo so far.

  7. #7
    Mad Overclocker m4a2t0t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Phoenix AZ
    Posts
    3,962
    i hada to remove the find cause my heatsink is too big


    i thought u were planning to watercool
    Will Work For FSB

  8. #8
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,013
    Originally posted by m0a2t4t
    i hada to remove the find cause my heatsink is too big


    i thought u were planning to watercool

    thats later on and not gonna be on teh board i buy now

    buying a mobo now cuz my kt7a wont support a XP processor

  9. #9
    SG Enthusiast colour's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawai'i
    Posts
    1,597
    asdf?

  10. #10
    Mad Overclocker m4a2t0t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Phoenix AZ
    Posts
    3,962
    OMG ive been looking for that heatsink everywhere

    thanks
    Will Work For FSB

  11. #11
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,013
    very nice but its 37 x 37, do u know of any plain copper heatsinks or whats ur opinion on samml cpu cooler for the north bridge? waste of cash?

  12. #12
    Pro Tech syncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Greece - Europe - Planet Earth..
    Posts
    2,389
    The best ,and oldest solution ,is to found one heatsing from one 486 , and if you are lucky the fan will still work

  13. #13
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,013
    Originally posted by syncmaster
    The best ,and oldest solution ,is to found one heatsing from one 486 , and if you are lucky the fan will still work
    are u serious cuz i have one at my grandmothers from my uncles old PC, what makes it the best though?

  14. #14
    SG Enthusiast el bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    1,629
    I think he is saying its the best because its FREE
    What's the most expensive purchase you've made on your miles/reward credit card? Starwood Preferred Guest Credit Card Application

  15. #15
    Pro Tech syncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Greece - Europe - Planet Earth..
    Posts
    2,389
    Originally posted by YARDofSTUF


    are u serious cuz i have one at my grandmothers from my uncles old PC, what makes it the best though?
    The size at first , and then the posibility of having one litle fan on it .

    The cost comes last , first comes the usability .

  16. #16
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,013
    still trying to find some copper ones

  17. #17
    Fallen Angel Thor Walez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    NRW, Germany
    Posts
    1,166
    Do they ship to Germany ????

    -Thor
    1st rig:
    Abit NF7-S v2.0(!) nforce2 | AMD XP2500+ Barton @2.4Ghz 12*200mhz | TYAN Tachyon Radeon9500pro oc´ed | 2*256MB DDR400 cl2.5 TwinMos -winbond- @ DC DDR400 3-2-2-2.0 | 2*120 GB Seagate Barracuda V *8MB Cache* S-ATA in RAID0 *woooo*| Pioneer DVD-RW A-05 | LG 48x24x48x16 CD-RW-DVD Combo | win2k pro SP4 |

    2nd Rig:
    Abit KD7 KT400 | XP2400+ @XP2700+ (333) | Geforce4 128MB TI4200 oc´ed | 512MB PC3000 Corsair XMS CL2 | 60 GB Seagate Barracuda IV | Seagate ST340823A 40GB 5.4krpm | Pioneer DVD-106S | det.52.16 | win2kpro SP4 |
    3rd Rig
    *** SOLD *** --> preparing to go AMD 64bit in far future after paying off my RX8

    http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=340755603 NEW!!!!
    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7717862
    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=2262168 NEW!!!!


    Be evil and fold some unholy proteins... crunch a unit!
    How you can help us to fold!

    Folding buddy with SeedOfChaos, as The Fallen Angels. 100% unholy AMD Power.

  18. #18
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Anaheim, CA USA
    Posts
    2,191
    nah... forget a fancy chipset HSF. just superglue an icecube to the Northbridge and you will be oh-tay.
    "I think this day will go down as a black day in the history of mankind"

    -Leo Szilard - December 2, 1942, following the first successful nuclear fission test.

  19. #19
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,013
    Originally posted by smaier69
    nah... forget a fancy chipset HSF. just superglue an icecube to the Northbridge and you will be oh-tay.
    what about taping water?

  20. #20
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Anaheim, CA USA
    Posts
    2,191
    hmmm.... that might work. i have heard of people being able to modify the adhesive on duct tape so it can stick to water. i think they were using 3M brand. never tried it myself.

    i would stick with the superglue (or maybe some AS adhesive). that should do the trick.
    "I think this day will go down as a black day in the history of mankind"

    -Leo Szilard - December 2, 1942, following the first successful nuclear fission test.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •