Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: About my new mouse: Does it matter...

  1. #1
    BE HAPPY ! ! ! ! ! poptom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Santa Monica, Southern California
    Posts
    4,632

    About my new mouse: Does it matter...

    ...whether I connect it to USB or PS2? Any advantage either way?
    ( It's just a basic Logitech optical).

  2. #2
    Pro Tech syncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Greece - Europe - Planet Earth..
    Posts
    2,389
    PS2 connection will be better , to keep free the USB bandwith for other devices .

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    8,585
    true.. but thier are a few features my mouse has that only support using the USB interface.

    ииии



    ииии

  4. #4
    Pro Tech syncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Greece - Europe - Planet Earth..
    Posts
    2,389
    Originally posted by PING
    true.. but thier are a few features my mouse has that only support using the USB interface.
    No way !!!!
    You are mistaken .

  5. #5
    SG Enthusiast HongKongPolice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    I...... AM.......... CANADIAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Posts
    2,147
    The default refresh rate for USB mice is 125Hz, but USB requires more CPU time, and will get sluggish when your system is busy.

    PS/2's default is 40Hz which REALLY sux ass, but you can raise it with a small program, upto 200Hz IF your mouse can go that high, and if you're not using a PS/2 USB adapter. PS/2 uses almost no CPU time, and is never sluggish.

    I currenly use a MS optical, and after using the program, I can only get it upto about 90Hz refresh rate, probably cuz of my USB adapter, before with a MS Ball mouse, i had it upto 160Hz.

    BTW, only Win98's default PS/2 rate is 40Hz, WinME, NT4, 2K, and XP all use 80Hz or more, which makes the mouse seem smoother, and so makes ppl think the OS is better than Win98. (Only Micro$hit can think of somethin like this)
    Last edited by HongKongPolice; 10-30-01 at 07:29 PM.
    Abit KR7A-Raid
    Palomino 1.4Ghz @ 1.57Ghz @ default voltage /w DTek Spir@l block 512MB Crucial DDR @ 300Mhz CAS222 ATi OEM Radeon8500 @ 295/275 vmem=3.5v, would of gotten GF3 if they had better filters..... 3Com 905 TX SoundBlaster Live OEM 120gig Western Digital Special Edition (8MB Cache) 20gig Fujitsu 5400rpm (gonna get another WD1200JB for Raid0 soon) LiteOn 24x burner Enermax 350watt PSU (voltage modded) Dell P1110 21" Sony FD Trinitron tube @ 1792x1344 85Hz

  6. #6
    BE HAPPY ! ! ! ! ! poptom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Santa Monica, Southern California
    Posts
    4,632
    Originally posted by TigerUpperCut
    PS/2's default is 40Hz which REALLY sux ass, but you can raise it with a small program, upto 200Hz IF your mouse can go that high, and if you're not using a PS/2 USB adapter. PS/2 uses almost no CPU time, and is never sluggish.
    What's the program, Tiger?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    8,585
    Originally posted by syncmaster


    No way !!!!
    You are mistaken .
    Im pretty sure my 2 extra buttons dont work in the PS/2 interface.

    ииии



    ииии

  8. #8
    BE HAPPY ! ! ! ! ! poptom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Santa Monica, Southern California
    Posts
    4,632
    Thanks for the input, guys. I'll leave it on PS2.

    The red glow on this thing annoys the hell out of me. I think I'll dismantle it and paint the inside of the lower housing opaque.

  9. #9
    Intersting info about the ps/2 vs usb and win98 being only 40 hz, I never knew that, and find it funny how MS does do that.

    Just curious where is this program that you can bump up your ps/2 to 200 hz? Not sure how much of a differnce it would make just curious to try.

  10. #10
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,013
    Originally posted by poptom
    Thanks for the input, guys. I'll leave it on PS2.

    The red glow on this thing annoys the hell out of me. I think I'll dismantle it and paint the inside of the lower housing opaque.
    i like teh red light, u get use to it lol

  11. #11
    Pro Tech syncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Greece - Europe - Planet Earth..
    Posts
    2,389
    Originally posted by davy19
    Intersting info about the ps/2 vs usb and win98 being only 40 hz, I never knew that, and find it funny how MS does do that.

    Just curious where is this program that you can bump up your ps/2 to 200 hz? Not sure how much of a differnce it would make just curious to try.

    Just to strait things up ...

    The mouse refresh rate , was , will , and always will be controled by the software driver of the mouse , and not by the hardware .

    The mouses is electronic devices that have some specs ..

    I do not know what is the default refresh rates of one common mouse , to find out we have to read the INF file from the driver of standart Mouse .

    All the mouses that is not standart , they have software bungle that sets this litle details automaticly ..

    The numbers of refresh above the 100 , its almost in our fantacy .

    Mouses and monitors is under the same rules and limitations .

    No one can force the refresh rate above the hardware specs .

  12. #12
    single malt maroon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Memphis
    Posts
    263
    The program's called PS2 Rate and you can find it here: www.tweakfiles.com. You can adjust it up to 200 hz, but I think you're ultimately limited by your monitor's refresh rate.

  13. #13
    Advanced Member CAR-15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    560
    tweakfiles doesnt work anymore
    AMD XP2100+
    Soltek SL-75DRV5
    256 MB Samsung PC2100
    Radeon 8500

  14. #14

  15. #15
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,382
    M$ Optical, I had it on PS/2 for a while, but it's running smoother on USB.

  16. #16
    Advanced Member NuclearHeadache's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    902
    Originally posted by PING


    Im pretty sure my 2 extra buttons dont work in the PS/2 interface.
    Correct.... My MS Optical browse buttons don't work in PS2 but they do in USB.
    I even just tested it to make sure
    AMD T-Bird 1.2 GHZ
    MSI K7T266 Pro2
    256MB PC2100 Crucial DDR
    60 GIG 7200 RPM Maxtor
    60 GIG 7200 RPM Western Digital
    32 MB Nvidia TV Out
    Creative SB Live Value
    431 watt Enermax power supply (whisper series, but with 2 fans on this power supply it's still loud as a mofo)
    Using WIndows XP Pro



    Isaiah 2:10

    Go into the rocks, hide in the ground from dread of the LORD and the splendor of his majesty!

  17. #17
    Pro Tech syncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Greece - Europe - Planet Earth..
    Posts
    2,389
    Originally posted by BaLa
    M$ Optical, I had it on PS/2 for a while, but it's running smoother on USB.
    I have the MS IntelliEye , i do not see any diference by using the PS2 or USB .

  18. #18
    Pro Tech syncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Greece - Europe - Planet Earth..
    Posts
    2,389
    Originally posted by NuclearHeadache


    Correct.... My MS Optical browse buttons don't work in PS2 but they do in USB.
    I even just tested it to make sure
    If you like your tests to be right 100% , reinstall the intelimouse software wen you changing the conections of your mouse .

  19. #19
    Advanced Member NuclearHeadache's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    902
    Originally posted by syncmaster


    If you like your tests to be right 100% , reinstall the intelimouse software wen you changing the conections of your mouse .
    Just did it, still right.
    AMD T-Bird 1.2 GHZ
    MSI K7T266 Pro2
    256MB PC2100 Crucial DDR
    60 GIG 7200 RPM Maxtor
    60 GIG 7200 RPM Western Digital
    32 MB Nvidia TV Out
    Creative SB Live Value
    431 watt Enermax power supply (whisper series, but with 2 fans on this power supply it's still loud as a mofo)
    Using WIndows XP Pro



    Isaiah 2:10

    Go into the rocks, hide in the ground from dread of the LORD and the splendor of his majesty!

  20. #20
    Pro Tech syncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Greece - Europe - Planet Earth..
    Posts
    2,389
    Ok . you win

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •