Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Slow page loading and TCP/IP analyzer not correct

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    11

    Unhappy Slow page loading and TCP/IP analyzer not correct

    I recently installed a usb Motorola surfboard cable modem for my new hi-speed connection with Optimum Online in Wetchester County, NY. I have win98SE a pent 3 500 and 256 ram.I initially used your analyzer and tweaks and my download were in the 1-2 mbps range.Today my pages are loading very slowly and the analyzer shows the following;

    MainCable ModemsDiscussionWindows 9xReviewsEditorialsInformationBroadGuard RouterDLink RouterDiamond WirelessLinksysNexlandTinysoft FirewallWebRamp 700sWingate 4.1.1UmaxZyXel P310">">">">">">">">
    Mon Oct 29 20:46:02 2001.



    SpeedGuide.net TCP/IP Analyzer
    TCP properties for IP =
    Note: Read the FAQ if the above is not your IP address.
    Browser/OS = Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 5.0; Windows 98)

    TCP options string = 020405b401010402

    MTU = 1500
    MTU is fully optimized for broadband.

    MSS = 1460
    Maximum useful data in each packet = 1460, which is equal to MSS.

    Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 65535
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 0 bits
    Unscaled Receive Window = 65535
    Note: Under Windows 9x, if you have RWIN set to any other value, and the Analyzer reports 65535 you might need to install the MS Vtcp386 fix.
    For optimum performance, consider changing RWIN to a multiple of MSS.
    Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    513920 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
    256960 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    128480 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    64240 (MSS x 44)

    bandwidth * delay product:
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 2621.4 kbps (327.675 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 1048.56 kbps (131.07 KBytes/s) @ 500ms

    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON

    Time to live left = 117 hops
    TTL value is ok.

    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF

    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON

    IP type of service field (RFC1349)= 00000000



    I had already installed the vtcp386 fix and previously the program gave the correct RWIN value of either 513,920 or 256,960 that I had previously used. Does anyone have any suggestions as to what I should do?

    Thank you,

    Al
    Last edited by acr123; 10-31-01 at 12:07 AM.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Funkytown
    Posts
    4,122
    Got Cablenut?
    Live to chase your dream...

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    11
    I already have cablenut adjuster and it shows the correct numbers. I was just curious if the fact that I used to have the correct numbers on the analyzer and my pages also loaded faster was just a coincidence and now I have slow page loading and the incorrect value shown in the analyzer.

    Thanks,

    Al
    Last edited by acr123; 10-29-01 at 11:49 PM.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Funkytown
    Posts
    4,122
    Open cablenut adjuster, put 1 in TCP1323Opts, save registry on the bottom, reboot.
    Live to chase your dream...

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    11
    Thanks for the info but, I already have a 1 in this field. I had applied the latest cable modem tweaks to the registry for win98 and maybe that setting was in there. I am having the cable company come to check outside pole of my house and also the inside cable. I had called the cable company and they said this was a good idea since i was "dropping packets" which could be the reason for the problems.

    Thanks,

    Al

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Funkytown
    Posts
    4,122
    nonono. Dropping packets doesn't cause this problem, for future reference. What you need to do is, Download the Mtcp386 patch available from the same page you got the SG tweaks, scroll a bit down and you will see it. Install, reboot, and you should theoraticlly a little faster.
    Live to chase your dream...

  7. #7
    One PT Cruiser Nut! Buggyman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere in Florida
    Posts
    587

    Talking I agree with Pepsi...

    You either don't have the vtcp386 fix or the TCP1323Opts didn't take... it's one or the other.
    Make sure you SAVE the changes on the CCS folder (cablenut) and REBOOT. when you set the TCP1323Opts.
    No Question is a dumb Question when it comes to Tweaking!

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    11
    Thanks for the suggestions but I did both of theses things. When I go to cablenut manual tweaks screen these are the entries:

    RWIN 513,920 TTL 64 Enable DNS 0 Lanabase 0
    Local copy made 1 PMTU black hole defect 0 PMTU Discovery 1 SackOpts 1 Sessions keep alive 600000 Tcp13230pts 1 max Dup Adrss 3 max connection 1_0 32

    Max connection 16 The rest of the entries are blank

    Any other suggestions.

    thanks,

    Al

  9. #9
    Elite Member Lobo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Panama City, FL and a FAN of Dale Earnhardt Jr. Bud Chevy & NASCAR , and the Atlanta Braves
    Posts
    17,660
    Please click in my signature where it says Test tweak here, then:
    At top where it says edit click and select, Select all,
    Then go back to same edit button at top, click and select copy.
    Come back to Speedguide, same thread you were on, in post reply box, with cursor blinking at begining of box go to top, edit, click, select paste, click, this will put information in box. Please X out your IP address, Thank you.

  10. #10
    He already provided that information on the top of the page. You consistently ask for information that has already been given. Perhaps this helps with your huge post count, because I don't see any other reason for it.

  11. #11
    Elite Member Lobo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Panama City, FL and a FAN of Dale Earnhardt Jr. Bud Chevy & NASCAR , and the Atlanta Braves
    Posts
    17,660
    What are you, the police, he changed settings and wanted to see it it was done right

  12. #12
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    L.I. N.Y
    Posts
    27
    A couple of things:1) Take a look at your IP address,is it yours?
    I have the same thing going on with Optonline.net.When i do the TCP/ip Analyer test it shows my RWIN as 711008? and i know i have 711020 in there and the IP address it shows is not mine.Tried to check to see if any proxy's are running,but nothing.I think optoneline has pulled a "swoofty' on us. 2) sweet& Crispy M&M (or what ever your handle is),Lobo has been more help to more people then you can imagine.I don't care if he has 10,000 posts.Try backing off a bit.We all appreciate the help you guys give us.

  13. #13
    ****** HalfLifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Detroit, Michigan Internet: Comcast Narrowband
    Posts
    7,086
    Originally posted by BrianMc
    He already provided that information on the top of the page. You consistently ask for information that has already been given. Perhaps this helps with your huge post count, because I don't see any other reason for it.

    Someone else noticed!



    HE always does that...

    Anyways, change from NIC to USB and it should help.
    Work: DQ
    Comp: AXP 1600+, MSI K7T266a Pro2 RU, 512MB PC2100, GF3 Ti200 128MB

  14. #14
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    11
    MainCable ModemsDiscussionWindows 9xReviewsEditorialsInformationPerformanceCustomizationTroubleshootingTermsWindows LinksTinysoft FirewallWebRamp 700sWingate 4.1.1UmaxZyXel P310">">">">">">">">
    Tue Oct 30 18:18:27 2001.



    SpeedGuide.net TCP/IP Analyzer
    TCP properties for IP =
    Note: Read the FAQ if the above is not your IP address.
    Browser/OS = Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 5.0; Windows 98)

    TCP options string = 020405b40103030301010402

    MTU = 1500
    MTU is fully optimized for broadband.

    MSS = 1460
    Maximum useful data in each packet = 1460, which is equal to MSS.

    Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 513920
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 3 bits
    Unscaled Receive Window = 64240
    RWIN is a multiple of MSS
    Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    256960 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    128480 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    64240 (MSS x 44)

    bandwidth * delay product:
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 20556.8 kbps (2569.6 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 8222.72 kbps (1027.84 KBytes/s) @ 500ms

    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON

    Time to live left = 53 hops
    TTL value is ok.

    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF

    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON

    IP type of service field (RFC1349)= 00000000




    6406 connections tested since 03.10.2001.
    Analyzer version: Beta 0.99


    The IP address is mine. I have tried to do everything that has been suggested but the slow page loads are the same as well as good download speeds most of the time but other times very slow. I have called Optimum online who are coming to the house tomorrow to check out the cable. They suggested that I had too many splits on the cable coming off into the house. The room with the cable modem does have a cable tv connection and when I removed the splitter from there and the cable went straight to the cable modem the pages loaded quickly, but I do not want to be without a TV in the room.
    Any other suggestions. I will let you know what the cable guy says.

    Thanks,

    Al
    Last edited by acr123; 10-31-01 at 12:09 AM.

  15. #15
    ****** HalfLifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Detroit, Michigan Internet: Comcast Narrowband
    Posts
    7,086
    Edit out your IP.

    Unless you want to be hacked...
    Work: DQ
    Comp: AXP 1600+, MSI K7T266a Pro2 RU, 512MB PC2100, GF3 Ti200 128MB

  16. #16
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    11
    The cable guy came today and the problem is solved. He changed the 4 -way splitter from the main house cable to 3 for the house and 1 for the cable modem. That did the trick. The pages are loading very fast and the downloads are up to 3mpbs.

    Thanks for all your help!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •