Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: enough power?

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    trailer park in the bushes
    Posts
    109

    Question enough power?

    I've got a power-hungry system, and I was wondering how far I could go on this 300watt power supply

    So far, I've got..
    AMD 1.4GHz
    Geforce 3
    Six USB Devices
    Sound card & NIC
    CD-RW & DVD
    7200RPM HDD

    Also, about five fans + the HSF on both the graphics card and cpu (About seven total)

    Would I be able to add.. say .. another 7200RPM HDD?
    I really have no clue either way. Is there a chart that may explain how much load you can put on a ###watt Power supply?

  2. #2
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,382
    not sure about this...
    but I think you've got a pretty heavy load on your PSU right now..
    I would suggest getting at least a 430 Watt PSU

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    trailer park in the bushes
    Posts
    109
    the thing is .. everyone's been suggesting this and suggesting that. I thank everyone for their opinions, but is there anything written down saying this?

    Not that I don't believe anyone, but I'm getting so many different answers, it's hard to know which one to go with in the end

  4. #4
    Advanced Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    vancouver, wa
    Posts
    797
    A 330w-400w is good for you.

    I got two 7200 HD's, DVD-ROM, CD-RW, floppy, 8 high-output fans, four PCI devices, 2 USB devices, and many other stuff on my 1.33GHz XP system which is overclocked. I get along just fine with that with my 350watt HEC.

  5. #5
    Banned KANO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    God Bless Em
    Posts
    740
    i dont get problems with a 300 watt psu, ive got 7 usb devices, to 72 hdds, cd writer, cdrom 6 fans and a 1.4 athlon. unless your crashing alot dont worry about it.

  6. #6
    Forum Techie terrancelam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada Computers Built and Fixed personally: 720
    Posts
    5,465

    hmmmm

    If you don't plan on ocing, you should be fine. I personally recommend 350W as the average for 1.2ghz+ T-bird owners. Why? T-birds are SUPER hungry when it come to PSUs and depending on the powersource in your area, it fluxes too much for the 300W to work efficiently (The 5V and 12V really can go nuts, and if are lower then 0.5V from the standard can cause problems.)

    But to answer your question, your putting alot of strain on that PSU of your already, you could try and add another HD to it, but you might have some problems. The chances of this happening are atleast 75%.
    Intel Core 2 Duo Q8300 2.55Ghz (1333mhz)
    Asus P5N-D
    OCZ Platinum 8gb (2x2gb) PC8000 1000mhz 5-5-5-18
    EVGA 460GTX 1gb PCIE 2.0
    Western Digital Black 640gb x 2 Raid 0
    Coolermaster 1000W Modular PSU
    Antec NSK4480B
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

    ----------------------------------------------------------
    HP TC5700 (Thin Client) 1ghz, 512mb 80gb 1x1000mb NIC 1x100mb NIC running PFSense 1.22
    Linksys WRT-150 running DD-WRT V.24 (Access Point)

    "SG Techies rule!" - Sig Buddies with Amro

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    trailer park in the bushes
    Posts
    109

    Re: hmmmm

    Originally posted by terrancelam
    T-birds are SUPER hungry when it come to PSUs and depending on the powersource in your area, it fluxes too much for the 300W to work efficiently (The 5V and 12V really can go nuts, and if are lower then 0.5V from the standard can cause problems.)
    'S why I have UPS
    Thanks for the input. To pricewatch I go ..

  8. #8
    Fallen Angel Thor Walez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    NRW, Germany
    Posts
    1,166

    Re: enough power?

    look @my signature (CPU is @1.90v) all this with 4 80*80 and 2 smaller fans connected with a regular 300watts PS!

    ... But if you buy a new one try a 431+Watts Enermax PS I heard they rock!!!

    -Thor
    Last edited by Thor Walez; 10-28-01 at 09:25 AM.
    1st rig:
    Abit NF7-S v2.0(!) nforce2 | AMD XP2500+ Barton @2.4Ghz 12*200mhz | TYAN Tachyon Radeon9500pro oc´ed | 2*256MB DDR400 cl2.5 TwinMos -winbond- @ DC DDR400 3-2-2-2.0 | 2*120 GB Seagate Barracuda V *8MB Cache* S-ATA in RAID0 *woooo*| Pioneer DVD-RW A-05 | LG 48x24x48x16 CD-RW-DVD Combo | win2k pro SP4 |

    2nd Rig:
    Abit KD7 KT400 | XP2400+ @XP2700+ (333) | Geforce4 128MB TI4200 oc´ed | 512MB PC3000 Corsair XMS CL2 | 60 GB Seagate Barracuda IV | Seagate ST340823A 40GB 5.4krpm | Pioneer DVD-106S | det.52.16 | win2kpro SP4 |
    3rd Rig
    *** SOLD *** --> preparing to go AMD 64bit in far future after paying off my RX8

    http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=340755603 NEW!!!!
    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7717862
    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=2262168 NEW!!!!


    Be evil and fold some unholy proteins... crunch a unit!
    How you can help us to fold!

    Folding buddy with SeedOfChaos, as The Fallen Angels. 100% unholy AMD Power.

  9. #9
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,013
    if u have a psu with an adjustable pot u can raise teh 5v line too

    i would think my 300 watt antec could handle ur load so ur 300watter should too

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •