Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: factory unlocked cpu

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    oakland, ca
    Posts
    132

    factory unlocked cpu

    i have a 1.33 t-bird 266fsb. and i think my cpu is factory unlocked. ebcause L1 show 128k cashe, and L2 is 256k when i boot up the computer. which mean my cpu has been unlocked?

  2. #2
    BE HAPPY ! ! ! ! ! poptom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Santa Monica, Southern California
    Posts
    4,632
    No.

  3. #3
    Forum Techie terrancelam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada Computers Built and Fixed personally: 720
    Posts
    5,465

    Only one way to tell for sure

    You have to look at your L1 bridges and see if there alittle black mark that seperates the white bridge.
    Intel Core 2 Duo Q8300 2.55Ghz (1333mhz)
    Asus P5N-D
    OCZ Platinum 8gb (2x2gb) PC8000 1000mhz 5-5-5-18
    EVGA 460GTX 1gb PCIE 2.0
    Western Digital Black 640gb x 2 Raid 0
    Coolermaster 1000W Modular PSU
    Antec NSK4480B
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

    ----------------------------------------------------------
    HP TC5700 (Thin Client) 1ghz, 512mb 80gb 1x1000mb NIC 1x100mb NIC running PFSense 1.22
    Linksys WRT-150 running DD-WRT V.24 (Access Point)

    "SG Techies rule!" - Sig Buddies with Amro

  4. #4
    Germslayer gertvanjoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Southern Hemispehere
    Posts
    495
    I said it is factory unlocked . I did not ask

    But thanks for the advice terrancelam . If I did not know it it would come in very usefull .

    And no there is absolutely no black marks on the cpu . I doubled check with magnifying glass and ask a friend to check too . His is unlocked too
    So softly , so perfect , seemingly sleepingly
    But for you , sleep , forever will do
    Wish only to fight the urge
    Beaten senselessly for your basic need
    Sunken eyes around me ,
    sunken spirits is what I see
    Children , old beyond their day


    My Poetry

  5. #5
    Germslayer gertvanjoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Southern Hemispehere
    Posts
    495
    oops sorry you guys . I post a simmilar post and I though it too be mine . So I did not look at the first question post .

    sorry all

    My 1.2 Ghz is factory unlocked
    So softly , so perfect , seemingly sleepingly
    But for you , sleep , forever will do
    Wish only to fight the urge
    Beaten senselessly for your basic need
    Sunken eyes around me ,
    sunken spirits is what I see
    Children , old beyond their day


    My Poetry

  6. #6
    R.I.P. 2018-07-16 RoundEye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    In a dry but moldy New Orleans, Louisiana
    Posts
    18,219
    I think all the T-Bird CPU's over 1.2GHz, are unlocked from the factory.

    The XP cores are locked.

    The MP cores are unlocked.
    Sliding down the banister of life ..........................

  7. #7
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,013
    [brag]My xp1800 is unlocked[/brag]

  8. #8
    R.I.P. 2018-07-16 RoundEye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    In a dry but moldy New Orleans, Louisiana
    Posts
    18,219
    Originally posted by YARDofSTUF
    [brag]My xp1800 is unlocked[/brag]
    Did you buy it unlocked or unlock it yourself?

    And did you get it from that link you posted?

    I ask because I wasted my 1800 by putting the heatsink on wrong and it got too hot.

    So I'm in search of another processor. I think that that place may be selling MP's, but I'm not certain.
    Sliding down the banister of life ..........................

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •