Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Enermax 350watt PS

  1. #1
    SG Enthusiast HongKongPolice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    I...... AM.......... CANADIAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Posts
    2,147

    Exclamation Enermax 350watt PS

    I'm considering buying this PS cuz my 400watt PS is outputting dirty power. (Got it dirt cheap from HK so i can't complain). I read the specs and wondered WHY is there a 80mm exhaust fan with a 92mm intake fan?!? Wouldn't that create pressure inside the PS and leak some of the hot air out of the PS?? Unless of course, the 92mm intake runs @ a lower rpm and pushes the same CFM as the 80mm exhaust.....

    I'm sure lots of you have this PS, whatz up with the fan config??
    Abit KR7A-Raid
    Palomino 1.4Ghz @ 1.57Ghz @ default voltage /w DTek Spir@l block 512MB Crucial DDR @ 300Mhz CAS222 ATi OEM Radeon8500 @ 295/275 vmem=3.5v, would of gotten GF3 if they had better filters..... 3Com 905 TX SoundBlaster Live OEM 120gig Western Digital Special Edition (8MB Cache) 20gig Fujitsu 5400rpm (gonna get another WD1200JB for Raid0 soon) LiteOn 24x burner Enermax 350watt PSU (voltage modded) Dell P1110 21" Sony FD Trinitron tube @ 1792x1344 85Hz

  2. #2
    SG Enthusiast onetrueday's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Floating down a river of Dingleberry Juice
    Posts
    4,796
    I would HIGHLY doubt that the fans are capable of really changing the air pressure, although I'm curious why that is too.
    MSI 845 Ultra-ARU
    p4 1.8a @ 47 BILLION
    radeon8500 (4 HS's)
    2 80gig WD se's raid0/120gig WD
    30gigWD/15gigMaxtor/1.2gig WD
    512megs corsair pc3000xms

  3. #3
    Advanced Member MagicMikey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    617
    I don't see a problem with the air flow...


  4. #4
    SG Elite Brent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    42,161
    it's an awesome PSU

    I got the 431 watt enermax myself, but i want the 550 hehe
    "Would you mind not standing on my chest, my hats on fire." - The Doctor

  5. #5
    Forum Techie terrancelam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada Computers Built and Fixed personally: 720
    Posts
    5,465

    The 350W

    is a nice size and wattage. It's great if you looking for a more evenly out putting powersource. I went with the 370W Topower PSU because it was a bit cheaper and seemed to work just as well. I had the assurances of the place, so I went with it.
    Intel Core 2 Duo Q8300 2.55Ghz (1333mhz)
    Asus P5N-D
    OCZ Platinum 8gb (2x2gb) PC8000 1000mhz 5-5-5-18
    EVGA 460GTX 1gb PCIE 2.0
    Western Digital Black 640gb x 2 Raid 0
    Coolermaster 1000W Modular PSU
    Antec NSK4480B
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

    ----------------------------------------------------------
    HP TC5700 (Thin Client) 1ghz, 512mb 80gb 1x1000mb NIC 1x100mb NIC running PFSense 1.22
    Linksys WRT-150 running DD-WRT V.24 (Access Point)

    "SG Techies rule!" - Sig Buddies with Amro

  6. #6
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    51,112
    Love Enermax.

    Now for fan physics...it won't create pressure inside. The diams may be different, but you don't know the blade count/size, and pitch of the blades...and rpms...and how many cfm....and if all the above were like you said, the end result is the rear exhaust fan just wouldn't have to work as hard because the intake fan was already doing most of the work.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  7. #7
    SG Enthusiast HongKongPolice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    I...... AM.......... CANADIAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Posts
    2,147
    Brent, the 430watt version has the same Fan config as the 350watt, do both fans push the same CFM? If not then it makes no sense
    Abit KR7A-Raid
    Palomino 1.4Ghz @ 1.57Ghz @ default voltage /w DTek Spir@l block 512MB Crucial DDR @ 300Mhz CAS222 ATi OEM Radeon8500 @ 295/275 vmem=3.5v, would of gotten GF3 if they had better filters..... 3Com 905 TX SoundBlaster Live OEM 120gig Western Digital Special Edition (8MB Cache) 20gig Fujitsu 5400rpm (gonna get another WD1200JB for Raid0 soon) LiteOn 24x burner Enermax 350watt PSU (voltage modded) Dell P1110 21" Sony FD Trinitron tube @ 1792x1344 85Hz

  8. #8
    R.I.P. 02/07/1984 - 09/19/2018 Jesse23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Kenvil, NJ
    Posts
    3,750
    Idk but im ordering the 550 watt soon
    The user formally known as jesse23

  9. #9
    Advanced Member EthanHunt16's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    598
    i have the 450w enermax ps and theres the normal fan on the back, on the inside theres a fan facing the cpu and it intakes and i believe the back fan disperses the air
    athlon 1.333ghz(266fsb), 1024mb pc-133, ATI Radeon 8500le 128MB, 60gig western digital 7200 rpm hd, 60gig maxtor 7200 rpm hd, LG 24x10x40 CR-RW, Pioneer 16x DVD-Rom, sound blaster live x-gamer!,viewsonic 17" E771,win XP PRO

  10. #10
    SG Enthusiast colour's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawai'i
    Posts
    1,597
    i have the 430w enermax, it has the 80mm and 92mm setup.

    its setup to suck air from instead the case onto the heatsink in the psu and then with the 80mm suck air out.

    i dunno, ive always thought they were kind of weak. as i stated in onetrueday's casemod thread that i believe they really are ineffective as exhaust or intake for a case. they work fine just for the psu though.
    asdf?

  11. #11
    SG Enthusiast HongKongPolice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    I...... AM.......... CANADIAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Posts
    2,147
    Ya they don't push much air cuz they're designed to be silent, which is exactly what i want, but what I need to know is if the 92mm fan pushes more air than the 80mm exhaust. If it does, then the 80mm exhaust won't be pushing out enough air to match the amount of air the 92mm intake is pushing in, which will cause the extra air to leak into the case.
    Abit KR7A-Raid
    Palomino 1.4Ghz @ 1.57Ghz @ default voltage /w DTek Spir@l block 512MB Crucial DDR @ 300Mhz CAS222 ATi OEM Radeon8500 @ 295/275 vmem=3.5v, would of gotten GF3 if they had better filters..... 3Com 905 TX SoundBlaster Live OEM 120gig Western Digital Special Edition (8MB Cache) 20gig Fujitsu 5400rpm (gonna get another WD1200JB for Raid0 soon) LiteOn 24x burner Enermax 350watt PSU (voltage modded) Dell P1110 21" Sony FD Trinitron tube @ 1792x1344 85Hz

  12. #12
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    51,112
    I understand your theory...but extra air will not leak into the case. Those fans are not in super tight efficient holes like a Pratt & Whitney turbine and venturi tube...they are slower running quiet fans with quite larger diam holes than the OD of the blades.

    You will always have air exhausted.. You're losing sleep over something you shouldn't be.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  13. #13
    SG Enthusiast HongKongPolice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    I...... AM.......... CANADIAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Posts
    2,147
    No matter how small the amount is, if the 92mm fan pushes more air than the 80mm, that excess will spill into the case
    Abit KR7A-Raid
    Palomino 1.4Ghz @ 1.57Ghz @ default voltage /w DTek Spir@l block 512MB Crucial DDR @ 300Mhz CAS222 ATi OEM Radeon8500 @ 295/275 vmem=3.5v, would of gotten GF3 if they had better filters..... 3Com 905 TX SoundBlaster Live OEM 120gig Western Digital Special Edition (8MB Cache) 20gig Fujitsu 5400rpm (gonna get another WD1200JB for Raid0 soon) LiteOn 24x burner Enermax 350watt PSU (voltage modded) Dell P1110 21" Sony FD Trinitron tube @ 1792x1344 85Hz

  14. #14
    SG Elite Brent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    42,161
    When I get home tonight I will look at the documentation that came with my PSU (if i still have it, i might have thrown it away) and see if i can find out the cfm's of the fans, if not i'll search the web for the answer.....

    also keep in mind these are THERMALLY controlled fans, they can operate at different speeds depending on how HOT the psu is etc... so they change speed automatically, at first use they are slower, as the system heats up they get faster, this way it keeps noise down to a minimum.....

    they have the FM function, Fan Speed Monitoring, so the fans can operate at different speeds....
    "Would you mind not standing on my chest, my hats on fire." - The Doctor

  15. #15
    SG Enthusiast HongKongPolice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    I...... AM.......... CANADIAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Posts
    2,147
    Ya I realize that, just that having I hate the idea of having an intake fan pushing more CFMs than the exhaust...

    It sayz on enermax's website that the fans are controlled by the mobo and are "adjustable", how does that work?
    Abit KR7A-Raid
    Palomino 1.4Ghz @ 1.57Ghz @ default voltage /w DTek Spir@l block 512MB Crucial DDR @ 300Mhz CAS222 ATi OEM Radeon8500 @ 295/275 vmem=3.5v, would of gotten GF3 if they had better filters..... 3Com 905 TX SoundBlaster Live OEM 120gig Western Digital Special Edition (8MB Cache) 20gig Fujitsu 5400rpm (gonna get another WD1200JB for Raid0 soon) LiteOn 24x burner Enermax 350watt PSU (voltage modded) Dell P1110 21" Sony FD Trinitron tube @ 1792x1344 85Hz

  16. #16
    SG Elite Brent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    42,161
    i just looked all over enermax's site and looked at their .pdf manul for the psu, no where does it mention the CFM, i would assume they know what they are doing and have it seutp to work best, prolly nothing to worry about

    these psu's of today are a lot smarter then they use to be, being controlled automatically the fan speed and all....
    "Would you mind not standing on my chest, my hats on fire." - The Doctor

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •