Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 80

Thread: Will I see A Big Difference Between A 550 PIII and 850 PIII?

  1. #1
    Regular Member ChuckDees's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    192

    Will I see A Big Difference Between A 550 PIII and 850 PIII?

    Thinking of maxing out my motherboard with a 850 P3 to replace my 500 P3. Do you think I will see a big difference with the 300mhz? I plan on upgrading to Win XP and I have my memory maxed out at 384mb.

    "It's All In The Reflexes."

  2. #2
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,382
    I don't know how big of a diff..
    but it should be big enough to notice it..

  3. #3
    Game Freak Gaming-Module's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,987
    maxing out my motherboard with a 850 P3
    Why would 850 be your max?

    Most mobos show such maximum support speeds because there was nothing higher when the documentation was printed.

    A bios update or some drivers for the board should enable you to go as high as 1 ghz.

  4. #4
    Elite Member Jim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    13,231
    Depends on what you're doing. If your "computing" is limited to IE, IM, and Notepad, then no, you won't see a difference.

  5. #5
    Regular Member ChuckDees's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    192
    My motherboard is 100mhz FSB so I can only go to a 850. I run games, surf the web, run apps like Flash 5, Dreamweaver 4, and Photoshop 6.

    Hope this helps.
    "It's All In The Reflexes."

  6. #6
    Game Freak Gaming-Module's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,987
    My motherboard is 100mhz FSB so I can only go to a 850
    You do realize that they make a 100fsb 1ghz P3. Dont you?

  7. #7
    Regular Member ChuckDees's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    192
    Really! A slot 1?
    "It's All In The Reflexes."

  8. #8
    Regular Member ChuckDees's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    192
    But will it work with my motherboard? It's 160 for 850 and 225 for the 1 gig.
    "It's All In The Reflexes."

  9. #9
    Game Freak Gaming-Module's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,987
    http://www.widgetsinc.com/

    Intel Pentium 3 1.0Ghz Slot 1 100FSB Processor Retail Box ,Return for Repair, Replacement only $ 262.00

  10. #10
    Regular Member ChuckDees's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    192
    I was orignally running a 450 PII then flashed my BIOS and put in a 550 PIII. I was told by my friend who has a simular mobo I could go to 850 PIII.

    You think my PII mobo could handle the 1 gig.
    "It's All In The Reflexes."

  11. #11
    Game Freak Gaming-Module's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,987
    You think my PII mobo could handle the 1 gig.
    If it can handle the 850, it can handle the 1ghz, considering that both are slot 1 and both are run on a 100mhz FSB.

    Like I said. Update the mobos bios and drivers now, though.

  12. #12
    Regular Member ChuckDees's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    192
    I flashed the latest BIOs what is the drivers?
    "It's All In The Reflexes."

  13. #13
    Regular Member ChuckDees's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    192
    See my 550 has 512k cache while the 850 and 1 gig have 256 on the chip. does that affect the watts used on the motherboard or chip?
    "It's All In The Reflexes."

  14. #14
    Regular Member ChuckDees's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    192
    http://www.gateway.com/support/techd...html#processor

    This is the specs on my mobo.

    What do you think. Could I go to the 1 gig.
    "It's All In The Reflexes."

  15. #15
    Regular Member ChuckDees's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    192
    And even if I can go to the 1 gig would i see much difference between a 850 and a 1 gig?
    "It's All In The Reflexes."

  16. #16
    Advanced Member the_mp3_refuge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Albertsons
    Posts
    967
    850 to 1Ghz, you'll notice some improvemt. 550 to 1Ghz... It's like a whole new system. I say go for the 1Ghz. I'll probably later this month or the next sell my PIII 750 and go for the Ghz. 750 for sale lol.
    "To give anything less than your best is to sacrifice the Gift."--Steve Prefontaine

  17. #17
    R.I.P. 2013-11-22 blebs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    North Canton, Ohio
    Posts
    12,819
    Originally posted by ChuckDees
    And even if I can go to the 1 gig would i see much difference between a 850 and a 1 gig?
    I doubt that you'll see much of a change between 850 and 1 gig. In general, to see a real difference, you'd have to go twice the speed of what you have. 550 to 1.1 GHz should show a big difference.

    I have the same Motherboard and if you go get the .PDF files for it under WS440BX you'll be much more educated then what Gateway provides! Thought you might like to know about that.

    http://developer.intel.com/design/mo.../oem/index.htm

  18. #18
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    51,109
    Yes, not only the sheer mHz difference, but the performance gains in the Coppermine PIII's also. You noticed one already, the cache difference. There were many more internal changes. As long as your mobo will support Coppermine PIII's.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  19. #19
    Pro Tech syncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Greece - Europe - Planet Earth..
    Posts
    2,389
    The diference from PIII-650 slot1 to PIII 1000 FCPGA2 is really big .

    But you need also top hardware to see your system to move faster , just a single CPU will not show any overall system speed up .

    If we speak about speed in software calculations , yes you will see that , like you will make faster mp3s decoding .

  20. #20
    Regular Member ChuckDees's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    192
    Well we're talking the difference between a slot 1 550 and a slot 1 1000.
    "It's All In The Reflexes."

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •