Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Does Geocities allow PHP??

  1. #1
    Anime Dork Altema's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Cali :)
    Posts
    1,823

    Does Geocities allow PHP??

    Does it?
    formerly: Banzaiiboi

  2. #2
    Morterator Immortal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario , Canada. Behaviour : Good
    Posts
    22,668
    I assume not..

  3. #3
    Card Shark AAF Striker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    South of the D
    Posts
    3,557

    Re: Does Geocities allow PHP??

    Originally posted by Banzaiiboi
    Does it?
    Good luck finding a free host that will support PHP. It ain't going to happpen, unless someone is out of their minds. If you want to use PHP you will probably need to find a webhost you pay for. I see an ad for http://www.powweb.com on the top of the SG pages a lot and they support PHP. It is only like ~$8 a month. They have everything you will need.

  4. #4
    Banned Jon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    3rd rock from the sun
    Posts
    882
    for what its worth....


    I tried POW WEB.

    I was not happy with the service they offered. I live on the East coast and they are located on the West coast.

    They seem to have a very slow connection. Quite a few times I could not even get to my pages.

    Tech. support was so so.

    The nice part was the unconditional 30-day money back guarantee.

    Keep in mind these are only my experiences with POW WEB for 3 short weeks, you might have better luck.

    The host I use now is Hosting Vermont.



    Hosting Vermont.

  5. #5
    SG Enthusiast colour's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawai'i
    Posts
    1,597
    if youre looking for free hosts

    www.brinkster.com has free asp support, if you run out of options and refuse to pay for hosting...
    asdf?

  6. #6
    Anime Dork Altema's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Cali :)
    Posts
    1,823
    I dont get what ASP is. what is ASP???
    formerly: Banzaiiboi

  7. #7
    SG Enthusiast colour's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawai'i
    Posts
    1,597
    the MS version of PHP

    only runs on windows servers.
    asdf?

  8. #8
    Morterator Immortal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario , Canada. Behaviour : Good
    Posts
    22,668
    damit jon. I jsut registered with powweb... do u think I should cancel?

    since it's still withing 30 days

    I do find uling some of my stuff slow..

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    12
    ASP = Active Server Pages from MS
    It has a port for Apache from Chillisoft. Much easier to learn if you know VB since it uses VBScript (I prefer JavaScript though) as the language.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •