Thread: Dual boot for surfing

High Country Colorado! Don't Trust anyone under 14,000 feet, Right Mouse?

Cool Dual boot for surfing

I am running a dual boot system with Windows ME this has all my programs and Windows 2000 just for Surfing and IM. I am using NTFS. I have already ran all the tweaks without overclocking (this scares me a bit!) and am getting ready to do the DOS tweaks. I want to remove all the excess stuff on 2000 such as games, calculator, ect. from accesories, and anything else I can from 2000 to achieve a bare bones OS for surfing and IM. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am new to the speed thing but have already achieved some really cool speeds from 2000. Unfortunately I live in the mountains and forced to stick with 56K modem but usually connect at 48K
    Christopher

OOps I guess that bag over my head was blinding me! I read a bunch of the old posts and printed all kinds of stuff up. Realized I was erroring on my set-up so switched to dual boot windows 98 2nd edition and Windows 2000 Pro. Still interested in taking Windows down to just the essentials for IE and IM. You gurus got any suggestions for eliminating extra programs in accessories ect.?
    Christopher

Norm,
    Thanks for the reply and I know from your previous posts that you know lots about computers. I have already unchecked everything in add/remove programs under windows. What I want to do is remove all the things in accesories such as the calculator games ect that came preinstalled with windows I don't even see them listed.
    Thanks for your help,
    Christopher

Thanks Norm!
    Now I'm with you. That was exactly what I wanted to do. Wish me luck the Registry tweaks are next. Downloaded cable nut and created Ram Drive. Now I have to figure out this Regedit stuff. Just wondering is there any need to run a program such as Cacheman after tweaks or does it just add clutter?
    Christopher
    :2cool:

All those are hidden in WINNT/Inf/sysoc.inf.