Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 28

Thread: my details

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    41

    my details

    TCP options string = 020405b401010402

    MTU = 1500
    MTU is fully optimized for broadband.

    MSS = 1460
    Maximum useful data in each packet = 1460, which is equal to MSS.

    Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 8760
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 0 bits
    Unscaled Receive Window = 8760
    RWIN is a multiple of MSS
    Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    513920 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
    256960 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    128480 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    64240 (MSS x 44)

    bandwidth * delay product:
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 350.4 kbps (43.8 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 140.16 kbps (17.52 KBytes/s) @ 500ms
    Consider increasing your RWIN value to optimize TCP/IP for broadband.

    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON

    Time to live left = 108 hops
    TTL value is ok.

    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF

    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON

    IP type of service field (RFC1349)= 00000000



    what can i change here to make my connection better? 512/128k

    also anyone got any good configs for cablenut to get the most out of my cable modem?

  2. #2
    SG DC Team Member lance-tek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    5,601
    try a higher RWIN

    Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    513920 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
    256960 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    128480 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    64240 (MSS x 44)
    A mistake does not become an error until one refuses to correct it

    Folding for the future

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    41
    whihc one would u think is best?

  4. #4
    SG DC Team Member lance-tek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    5,601
    try em all and test em most peeps either go with the highest or the lowest take your pic
    A mistake does not become an error until one refuses to correct it

    Folding for the future

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    41
    so i enter "513920" into the maxmss field?
    on cablenut

  6. #6
    SG DC Team Member lance-tek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    5,601
    put it in the DefaultReciveWindow and the TCPWindowSize and make GlobaMaxTcpWindowSize set to blank
    A mistake does not become an error until one refuses to correct it

    Folding for the future

  7. #7
    SG DC Team Member lance-tek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    5,601
    what is your OS are you using ME?
    A mistake does not become an error until one refuses to correct it

    Folding for the future

  8. #8
    SG DC Team Member lance-tek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    5,601
    different OS = different adjuster, did you just install the adjuster? or have you had it for a while?
    A mistake does not become an error until one refuses to correct it

    Folding for the future

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    41
    dont see tcpwindowresize in cablenut only the one you said to leave blank

    ps thanks for the help

  10. #10
    SG DC Team Member lance-tek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    5,601
    ok well I am off to bed, there are plenty of guys to help ya out and lobo will be on in a little while.

    if nothing else I will get back to ya when I get up in about 6 hrs

    Good Luck-
    A mistake does not become an error until one refuses to correct it

    Folding for the future

  11. #11
    SG DC Team Member lance-tek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    5,601
    ok you are using me it looks like or that is the adjuster default too so I need to know what your OS is
    A mistake does not become an error until one refuses to correct it

    Folding for the future

  12. #12
    SG DC Team Member lance-tek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    5,601
    if you are running ME just put it in the DefaultRcvWindow and that is it.

    save settings and restart, retest, repost.

    the sun is rising haha I gotta crash

    Good Luck-
    A mistake does not become an error until one refuses to correct it

    Folding for the future

  13. #13
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    41
    98se
    its 11:23am here

  14. #14
    R.I.P. 2013-11-22 blebs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    North Canton, Ohio
    Posts
    12,819
    Retest and Repost please. Your not running a router or proxy server are you?

  15. #15
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    41
    TCP options string = 020405b401010402

    MTU = 1500
    MTU is fully optimized for broadband.

    MSS = 1460
    Maximum useful data in each packet = 1460, which is equal to MSS.

    Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 65535
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 0 bits
    Unscaled Receive Window = 65535
    Note: Under Windows 9x, if you have RWIN set to any other value, and the Analyzer reports 65535 you might need to install the MS Vtcp386 fix.
    For optimum performance, consider changing RWIN to a multiple of MSS.
    Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    513920 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
    256960 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    128480 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    64240 (MSS x 44)

    bandwidth * delay product:
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 2621.4 kbps (327.675 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 1048.56 kbps (131.07 KBytes/s) @ 500ms

    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON

    Time to live left = 108 hops
    TTL value is ok.

    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF

    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON

    IP type of service field (RFC1349)= 00000000



    i have changed the recieve window to 513920 but it says here i havent ???

  16. #16
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    41
    At the moment im on someones cpu which does have router.

    but at home i will not use one

  17. #17
    R.I.P. 2013-11-22 blebs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    North Canton, Ohio
    Posts
    12,819
    Is the machine that your on, the one your testing?

  18. #18
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    41
    im at work ;-)

    i will go home in about 1 hour to try it at home

  19. #19
    R.I.P. 2013-11-22 blebs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    North Canton, Ohio
    Posts
    12,819
    I'm half asleep, sorry. I have to run a kid to school and then I'll check back. Is this a cable connection?

  20. #20
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    41
    ok

    the one imcurrently on is wireless dsl *spit*

    one at home is cable

    if u tweak it for my computer at home thatll be great

    cable = 512/128
    cpu pIII 700
    ram= 384mb
    os= win98se

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •