Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Look at my results!! Do i need to change anything??

  1. #1
    Regular Member erogic1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    london,ontario
    Posts
    409

    Question Look at my results!! Do i need to change anything??

    TCP options string = 020405ac01010402

    MTU = 1492
    MTU seems to be optimized for PPPoE... If you are not on a PPPoE connection, consider increasing your MTU to 1500 for optimal throughput.

    MSS = 1452
    Maximum useful data in each packet = 1452, which is equal to MSS.
    MSS is optimized for PPPoE. If you are not on a PPPoE connection, consider increasing your MTU value.

    Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 17424
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 0 bits
    Unscaled Receive Window = 17424
    RWIN is a multiple of MSS
    Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    511104 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
    255552 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    127776 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    63888 (MSS x 44)

    bandwidth * delay product:
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 696.96 kbps (87.12 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 278.784 kbps (34.848 KBytes/s) @ 500ms
    Consider increasing your RWIN value to optimize TCP/IP for broadband.

    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON

    Time to live left = 117 hops
    TTL value is ok.

    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF

    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON

    IP type of service field (RFC1349)= 00000000

    Do i need to make any changes? If i do, how?(what are the steps involved)
    or would it be better off with the patches at speedguide.net? (and would the patch do anything better to speed up my connection(DSL)
    thz to the ppl that replied!

    [ 03-14-2001: Message edited by: death ]
    AMD 700 Duron
    384MB ram: PC133
    Geforce2 MX/400
    Sympatico High Speed Edition DSL
    Abit KT7 Motherboard
    WindowsXP Pro

  2. #2
    Lobo
    Guest

    Post

    Is this a cablenut patch, what OS and is it PPPoE

  3. #3
    Regular Member erogic1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    london,ontario
    Posts
    409

    Exclamation

    this is no patch(like this is before i have a patch installed), i'm using WinME, and i have Network Telesystems PPPoE Adapter (NTSP3).
    this is what u want, so here it is!
    AMD 700 Duron
    384MB ram: PC133
    Geforce2 MX/400
    Sympatico High Speed Edition DSL
    Abit KT7 Motherboard
    WindowsXP Pro

  4. #4
    Lobo
    Guest

    Post

    Do you need directions, I thought I gave them to you before, but then I thought you were on cable

  5. #5
    Lobo
    Guest

    Post

    You do not set MTU to 1500 on PPPoE

  6. #6
    Regular Member erogic1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    london,ontario
    Posts
    409

    Thumbs up

    i know, on PPPoE i have the MTU set to 1492 so don't worry about it!!
    k
    are there any other changes i should make like RWIN etc.
    AMD 700 Duron
    384MB ram: PC133
    Geforce2 MX/400
    Sympatico High Speed Edition DSL
    Abit KT7 Motherboard
    WindowsXP Pro

  7. #7
    Lobo
    Guest

    Post

    The patch puts all the correct numbers in

  8. #8
    Lobo
    Guest

    Post

    Yes the RWIN is to small, time stamping is off, I would install the patch

  9. #9
    Regular Member erogic1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    london,ontario
    Posts
    409

    Wink

    ok then, after i install the patch i will show u my results, ok!!
    and do u have a patch to ur connection?

    [ 03-14-2001: Message edited by: death ]
    AMD 700 Duron
    384MB ram: PC133
    Geforce2 MX/400
    Sympatico High Speed Edition DSL
    Abit KT7 Motherboard
    WindowsXP Pro

  10. #10
    Lobo
    Guest

    Post

    This is the one you want on patch page this site: sguide_tweak_98_ME_PPPoE

  11. #11
    Regular Member erogic1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    london,ontario
    Posts
    409

    Talking

    k thz and i will try it
    and can u please give me the site so that i don't have to look for it
    thz

    [ 03-14-2001: Message edited by: death ]
    AMD 700 Duron
    384MB ram: PC133
    Geforce2 MX/400
    Sympatico High Speed Edition DSL
    Abit KT7 Motherboard
    WindowsXP Pro

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Chaska, MN, 55318
    Posts
    133

  13. #13
    Lobo
    Guest

    Post

    You also need the faster loading of web pages patch http://www.speedguide.net/files/PH_Webtweak9x.zip and you need to backup registry again right on top of where you did it before

  14. #14
    Lobo
    Guest

    Post

    So you don't forget make yourself a copy:
    Remember, at this time of night it will be slow:

    How do do speed test
    1. The best time is early in the morning (3 AM - 6 AM)
    2. Make sure defrag has been run so no files are fragmented
    3. Delete Temp internet files, not while testing, but after each test. IE browser, click tools, internet options, click on delete files and no this will not harm system, just get rid of temp files
    4. Go to a fast server such as www.happypuppy.com and click on 10 demos, select a LARGE file to download (not all of it of download, just most of it, before you click cancel) this will show you how fast you are downloading, it's not going to be quick except except early in morning when not many people on net. I recommend you go to www.analogX.com and download Net State live, run this while downloading as it will give you avg of your download speed.
    5. Probably the most important, nothing can be running during test, no firewalls, no virus stuff, no ICQ, no AIM (some of you may have to go into BIOS to disable virus scanner, nothing running except Net Stat live
    Scheduled tasks will run disk defrag, 98 & SE in Taskbar, WIN ME in control panel


    Or if you wish you may go to www.testmyspeed.com and do one of the online tests, these vary to much for me but you may like them. Another one is at www.dslreports.com/tools


  15. #15
    Lobo
    Guest

    Post

    The patch is not installed untill you do this: - Registry patch for Windows 98/98SE or Windows ME using PPPoE. (includes a fix for 98SE ICS, as well as smaller MaxMTU, corrected for PPPoE). The patch adds all the optimum settings for Cable modem, DSL, or any similar broadband connection that has PPPoE implemented. To install, extract the file, then just right-click and choose "Install" from the Pull-down menu. You need to reboot for changes to take effect. The PPPoE patch generally applies to some xDSL lines, it is not for use with Cable modems. For additional info on PPPoE check out our Terms & Definitions page

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •