Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 32

Thread: CableNut patch

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA , USA
    Posts
    220

    Thumbs down CableNut patch

    I tried the cablenut patch on win98 and winme before and it only seamed to slow my cable down so I removed them and it was faster. So I reinstalled on one machine with win2k cuz winme sux and I decided I would give cablenut 4.0 a try. Well here it is again downloads starting at 20KB a sec and going down to 5KB for the rest of the way. Why does it work for everyone but me?

  2. #2
    One PT Cruiser Nut! Buggyman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere in Florida
    Posts
    587

    Talking

    Cablenuts 4.0 is designed to allow you to adjust settings that works best for you.
    You can go with the settings (they use beta testers to test the settings) they have and see if you like it.
    If not then pull-up the CCS program and tweak with it.
    I found my settings work best with FASTER cable even though I have normal cable.
    But I can make minor adjustment if I want in the CCS.
    That's one thing that's so great about 4.0.
    Reminder! Tweaking is not for the weak stomach!

    [ 02-25-2001: Message edited by: Buggyman ]
    No Question is a dumb Question when it comes to Tweaking!

  3. #3
    SG Enthusiast Duzmor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Pennsylvania U.S.A
    Posts
    3,876

    Talking

    This Might sound goofy but no body ever talks about the tweak over at Navas- setting TCP window size at 32767
    Just a ????
    Duzmor
    (The Protection of all with the Wadget Eye)
    (Never Trust Intel To Do AMD'S Job)

  4. #4
    ****** HalfLifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Detroit, Michigan Internet: Comcast Narrowband
    Posts
    7,086

    Post

    Try Rick Joshuas Win2k tweak.
    Best Win2k tweak around.
    Here.
    Work: DQ
    Comp: AXP 1600+, MSI K7T266a Pro2 RU, 512MB PC2100, GF3 Ti200 128MB

  5. #5
    NYC Newbie Slayer Prey521's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Humble, Tx
    Posts
    34,932

    Post

    Originally posted by HalfLifer:
    Try Rick Joshuas Win2k tweak.
    Best Win2k tweak around.
    Here.

    LOL, I just downloaded it and I realized that its the Speedcorp tweak, which I already use and totally kicks ass
    Have your feelings been hurt by a random act of E-Thuggery? If so, call 1-800-Waaaaahmbulance, we're here 24 hrs a day, 7 days a week, to take your call, you could be due a large monetary settlement, don't delay, call now.

    "Please be careful prior to entering the world wide web, the internet is serious business"


  6. #6
    SG Enthusiast Duzmor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Pennsylvania U.S.A
    Posts
    3,876

    Talking

    Halflifer: what is the patch for DSL or Cable
    give us some Info on it
    Duzmor
    (The Protection of all with the Wadget Eye)
    (Never Trust Intel To Do AMD'S Job)

  7. #7
    NYC Newbie Slayer Prey521's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Humble, Tx
    Posts
    34,932

    Post

    Originally posted by Duzmor:
    Halflifer: what is the patch for DSL or Cable
    give us some Info on it
    Duzmor
    Its for Cable and Win2K ONLY


    Read more about it here

    www.speedcorp.net/broadband/tweaks/win2k/

    [ 02-25-2001: Message edited by: Prey521 ]
    Have your feelings been hurt by a random act of E-Thuggery? If so, call 1-800-Waaaaahmbulance, we're here 24 hrs a day, 7 days a week, to take your call, you could be due a large monetary settlement, don't delay, call now.

    "Please be careful prior to entering the world wide web, the internet is serious business"


  8. #8
    ****** HalfLifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Detroit, Michigan Internet: Comcast Narrowband
    Posts
    7,086

    Post

    Its really Ricks, he made it.
    Work: DQ
    Comp: AXP 1600+, MSI K7T266a Pro2 RU, 512MB PC2100, GF3 Ti200 128MB

  9. #9
    ****** HalfLifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Detroit, Michigan Internet: Comcast Narrowband
    Posts
    7,086

    Post

    Oh, and Rick made em for Windows 95/98, and ME. Hes still workin on the ME one, but the one for 95/98 is out!
    Work: DQ
    Comp: AXP 1600+, MSI K7T266a Pro2 RU, 512MB PC2100, GF3 Ti200 128MB

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA , USA
    Posts
    220

    Post

    OMG! OMG! THANK YOU! THAT PATCH OWNS! 600-800KB A SEC ALL THROUGH DOWNLOADS FROM GOOD SITES!

  11. #11
    Advanced Member cablenut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    863

    Talking

    CABLENT SUCSK CUZ WHEN I TREID TO DOWNALOD FROM AOL IT SAID I WAS ONLY GIETTING 2 MEGABITS PER SECOND HAHAHAHAHAH *
    Head webcheese and geek guru @ http://www.cablenut.com

  12. #12
    Lobo
    Guest

    Post

    Calm down, Cablenut, the problem is some people are going to fast, not reading direction and not loading CCS files, don't worry, be happy, you have good product

  13. #13

    Unhappy

    Yes I agree, I think most of the tweaks out there are good. In fact, Cablenut's, Speedcorp and Speeguide tweaks & patches are fine stuffs. Lets not go about saying who's the worst or something. Its just that every system and OS reacts differently to certain tweaks. Just my 2cents though.

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA , USA
    Posts
    220

    Post

    Damn cablenut! I am sorry if I offended you I just was mad after a reinstall because of stupid winme which is the 3rd reinstall I have done this month. I'm sure it would work if I tweaked it with that utility but I was in a hurry and dident bother trying. And I dont have AOL I got something worse....@home.

  15. #15
    Advanced Member cablenut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    863

    Talking

    Ey thats fine im used to it I was just posting a funny you are user #4,000,000 to have WinME problems
    Head webcheese and geek guru @ http://www.cablenut.com

  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA , USA
    Posts
    220

    Post

    BTW I am using ur ramdisk tweak for win2k and its GREAT! I noticed like 200KB increase in download speed. Dont know if that tweak was responsible or not.

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    406

    Cool

    heheheh WinME always has 'problems' with it. Get win2k...the nicest windows ever. Oh BTW when I was reading a magazine at school M$ had an ad for win2k. It showed a Windows 9x BSOD and bragged about windows2000's stability. It even has lines to cut out the BSOD and put in on your moniter if you miss the downtime . I haven't had a BSOD on my box in ages .

  18. #18
    Advanced Member legalmind's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Nearest Airport
    Posts
    695

    Post

    Originally posted by cablenut:
    Ey thats fine im used to it I was just posting a funny you are user #4,000,000 to have WinME problems
    I tried to tell people about windows 95 in a shiny box.
    Old code that MS had to use as their new OS is not ready.
    Have Heart Will Fly!

  19. #19
    One PT Cruiser Nut! Buggyman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere in Florida
    Posts
    587

    Talking

    Well I for one like win/98se.
    I remember verywell when they put it out.
    They were under heavy stress to meet the demands of all these differance plug and play hardware they rush it out.
    Then they when back and tried to cover up their rush deal with win/me and made it unprogramable. thus the so call win/me headaches you have.
    Call me an OLD Diehard, but hey! win/98 so far has been the best windows platform I've ever seen.
    As for Cablenut patch . They've made my lousy cable connection work better than any others so far.
    Reason?
    Because I can manually tweak indivisual settings to meet MY needs.
    Can any other Patch do that?
    HUMMMM??????
    No Question is a dumb Question when it comes to Tweaking!

  20. #20
    Lobo
    Guest

    Post

    Buggerman, you are out of your mind if you think that out-dated 98 is better than ME,
    you remind me of Read my Lips Jr., going backwards, your going to be in the dark when the new OS comes out, way behind the people that kept up to date, ME is cool man

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •