Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Tweaks Good....Speed Good....Lobo Good!

  1. #1
    Maneater JawZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    21,941

    Smile Tweaks Good....Speed Good....Lobo Good!



    Hows it looking LOBO? This is pretty cool...I downloaded that in 4:58. 96 MB's in 4:58, I'm happy right now!

    ...formerly the omnipotent UOD

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    52

    Post

    What tweaks did he give you? cablenut? speedguide?
    Despite my name, am now a cable_*******

  3. #3
    Maneater JawZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    21,941

    Post

    Hey *******!!!! LOL...I'm surprised you didn't use the handle Gaylord Fokker!!! Just teasing!

    I'm using Cablenut tweaks with the Vtcp.386 patch cause I'm on Win98Se and the Speedguide patch for faster loading of web pages. That is it. nothing more. I wasn't even using Download Accelerator Plus on that download either. I think I finally found my sweet spot. My default receive window is 513920. Thats a big increase from the CSS fast cable setting for win98 in the program itself...I just changed it on advice from LOBO!

    ...formerly the omnipotent UOD

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    52

    Post

    Edit,

    Nevermind. i have Windows ME, so ican't use it, so i just used the sguidetweak98, that was compatible with me, and changed my rcv to what your was, am i tweaked, i'll post my **** here

    [ 05-02-2001: Message edited by: Adsl_******* ]
    Despite my name, am now a cable_*******

  5. #5
    Maneater JawZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    21,941

    Post

    Before I give this to you you need to understand what you are getting into if you haven't already OK. these tweaks are registry tweaks and if you screw up the process...you screw up your machine!

    http://www.cablenut.com

    If I were you...I'd go to LOBO's help page at this address:
    http://microsystems.homestead.com/lobos.html

    Read all of that and then come back and ask more questions in the morning if possible before you do anything please!

    also read all info on this homepage on tweaks! Lots of good info but you need to get it right for your connection/system properties. OK? clear as mud? good luck!

    ...formerly the omnipotent UOD

  6. #6
    SG DC Team Member lance-tek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    5,601

    Talking

    *******, I would recommned a different OS to you. I am sorry but ME is the most unstable OS I have seen yet.
    A mistake does not become an error until one refuses to correct it

    Folding for the future

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    52

    Post

    Ok, thanks for making me **** myself, i tweaked and got this...

    TCP options string = 020405b40103030301010402

    MTU = 1500
    MTU is fully optimized for broadband.

    MSS = 1460
    Maximum useful data in each packet = 1460, which is equal to MSS.

    Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 513920
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 3 bits
    Unscaled Receive Window = 64240
    RWIN is a multiple of MSS
    Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    256960 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    128480 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    64240 (MSS x 44)

    bandwidth * delay product:
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 20556.8 kbps (2569.6 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 8222.72 kbps (1027.84 KBytes/s) @ 500ms

    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = OFF

    Time to live left = 49 hops
    TTL value is ok.

    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF

    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON

    IP type of service field (RFC1349)= 00000000


    P.s. i backed up my registry, according to lobo's help before hand... whaddya reckon ?
    Despite my name, am now a cable_*******

  8. #8
    Maneater JawZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    21,941

    Post

    only way to know is to download something and clock it! are you on cable or dsl?

    ...formerly the omnipotent UOD

  9. #9
    SG DC Team Member lance-tek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    5,601

    Talking

    there is more to it than jsut putting in settings, lobo is the best at giving the advice as to what settings to use. Primarily it is based on connection and CPU, OS doesn't matter so much if at all, RAM can sometimes effect speeds though. especially if you are on a network. try it and see, but be sure to back it all up
    A mistake does not become an error until one refuses to correct it

    Folding for the future

  10. #10
    Maneater JawZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    21,941

    Post

    Lance...while I agree with you on the WinME issue of being unstable...it's only halfhearted. Nothing can compare to your rock solid Win2K machine once you have your drivers setup BUT WinME in my experience is stable on clean installs using a real OEM disc, not on a machine like a Dell where they put everything on a restore CD...but that is just my experience! I just built a new machine for a friend and we put WinME on it and it screams...literally. You do have to tweak it a bit so it doesn't chew up your resources but once you get that done it performs well. Just my thoughts and nothing more so don't read into it or be offended please!!!!

    ...formerly the omnipotent UOD

  11. #11
    SG DC Team Member lance-tek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    5,601

    Talking

    no problem here,

    I think it is decent for some users, jsut that when you start demanding stuff from your PC, I don't think ME delivers as well as 2K or even 98se. The only reason I use 2K is for the system resources, it is a lot easier on em and doesn't slop RAM around like 98se does (over 96 M RAM is useless on 98se for the most part) I mean it will use it all, jsut won't release it till you restart.

    I built a few systems and used ME but I had it on mine for about a week, then I wen't back to 98 se. then got 2K and fell in love

    I have a friend testing XP right now and if it get's his approval then I will try it out for a bit.

    Just that ME is well, S*I**Y for a lot of things, especially when you are a programmer.

    I take no offense to anything you have said, I hope I have not offended you, *******, or anyone else for the matter. If I have I truely appologize!
    A mistake does not become an error until one refuses to correct it

    Folding for the future

  12. #12
    Maneater JawZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    21,941

    Post

    Hell no, I'm not offended! As a programmer I'm surprised you don't have a dual boot Linux box with that Win@k machine.

    I have Win98SE and Linux Mandrake on a laptop and Win98SE on my desktop. My desktop setup is always changing so I keep the laptop one way...for work not play! Maybe down the road you could try Linux...very cool stuff!

    ...formerly the omnipotent UOD

  13. #13
    SG DC Team Member lance-tek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    5,601

    Talking

    Actually, I am still learning linux, I am building a samll puter to run linux on and I am aslo building a new AMD system for fun


    I jsut have this one for the meanwhile, I tweak it and liek to stay close to windows for the sake of staying up to date, I program, but what I really like is to build systems or fix em(tweak em).

    hell when I was in college and had class at 8 I would be up till 5 or 6 just workin on computers, still do sometimes. It is just what i like to do, kinda like most of the peeps here I guess

    I am glad I found this place, i have learned more here than in most of my classes in college
    A mistake does not become an error until one refuses to correct it

    Folding for the future

  14. #14
    Maneater JawZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    21,941

    Post

    Cool...that's what I build...AMD systems and configure them as dual boot machines. It's tough going from Windoze to Linux but it sure is eye opening as to the sheer power that you have at your fingertips!

    BTW...that's what my system is for a desktop box...AMD Athlon 800 with 256MB's ram and a whole bunch of high end goodies for multimedia...mainly for audio production stuff as I'm a musician.

    ...formerly the omnipotent UOD

  15. #15
    SG DC Team Member lance-tek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    5,601

    Post

    sweet-

    can you tell me a good program to use to overlay sounds?

    I have been meaning to find one. I want to take some music and change it(more bass more trebel new beat)
    A mistake does not become an error until one refuses to correct it

    Folding for the future

  16. #16
    Lobo
    Guest

    Post

    Adsl_*******, turn MTU Discovery on, set to -1,
    uod2001, looking goog, real good
    I use Win ME and luz it, Lance I don't have de big puppy you have but I did d/l at 990 this morning


    [ 05-02-2001: Message edited by: Lobo ]

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •