Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 38

Thread: @home up/downstream test

  1. #1

    Post @home up/downstream test

    does anyone know how to access this program, the tech did it and i had it for a while until i reformatted. it looks like netdiag but this test shows upstream/downstream speed to local im assuming. i cannot remember the file path and when i did have it it didnt really lead to anything on my HD. anyone know what im talking about. if you would look in start/run and use the drop down arrow (if your an @home user) then maybe it will show on yours and you can post here. it is a long pathname is all i remember. Thanks

  2. #2
    icepic3616
    Guest

    Thumbs up

    I would like that program, i have never seen it, its suppose to be on the CD but I can't seem to find it

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    King of Prussia, PA, USA
    Posts
    35

    Post

    Netdiag is on the @home cd at /Install/Network/setup.exe I do believe.

    [This message has been edited by Brent (edited 02-10-2000).]

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    16

    Post

    sorry
    ------------------
    "I love mankind, but it's people I can't stand!" Linus van Pelt


    [This message has been edited by Brent (edited 02-10-2000).]

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    frisco,tx. usa
    Posts
    268

    Post

    The @home tech gave it to me and told me not to give it out unless we wanted it to disappear. The reason for this is that only a couple of people can be active on their server using it at one tme, and they use it to work with. When he was here it took 5 min to get into it because others were using it. If it is abused they will change the passwords. So, like dougc said, out of respect to keeping the service we shouldn't broadcast it.


    ET, if you email me I'll set you straight by email about this service.

    [This message has been edited by PhoneTech (edited 12-22-1999).]

  6. #6
    TheRock4
    Guest

    Post

    Dont abuse it because
    1) It logs any test on the proxy server
    2) It causes the bandwidth for the area to degrade for the duration of the test...

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Richmond, BC, Canada
    Posts
    196

    Post

    Oh f*ck, I ran that thing like 8 times...... I think I'm dead....

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Richmond BC Canada
    Posts
    12

    Post

    Whenever i run that command line and program I get an error message stating "Error 106 Unexpected end of stream" Does anyone have any ideas what that means. BTW I'm on Rogers@home in Vancouver BC Canada

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Richmond, BC, Canada
    Posts
    196

    Post

    I think they prolly locked it, Im in Richmond BC

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Richmond BC Canada
    Posts
    12

    Post

    Yeah I'm in Richmond also, what utter garbage service Rogers@home is . I've had their service for ten months and gone through three diff modems. Two lancities and now I have a Terayon . I cant complain too bad about the terayon but the lancity modems were just utter garbage. The guy who installed the lancity when I first got the service put in a signal reducer for some god unknown reason. I was getting like 2-25 kilobytes per sec.

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    142

    Post

    just where excatly do you type in the "netdiag mode=installer"??? I have the netdiag install but I don't have the detail button to show me my DL/UL speed.

  12. #12
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Richmond BC Canada
    Posts
    12

    Post

    All you have to do is go to start, run C:\@home\tools\netdiag mode=installer that should do it.

  13. #13
    Regular Member martin777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Oklahoma City,OK-USA
    Posts
    431

    Cool

    I don't have @home but I think they should supply their customers with at least a sample d/l file to test from their server like RR in Atlanta does here.--> http://help.rr.com/rredesk.asp?entity=5
    Click on "connections",scroll down to "test connection speeds" and d/l the 15MB test file. I have one I got from the tech. I use
    to test mine in OKC and it is the SAME speed 24/7.

    [This message has been edited by martin777 (edited 12-24-1999).]

  14. #14
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Richmond, BC, Canada
    Posts
    196

    Post

    Yep, that good alrighty.

  15. #15
    Joe211
    Guest

    Post

    anyone know where I can download the @home programs that come on the cd? I lost my cd.. also I was wondering if there is a place I can download netdiag?

  16. #16
    TheRock4
    Guest

    Post

    http://www/support/software/win32.htm
    This will download all the software though.
    Only way to get only netdiag is from the CD

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    142

    Post

    well I got the thing work but not sure if I got a good speed. Can someone help me check and tell me if its good. Thanks
    You can check the the pick by click on this link

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    23

    Post

    Hey, i ran the test.. here are my results...

    Downstream= 2996
    upstream= 396

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Lexington, KY, USA
    Posts
    53

    Red face

    I tried to install the @home network test software from the CD, but it would start then abort with no message. Anyone else with this? If so, can it be solved?

    Thanks

    RF

    Insight@home in Lexington, KY
    fran073@home.com

  20. #20

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •