Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Well, it looks like I need to reset my Router

  1. #1
    Senior Member Easto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    So. California
    Posts
    5,500

    Well, it looks like I need to reset my Router

    My router is on this list....

    https://www.techspot.com/news/93850-...ting-asus.html

    It was about time to reset my passwords on this router anyway.

  2. #2
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    11,330
    Blog Entries
    6
    Thanks for Sharing.

    The interesting part is that both Trend Micro and ASUS are very vague about the infection vector, and current firmwares are not excluded. Cyclops Blink botnet malware has plagued governments, WatchGuard firewalls, now ASUS routers and who knows what else, it has been linked by the Sandworm group, allegedly linked to Russian intelligence.

    From what I've read about its previous iterations with WatchGuard, the risk was only to devices that allow remote management with default/weak passwords, something not even mentioned in the ASUS/Trend Micro advisories.
    Linux is user friendly, it's just picky about its friends...
    Disclaimer: Please use caution when opening messages, my grasp on reality may have shaken loose during transmission (going on rusty memory circuits). I also eat whatever crayons are put in front of me.
    ๑۩۞۩๑

  3. #3
    Senior Member Easto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    So. California
    Posts
    5,500
    This morning I reset everything as advised in the article. I renamed and re-passworded (is that a word?) every account. New Router name and password, new PSK and guest account passwords. All wireless accounts AP Isolated. All passwords hardened to my usual standards. One thing that I did notice that after this complete reset my Router is using about 1/2 the memory that it was using before.

    I'd really like to find a source that explains what some of the advanced settings are and mean and what if any I should have set to other than their default.

  4. #4
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    11,330
    Blog Entries
    6
    Some of the "advanced" wireless router settings are described in the second half of this article: https://www.speedguide.net/articles/...ed-tweaks-5681

    As to the amount of memory, this is somewhat typical of Linux machines, they tend to consume as much memory as needed, and not release it until needed by other processes. This can even be controlled with a "swappiness" command-line control parameter. Since most routers use a Liniux fork, I imagine it is the same behavior. Over time you will see increased use of memory, it does not mean that there is a memory leak or higher usage necessarily, just that there is no other process needing it, so Linux does not release it, even though it can be freed as needed.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Easto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    So. California
    Posts
    5,500
    Asus provided a firmware update. I check my router yesterday and it was telling me one was available and that it was addressing the problems mentioned in the aritcle.

  6. #6
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    11,330
    Blog Entries
    6
    Yeah, I upgraded the firmware on mine yesterday as well, didn't actually have time to read the notes.
    Linux is user friendly, it's just picky about its friends...
    Disclaimer: Please use caution when opening messages, my grasp on reality may have shaken loose during transmission (going on rusty memory circuits). I also eat whatever crayons are put in front of me.
    ๑۩۞۩๑

Similar Threads

  1. UGH - Having to reset cable modem/router every 5-10 minutes
    By chad5871 in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-28-13, 02:52 PM
  2. Have to constantly reset modem and router
    By judoandy in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-12-07, 06:24 AM
  3. Router Reset/Bypass
    By Potector in forum Wireless Networks & Routers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-08-07, 11:28 AM
  4. RT314 Router Reset
    By lucky_charms in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-30-06, 12:31 AM
  5. I cant reset my router?
    By kempy in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-13-03, 04:33 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •