Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How far can I run Cat 6 or better cable to a router???

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Posts
    5

    How far can I run Cat 6 or better cable to a router???

    I have mediacom internet. I would like to run some Cat 6 or better (Game changer) cable to my shop about 600ft back. Then plug in and use a router for internet out there. Is this possible? Mediacom wants to charge me $7500 to run a main line to my shop.

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    51,093
    The official max distance for ethernet cable is 100 meters if you want gigabit...which is about 333 feet.

    Can you go further than that? Unofficially (not best practice)....yes, but you start to increase the likely hood of unsatisfactory performance...the further and further you go beyond 100 meters.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    11,290
    Blog Entries
    6
    Best thing to to would be to get a couple of fiber switches for $100 ea. and run a fiber line between them... Or, run a p2p wireless.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Posts
    5
    Thank you

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Philip View Post
    Best thing to to would be to get a couple of fiber switches for $100 ea. and run a fiber line between them... Or, run a p2p wireless.
    Any particular in ground and out door switches you recommend?

  6. #6
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    11,290
    Blog Entries
    6
    Not sure about a particular one, most SFP converters or switches should work ok I guess.
    Here are a couple of Amazon links:
    https://amzn.to/3fXgoi8
    https://amzn.to/3nWv0mo
    https://amzn.to/3H1fQ6S

    Expect to pay a couple of hundreds for 600 ft of indoor/outdoor fiber cable too (LC or SC duplex connectors, depending on the switch)... Maybe something like this? https://amzn.to/3KDgaep

    If you don't want to burry the cable you can also go P2P wireless.
    Linux is user friendly, it's just picky about its friends...
    Disclaimer: Please use caution when opening messages, my grasp on reality may have shaken loose during transmission (going on rusty memory circuits).
    ๑۩۞۩๑

  7. #7
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    51,093
    I do a lot of "campus area networks" (CANs) with Ubiquiti airMax "point to point" and "point to multi point" wireless
    https://help.ui.com/hc/en-us/article...-should-I-use-
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

Similar Threads

  1. Comcast Cable and router for cable modem
    By ptr1959w in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-01-14, 07:08 AM
  2. Wireless Router to a connected to a wired cable/dsl router
    By athalon in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-05-03, 02:50 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-04-03, 08:13 AM
  4. Cable modem to PC - PC to Router - Laptop to router
    By JamieLee2k in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-13-02, 04:21 AM
  5. cable to get with linksys EtherFast 4-Port Cable/DSL Router?
    By Nuggwin in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-12-00, 11:36 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •