Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: How far can i run Cat6 or better cable to router???

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Posts
    5

    How far can i run Cat6 or better cable to router???

    I have mediacom internet. I would like to run some Cat 6 or better (Game changer) cable to my shop about 600ft back. Then plug in and use a router for internet out there. Is this possible? Mediacom wants to charge me $7500 to run a main line to my shop.

  2. #2
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    11,288
    Blog Entries
    6
    You can't really run Cat6 copper over 300 feet without some kind of repeater/switch/device that is powered, otherwise resistance on the line will prevent signal from getting through.

    The best thing you can do is run fiber, with a couple of fiber switches at the ends.
    Linux is user friendly, it's just picky about its friends...
    Disclaimer: Please use caution when opening messages, my grasp on reality may have shaken loose during transmission (going on rusty memory circuits).
    ๑۩۞۩๑

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Posts
    5

    Thank you

    Quote Originally Posted by Philip View Post
    You can't really run Cat6 copper over 300 feet without some kind of repeater/switch/device that is powered, otherwise resistance on the line will prevent signal from getting through.

    The best thing you can do is run fiber, with a couple of fiber switches at the ends.
    Thank you...That's what I was figuring. But read a lot of reviews on Gamechanger cable. Wasn't sure if it was good enough.

  4. #4
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    11,288
    Blog Entries
    6
    Longer copper cables will introduce more signal loss and speed will degrade. You can push them a bit over 100m, but 600' is just too far for copper, it is prone to interference and signal loss. I would definitely consider alternatives, like fiber or p2p wireless.
    Linux is user friendly, it's just picky about its friends...
    Disclaimer: Please use caution when opening messages, my grasp on reality may have shaken loose during transmission (going on rusty memory circuits).
    ๑۩۞۩๑

Similar Threads

  1. Cat6 Socket with Cat5e Cable
    By BobJ1973 in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-02-13, 03:02 AM
  2. PC to PC communication using straight cable Cat6
    By mem22 in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 01-23-12, 10:41 AM
  3. Cat6 Cable question
    By navyseal3 in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-02-09, 06:45 AM
  4. Cat5e/Cat6 Patch Cable Deals
    By Comtrad in forum Marketplace - Buy/Sell/Trade/Hot Deals
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-18-07, 05:42 PM
  5. Is the new cat6 cable worth it?
    By ChrisZ24 in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-25-02, 08:20 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •