Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Powerline Networking

  1. #1
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,382

    Powerline Networking

    Anybody have any experience with Powerline Networking devices/adapters?

    I'm just about to throw my stupid Soundbar out the Door.
    Thinking if I can get one with a 2 port receiver unit. I can connect the TV and this POS Soundbar to it.

  2. #2
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    11,287
    Blog Entries
    6
    Powerline network adapters are good, just have some limitations (they're slower than Ethernet and current generation WiFi, they can't jump over different circuits in the house). If you use them for shorter distances on the same circuit they work just fine.

  3. #3
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    51,093
    Yup been using them for ...eh, 15 years....installed a few, and currently using a pair in the house we're in. For the bedroom TV...the wifi is "decent" in our bedroom but the TV is up against the wall ...which is behind a couple of bathroom walls, so the wifi for heavier demand streaming like Netflix is poor. Powerline is rock solid.

    Like Philip mentioned...different circuits can be a factor.
    Quality of wiring another factor...although for a couple of years back a bit we rented a house that you could tell have "cheaper rental grade" contract work done, the wiring wasn't great. Two or three times a year the powerline adapters would drop...and just power cycling them brought things back.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  4. #4
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,382
    Sounds like it might not work very well in our house.
    Since it's a 100+ year old house.

    We also have a couple of ungrounded outlets...so I would guess the wiring is probably not very good.

Similar Threads

  1. Powerline vs. MoCA
    By dminches in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-19-10, 05:42 PM
  2. having trouble....need new router or go powerline
    By loki993 in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-13-08, 07:38 PM
  3. Powerline Networkin
    By phil22407 in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-14-02, 07:26 AM
  4. Linksys Powerline Networking
    By KidDynamo0 in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-21-02, 10:21 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •